Philip Kerr Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Author Philip Kerr is a British man and was born in Edinburgh in February of 1956. He went to grammar school in Northampton, and would go to college at the University of Birmingham from 1974 until 1980 and was able to get his master’s degree in the subjects of law and philosophy. After learning nothing as an undergraduate lawyer, he stayed on to do postgraduate work and studied Law and Philosophy further.

Order of Bernie Gunther Series

1March Violets 1989Description / Buy
2The Pale Criminal 1990Description / Buy
3A German Requiem 1991Description / Buy
4The One from the Other 2006Description / Buy
5A Quiet Flame 2008Description / Buy
6Field Gray 2010Description / Buy
7If The Dead Rise Not 2010Description / Buy
8Prague Fatale 2011Description / Buy
9A Man Without Breath 2013Description / Buy
10The Lady from Zagreb 2015Description / Buy
11The Other Side of Silence 2016Description / Buy
12Prussian Blue 2017Description / Buy
13Greeks Bearing Gifts 2018Description / Buy
14Metropolis 2019Description / Buy

Order of Children Of The Lamp Series as P.B. Kerr

1The Akhenaten Adventure 2004Description / Buy
2The Blue Djinn of Babylon 2005Description / Buy
3The Cobra King of Kathmandu 2006Description / Buy
4The Day of the Djinn Warriors 2007Description / Buy
5The Eye of the Forest 2008Description / Buy
6The Five Fakirs of Faizabad 2010Description / Buy
7The Grave Robbers of Genghis Khan 2011Description / Buy

Order of Scott Manson Series

1January Window 2014Description / Buy
2Hand of God 2015Description / Buy
3False Nine 2015Description / Buy

Order of Philip Kerr Standalone Novels

1A Philosophical Investigation 1992Description / Buy
2Dead Meat 1993Description / Buy
3Gridiron / The Grid 1995Description / Buy
4Esau 1996Description / Buy
5A Five-Year Plan 1998Description / Buy
6The Second Angel 1999Description / Buy
7The Shot 1999Description / Buy
8Dark Matter 2002Description / Buy
9Hitler's Peace 2005Description / Buy
10One Small Step (As: P.B. Kerr) 2008Description / Buy
11Prayer 2013Description / Buy
12The Winter Horses 2014Description / Buy
13Research 2014Description / Buy
14The Most Frightening Story Ever Told 2016Description / Buy

Order of Philip Kerr Short Stories/Novellas

1The Pocket Handkerchief (Short Story) 2016Description / Buy

Philip Kerr Anthologies

1 The Penguin Book of Lies1984Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Kerr would study a lot of German things too and that is where he gained an interest in German history in the twentieth century, the Nazis especially. Kerr has said that both he and the Germans have a sense of humor that is closer to the dark side of things, and that helps him write about Germany in one of his novel series. He worked at a firm called Saatchi and Saatchi as well as other firms, working as an advertising copywriter (producing nothing worthy of note), but would become a full time writer in the year 1989. Some of his time at these advertising firms was spent researching a novel he had an idea for that was about a German police officer, working in the mid 1930s. Kerr even took several trips to Germany to get everything just right before he was able to released his first novel called “March Violets”. His work has been published in the Evening Standard, New Statesman, and The Sunday Times. Kerr is married to fellow author named Jane Thynne and they have three kids together.

Philip Kerr has written the “Scott Manson” series, the “Bernie Gunther” series and some stand alone work. These novels are from the historical, crime, mystery, and thriller genres. The “Bernie Gunther” novels are set in Nazi Germany, but some are set after the fall of the Nazis (starting in the mid thirties). He has also written some non fiction and some children’s fiction (which includes the “Children of the Lamp” series) that was released under the name P.B. Kerr.


Granta put Philip Kerr on their list of the Best Young British Novelists. His novel “If the Dead Rise Not” won the RBA International Prize for Crime Writing, which is an award that is quite lucrative. It also won British Crime Writers’s Association’s Ellis Peters Historic Crime Award.


“Dead Meat”, a stand alone novel, was adapted into a television series in Britain under the name of “Grushko”.


For those looking to get into Philip Kerr’s work, this next section will help with that. It will look at the novels: “March Violets”, “The Pale Criminal”, and “January Window”.

March Violets: This is the first book in the “Bernie Gunther” series that was released in 1989. It is set in 1936 and is a historical detective novel. Bernhard used to be a cop, but is now a 38 year old private detective. He is hired by a industrialist with money named Hermann Six to get a diamond necklace back for him that was stolen from his daughter Grete’s place. As part of the robbery, the house was torched and both Grete and her husband (Paul Pfarr) were killed. Paul, come to find out, was SS and was at odds with Hermann, and was trying to get rid of corruption in the government. He was following Himmler’s orders.

The Pale Criminal: This is the second book in the “Bernie Gunther” series that was released in 1990. It is set in 1938, two years after the events of the first novel. Bernie has taken on a partner in another ex-cop who is named Bruno Stahlecker. They are working a case that involves a woman named Frau Lange, who owns a giant publishing company and is being blackmailed due to love letters that her son Reinhardt sent to his lover and psychotherapist named Dr. Kindermann.

January Window: This is the first book in the “Scott Manson” series that was released in 2014. The novel is set in the glamorous and corrupt world of Premier League Soccer. Scott Manson is the coach of the London City football team, but he also fixes things for them, too. He gets them into training and out of trouble; keeps the press in his pocket and the WAGs from being too difficult. He has the trust of his bosses and the love from his players. London City manager named Joao Zarco has died and is killed at the team’s stadium (Silvertown Docks). Manson cannot really smooth this over, how can you smooth over someone getting murdered? But the bigger question is whether or not he can catch the killer before they strike again.

When Does The Next Philip Kerr book come out?

Philip Kerr doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Metropolis and was released on April, 4th 2019. It is the newest book in the Bernie Gunther Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *