Pittacus Lore Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Pittacus Lore is a collective pseudonym for the authors James Frey, Greg Boose. Jobie Hughes used to be involved as well. The project was put together by Frey, who started Full Fathom Five, a young adult publishing company that tries to produce content that will highly appeal to younger readers. Frey uses the help of Master of Fine Arts students to write the novels with him, but he is able to steer the work in the way that he sees fit.

Get notified when Pittacus Lore releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Lorien Legacies Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 I Am Number Four 2010 Description / Buy
2 The Power of Six 2011 Description / Buy
3 The Rise of Nine 2012 Description / Buy
4 The Fall of Five 2013 Description / Buy
5 The Revenge of Seven 2014 Description / Buy
6 The Fate of Ten 2015 Description / Buy
7 United as One 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Lorien Legacies Reborn Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Generation One 2017 Description / Buy
2 Fugitive Six 2018 Description / Buy
3 Return to Zero 2019 Description / Buy

Order of I Am Number Four: The Lost Files Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Six's Legacy 2011 Description / Buy
2 Nine's Legacy 2012 Description / Buy
3 The Fallen Legacies 2012 Description / Buy
4 The Search for Sam 2012 Description / Buy
5 The Last Days of Lorien 2013 Description / Buy
6 The Forgotten Ones 2013 Description / Buy
7 Hidden Enemy 2014 Description / Buy
8 Five's Legacy 2014 Description / Buy
9 Return to Paradise 2014 Description / Buy
10 Five's Betrayal 2014 Description / Buy
11 The Fugitive 2014 Description / Buy
12 The Navigator 2015 Description / Buy
13 The Guard 2015 Description / Buy
14 Legacies Reborn 2015 Description / Buy
15 Last Defense 2016 Description / Buy
16 Hunt for the Garde 2016 Description / Buy

Order of I Am Number Four Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Legacies 2012 Description / Buy
2 Secret Histories 2013 Description / Buy
3 Rebel Allies 2015 Description / Buy
4 Zero Hour 2016 Description / Buy

Order of The Legacy Chronicles Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Out of the Ashes 2017 Description / Buy
2 Into the Fire 2018 Description / Buy
3 Up in Smoke 2018 Description / Buy
4 Chasing Ghosts 2018 Description / Buy
5 Raising Monsters 2019 Description / Buy
6 Killing Giants 2019 Description / Buy
7 Out of the Shadows 2019 Description / Buy

Order of Ashfall Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Ashfall Legacy 2021 Description / Buy
2 Ashfall Prophecy 2022 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Pittacus Lore writes young adult science fiction and has written the “Lorien Legacies” series and “The Lost Files”, which are novella compilations that each have three novellas in them. The “Lorien Legacies” series has reached the New York Times Bestseller list, and the first novel spent seven straight weeks at number one.


The first novel in the “Lorien Legacies” series, “I Am Number Four” was adapted into a movie and was released in the year 2011.


For those looking to get into Pittacus Lore’s work, this next section will help with that. It will look at the novels: “I Am Number Four”, “The Power of Six”, and “The Rise of Nine”.

I Am Number Four: This is the first novel in the “Lorien Legacies” series and was released in the year 2010. The series focuses on nine human like aliens who were brought to Earth at a young age, with the plan being that they grow into their powers and later return home so they can get it back from the Mogadorians, who took it over. They can only be killed in a set order due to a charm and they are protected by non gifted guardians called Cepans. At the start of this book, six of the nine have made it to fifteen years old.

Most of the novel is narrated by Number Four in the first person. One of Number Four’s abilities is his ability to blend in. He has taken the name John Smith and is from a planet called Lorien. He went on the run when he was five years old and has continued to be on the run ever since. Now sixteen, he and his guardian or Cepan (Henri) learn of the death of Number Three and so they go to Paradise, Ohio. They take new identities here. They cannot risk being exposed as it will alert everyone who wants them dead to where he is. They have crisscrossed the entire United States to try to stay hidden. John meets a conspiracy theorist, named Sam Goode, that he becomes friends with and gets a dog that he calls Bernie Kosar because of its name tag. He meets a girl that he likes named Sarah, and develops a relationship with her. Henri is training John to use his legacies and it seems that there is a quickening pace and urgency with it. He tells John that is far from safe to stay here. He is proven to be right when a battle at the school he has been going to breaks out.

The Power of Six: This is the second novel in the “Lorien Legacies” series and was released in the year 2011. This novel shifts in narration, being narrated by different members of the Garde. Number Four, Six (Sam Goode), and Seven (Marina). Marina is hiding at a convent in Spain called Santa Teresa. She searches for news of John after his heroism in the battle at his school that took place at the end of the first book. Ella, it turns out is a member of the Garde. They go on a search to find the other surviving members of The Garde, all while trying to stay ahead of the Mogadorians.

The Rise of Nine: This is the third novel in the “Lorien Legacies” series and was released in the year 2012. It was the first novel that Greg Boose co-wrote with Frey, after Jobie Hughes left the project. The writing of this novel suffered some setbacks after Hughes left. Crayton, Six, and Ella are heading to India to try to find Number Eight. They are picked up by some men who believe that Eight is Vishnu, the Hindu god reincarnated. Before they can get to Eight’s home base, they have to fight off soldiers in Lord’s Resistance Front. This group wants to kill Eight and all people who have associated themselves with him.

When Does The Next Pittacus Lore book come out?

Pittacus Lore doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Ashfall Prophecy and was released on August, 16th 2022. It is the newest book in the Ashfall Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *