Richelle Mead Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Richelle Mead is an American author that writes fantasy. Born in 1976 in Michigan, she attended the University of Michigan (Bachelor of General Studies), Western Michigan University (Master of Comparative Religion), and the University of Washington (Master of Teaching).

Get notified when Richelle Mead releases a new book at

Order of Georgina Kincaid Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Succubus Blues 2007 Description / Buy
2 Succubus On Top / Succubus Nights 2008 Description / Buy
3 Succubus Dreams 2008 Description / Buy
4 Succubus Heat 2009 Description / Buy
5 Succubus Shadows 2010 Description / Buy
6 Succubus Revealed 2011 Description / Buy
7 City of Demons (Short Story) 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Bloodlines Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Bloodlines 2011 Description / Buy
2 The Golden Lily 2012 Description / Buy
3 The Indigo Spell 2013 Description / Buy
4 The Fiery Heart 2013 Description / Buy
5 Silver Shadows 2014 Description / Buy
6 The Ruby Circle 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Dark Swan Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Storm Born 2008 Description / Buy
2 Thorn Queen 2008 Description / Buy
3 Iron Crowned 2011 Description / Buy
4 Shadow Heir 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Dark Swan Graphic Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dark Swan: Storm Born, Vol. 1 (Short Story) 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Vampire Academy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Vampire Academy 2007 Description / Buy
2 Frostbite 2008 Description / Buy
3 Shadow Kiss 2008 Description / Buy
4 Blood Promise 2009 Description / Buy
5 Spirit Bound 2010 Description / Buy
6 Last Sacrifice 2010 Description / Buy
7 The Untold Stories (Short Story) 2017 Description / Buy

Order of Vampire Academy Graphic Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Vampire Academy 2011 Description / Buy
2 Frostbite (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
3 Shadow Kiss 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Vampire Academy Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Vampire Academy: The Ultimate Guide 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Age Of X Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Gameboard of the Gods 2013 Description / Buy
2 The Immortal Crown 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Glittering Court Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Glittering Court 2016 Description / Buy
2 Midnight Jewel 2017 Description / Buy
3 The Emerald Sea 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Richelle Mead Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Soundless 2015 Description / Buy

Richelle Mead Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Eternal Lover 2008 Description / Buy
2 Immortal: Love Stories With Bite 2008 Description / Buy
3 Kisses from Hell 2010 Description / Buy
4 Foretold: 14 Tales of Prophecy and Prediction 2012 Description / Buy
5 Doctor Who: 11 Doctors, 11 Stories 2013 Description / Buy
6 Doctor Who: 12 Doctors, 12 Stories 2014 Description / Buy
7 Doctor Who: Thirteen Doctors, 13 Stories 2019 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Mead wrote a lot as a child. She even published a short story in a children’s magazine. Mead had every reason to believe that she would grow up to become an author. But as she matured, life kept throwing distractions at her, the most prominent being her studies.

Mead was approaching 30 when she finally decided to give writing a serious shot. It is worth noting that writing and publishing were not the author’s only objectives.

She taught 8th grade English and social studies for a time, and if she were not a published author, Mead wouldn’t hesitate to return to teaching. Despite the challenges, she enjoyed the days she spent with her teenage students.

Fortunately, the author doesn’t have to contemplate alternative careers. She has plenty of avid followers that wait with bated breath for each new book she releases.

Mead believes that the characters are the most important part of every story. As a writer, you must create strong protagonists with whom the readers can connect.

The author has found that her favorite shows have the best characters. Even when the plots are bland, she will continue to watch the shows because she loves the characters.

As such, it shouldn’t come as a surprise to learn that the characters are the first element of a story Mead creates. Once she has a clear idea of the characters she wants to explore, the story will take shape.

Mead doesn’t overthink the names. She selects whatever feels right. Even though she enjoys investigating the origins and meanings of names, her characters’ names do not have special meanings.

Most of her writing sessions occur in an office. Mead doesn’t like public settings like coffee shops because they would distract her. She would start watching the people. Her office provides a silent sanctuary.

Mead needs peace. She cannot listen to music while writing. Music only serves a purpose when the author is mulling over ideas in the car. Otherwise, if she played a song while writing, she would inevitably stop and listen.

As far as her creative process is concerned, she starts by writing broad ideas on a whiteboard. Over time, she will generate a smaller list of solid points highlighting the significant events in the book.

Then she creates an outline and writes the book. Even though she prefers to write notes by hand, Mead will type the manuscript on a computer. Sometimes, connecting the various parts of a story is challenging.

Fortunately, writer’s block rarely afflicts the author because she prepares adequately beforehand. Mead relies on her outlines to guide her.

Richelle Mead Awards

Mead has won Teen Read, Goodreads Choice, and Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Awards.

Richelle Mead Books Into Movies

Vampire Academy became a movie in 2014.

Best Richelle Mead Books

The author was an avid reader during her childhood. Her favorite book was Little House On The Prairie. Mead’s best books include:

Vampire Academy: Rose and Lissa should have been safe at St. Vladimir’s Academy. Despite appearances, Lissa was no ordinary girl. The mortal vampire’s earth magic made her a target.

The Strigoi would move heaven and earth to claim her. Rose, her best friend, was supposed to protect the Moroi princess. But even with the gifts that came with her human and vampire blood, Rose was unprepared for what awaited them at the academy.

Shadow Kiss: Rose was Lissa’s protector. Lissa was the last Dragomir princess, and it was Rose’s job to keep her out of the clutches of the Strigoi. For that reason, she had no time for love.

Lissa had to come first. But no one prepared her for Dimitri Belikov, the one man for whom she was prepared to break every rule.

However, Dimitri was the least of her worries. Rose could sense danger. Evil was approaching. The undead would not rest until they got their vengeance against Rose.

Rose wanted to believe that her worst nightmares would remain in her subconscious. But everything she fears is finally coming to pass, and before the end, destiny will ask her to choose between the most important people in her life.

When Does The Next Richelle Mead book come out?

Richelle Mead doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Emerald Sea and was released on June, 26th 2018. It is the newest book in the Glittering Court Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *