Rebecca Tope Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Rebecca Tope is a British author that writes crime fiction. Born in 1948, Tope doesn’t like it when people call her a cozy mystery writer. They don’t seem to understand that her books have more violence than the average cozy mystery.

Get notified when Rebecca Tope releases a new book at

Order of Den Cooper Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Dirty Death 1999 Description / Buy
2 Death of a Friend 2000 Description / Buy
3 A Death to Record 2001 Description / Buy

Order of Drew Slocombe Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dark Undertakings 1999 Description / Buy
2 Grave Concerns 2000 Description / Buy
3 The Sting of Death 2002 Description / Buy
4 A Market for Murder 2003 Description / Buy

Order of Lake District Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Windermere Witness 2012 Description / Buy
2 The Ambleside Alibi 2013 Description / Buy
3 The Coniston Case 2014 Description / Buy
4 The Troutbeck Testimony 2015 Description / Buy
5 The Hawkshead Hostage 2016 Description / Buy
6 The Bowness Bequest 2017 Description / Buy
7 The Staveley Suspect 2018 Description / Buy
8 The Grasmere Grudge 2019 Description / Buy
9 The Patterdale Plot 2020 Description / Buy
10 The Ullswater Undertaking 2021 Description / Buy
11 The Threlkeld Theory 2022 Description / Buy
12 The Askham Accusation 2023 Description / Buy
13 The Borrowdale Body 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Oregon Tales Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Indifference of Tumbleweed 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Rosemary & Thyme Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 And No Bird Sings 2004 Description / Buy
2 The Tree of Death 2005 Description / Buy
3 Memory of Water 2006 Description / Buy

Order of Thea Osborne Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Cotswold Killing 2004 Description / Buy
2 A Cotswold Ordeal 2005 Description / Buy
3 Death in the Cotswolds 2007 Description / Buy
4 A Cotswold Mystery 2008 Description / Buy
5 Blood in the Cotswolds 2008 Description / Buy
6 Slaughter in the Cotswolds 2009 Description / Buy
7 Fear in the Cotswolds 2009 Description / Buy
8 A Grave in the Cotswolds 2010 Description / Buy
9 Deception in the Cotswolds 2011 Description / Buy
10 Malice in the Cotswolds 2012 Description / Buy
11 Shadows in the Cotswolds 2013 Description / Buy
12 Trouble in the Cotswolds 2014 Description / Buy
13 Revenge in the Cotswolds 2015 Description / Buy
14 Guilt in the Cotswolds 2016 Description / Buy
15 Peril in the Cotswolds 2017 Description / Buy
16 Crisis in the Cotswolds 2018 Description / Buy
17 Secrets in the Cotswolds 2019 Description / Buy
18 A Cotswold Christmas Mystery 2020 Description / Buy
19 Echoes in the Cotswolds 2021 Description / Buy
20 Betrayal in the Cotswolds 2022 Description / Buy
21 A Discovery in the Cotswolds 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Rebecca Tope Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The View From the Cart 2014 Description / Buy
2 Spirit of Destiny 2019 Description / Buy

Order of Cotswold Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Cotswold Casebook 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

She assumes that people categorize her work within the cozy mystery genre because her books have pubs. Tope calls herself a crime fiction writer. Although, she has nothing against American readers that call her books mysteries.

The author has experimented with historical fiction. But crime fiction has always been her genre of choice. She stumbled into the arena back in the 1990s and decided to stay.

Crime fiction suits Tope because the genre is lucrative. Additionally, she doesn’t think the publishing industry would continue to tolerate her if she decided to switch genres so late in her career.

Not that Tope has any intention of abandoning crime fiction. She loves reading murder mysteries. They scratch her itch. Therefore, it makes all the sense in the world that she would write stories in the same vein.

Her stories feature a large cast of characters struggling to overcome a crisis. The protagonists are not always politically correct. They may also break the rules on occasion.

Tope’s fans might be surprised to learn that she doesn’t plan her novels. It takes her roughly four months to write a book. If she chose to, she could write three books each year.

Writing is not the first thing she does in the morning. Instead, the author kickstarts her day by walking the dogs. Once she returns, Tope will take a moment to check her emails.

Eventually, she will write the next a thousand words of her story. One thousand words are the minimum. She can write more if she wants. Tope doesn’t know where her story will go.

She has no idea what will happen. It wouldn’t be an exaggeration to say that the author is basically telling herself the story even as she writes it. She doesn’t bother to plot or outline beforehand.

That being said, she does plenty of research. She doesn’t have a choice. Tope’s settings are real places. Therefore, she tries to visit every place she intends to feature in her stories.

Her primary focus is the location. She has no interest in speaking to the people she meets on her trips.

The author’s mother played an important role in her decision to pursue writing and publishing. The woman worked as a freelance journalist. She would write articles and then sell them to magazines.

Tope remembers watching her mother as she worked on the typewriter, not to mention the excitement the woman would manifest when her submissions were accepted.

Later on, Tope met an English teacher that encouraged her to read. Before long, reading wasn’t enough. The author started writing as well.

Best Rebecca Tope Books

The author has written novelizations for ‘Rosemary and Thyme,’ a TV show on ITV. Tope’s best books include:

A Cotswold Killing: Thea Osborne was housesitting for a local couple. The recent widow did not expect much from the quaint village of Duntisbourne Abbots. In fact, she thought her three-week stay would drive her mad with boredom.

But then a scream broke the silence one random night. Thea was smart enough to stay inside. In a village as sleepy as theirs, the scream was harmless. Life in the hills of the Cotswolds was too peaceful for the woman to worry.

Thea was forced to reshape her perception when a body turned up. The widow wanted to look to her neighbors for answers. But what she found only cemented her suspicion that life in the community was not as alluring as everyone wanted her to believe.

The Windermere Witness: A personal tragedy forced Simmy to start over in the Lake District. Her new home was peaceful, the kind of sanctuary she needed to recover. Additionally, her parents were close by.

Simmy was more than happy to lose herself in her work. She did not expect a murder to ruin everything.
It all began with the wedding of a millionaire’s child. Someone had murdered the bride’s brother. Simmy couldn’t stay out of the spotlight. After all, she was one of the last people Mark Baxter spoke to before he died.

But once she started digging, the florist realized that Mark’s relatives had one too many secrets.

When Does The Next Rebecca Tope book come out?

Rebecca Tope doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Borrowdale Body and was released on February, 22nd 2024. It is the newest book in the Lake District Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *