Philip Margolin Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Phillip Margolin is one of the prolific authors that has had virtually all of his novels listed as best sellers in the New York Times. The New York-born author received a B.A. in 1965 went into Liberia for two years where he volunteered to work with the Peace Corps organization till 1967.In 1970, Margolin graduated from the School of Law at New York University and went ahead to work as a defense attorney for 25 years. Margolin was married to a fellow attorney Doreen Stamm in 1968. The two were blessed with two children – Daniel and Ami.

Margolin’s writing career began 1974 with the publishing of “The Girl in the Yellow Bikini.” He later went into full-time writing in 1996, and by early 2007 he had written 12 novels. His successful start was marked by his first book “Heartstone,” which as nominated for the Edgar Awards in 1978. Margolin’s streak of success continued when he sold his second novel – The Last Innocent Man – to HBO production company, and after that, he wrote an additional 14 books all of which ended up on the list of New York Times bestsellers. Margolin has also extended his authorship skills into the short stories category in which he has published various short stories and non-fiction articles.Two of Margolin’s short stories: The House on Pine Terrace and The Jailhouse Lawyer, have been published in one of the famous anthologies known as the Best American Mystery Stories.

Get notified when Phillip Margolin releases a new book at

Order of Amanda Jaffe Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Wild Justice 2000 Description / Buy
2 The Associate 2001 Description / Buy
3 Ties That Bind 2003 Description / Buy
4 Proof Positive 2006 Description / Buy
5 Fugitive 2009 Description / Buy
6 Violent Crimes 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Brad Miller / Dana Cutler Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Executive Privilege 2008 Description / Buy
2 Supreme Justice 2010 Description / Buy
3 Capitol Murder 2012 Description / Buy
4 Sleight of Hand 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Robin Lockwood Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Third Victim 2018 Description / Buy
2 The Perfect Alibi 2019 Description / Buy
3 A Reasonable Doubt 2020 Description / Buy
4 A Matter of Life and Death 2021 Description / Buy
5 The Darkest Place 2022 Description / Buy
6 Murder at Black Oaks 2022 Description / Buy
7 Betrayal 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Phillip Margolin Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Heartstone 1978 Description / Buy
2 The Last Innocent Man 1988 Description / Buy
3 Gone, But Not Forgotten 1993 Description / Buy
4 After Dark 1995 Description / Buy
5 The Burning Man 1996 Description / Buy
6 The Undertaker's Widow 1998 Description / Buy
7 Sleeping Beauty 2004 Description / Buy
8 Lost Lake 2005 Description / Buy
9 The House on Pine Terrace (Short Story) 2009 Description / Buy
10 Worthy Brown's Daughter 2014 Description / Buy
11 Woman with a Gun 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Madison Kincaid Series with Ami Margolin Rome

# Read Title Published Details
1 Vanishing Acts ( With: Ami Margolin Rome) 2011 Description / Buy

Phillip Margolin Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Legal Briefs 1998 Description / Buy
2 Natural Suspect 2001 Description / Buy
3 The Best American Mystery Stories 2010 2010 Description / Buy
4 A Study in Sherlock 2011 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Philip Margolin Awards:

Phillip Margolin’s skilful authorship has been recognized through various nominations for awards. The Mystery Writers of America organization nominated Margolin in 1978 for the Edgar Award in the category of best original paperback for his first novel: ‘Heartstone.’ His short story titled ‘The Jailhouse Lawyer,’ which was published in a popular American anthology was classified as one the best American mystery stories.

Philip Margolin Books Into Movies:

In his early days of writing, some of Phillip Margolin’s books were turned into movies and television series. ‘The Last Innocent man,’which was Margolin’s second book was sold to HBO and turned into a successful movie starring Harris. Similarly, in 2006, his 1998 Angie’s Delight was turned into a short film. His 1993 novel titled ‘Gone, But not Forgotten,’ was also turned into a television series by Warner Bros in 2004 starring Scott Glenn and Brooke Shields.

Best Philip Margolin Books:

Gone, But Not Forgotten: This is Margolin’s great novel that sold over 1.5 million copies after it was translated into over 20 languages. The book also inspired a television mini-series based on the novel’s story. The series was produced in 2004 by Warner Bros. This book has been sold by approximately 25 foreign publishing companies. Also, the novel was the main selection of sampled novels selected by the Literary Guild. The gripping tale is full of violence characterized by serial murders and abductions. The story involves a disappearance of various Oregon housewives in the Portland neighborhood. The only clue that the serial killer leaves is a note and black rose. A New York detective – Nancy Gordon – joins the investigation after dealing with similar cases in the back East, and she too disappears after the implication of Martin Darius – an influential developer in Portland. Margolin takes readers through lurid and chilling details as criminal lawyer Tannenbaum Betsy investigates Darius further.

Heartstone: This was Margolin’s first novel that marked his bright start by getting nominated for an EdgarAward in 1978. The book covers a story of horrific violence and savage orgies that befall a young couple at Lookout Point. The murders of Elaine Murray and Ritchie Walters mark the beginning of a chilling story of a bloodthirsty killer on the loose. The nomination of this novel for an award made it a big win and successful start for Margolin, which propelled him fully into writing. The Last Innocent Man: This is the second book by Margolin, which was also successfully turned into a movie after being sold to HBO. The novel tells the story of a successful attorney – Peter Nash – who has managed to set free various offenders free. Nash finds a case of a seemingly innocent man accused of a serious crime and starts working on it hoping to redeem his record of defending monsters. But his supposed redemption case spirals into one of his biggest downfalls, and he gets himself caught in a web of lies, which finally lead him to the point of contemplating about his possible death. The book is an excellent thriller just as is the movie by HBO inspired by the books story.

When Does The Next Phillip Margolin book come out?

Phillip Margolin doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Betrayal and was released on November, 7th 2023. It is the newest book in the Robin Lockwood Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *