Rita Mae Brown Books

Rita Mae Brown is an American writer, who was born on 28th November 1944 in Hannover, Pennsylvania. Since her mother wasn’t married by the time she was born, Rita was left at an orphanage . She was later retrieved by her mother’s cousin known as Julia and her husband. She is known for both mystery and screenwriting. She is also a feminist and activist besides being a writer. She attended the University of Florida at Gainesville in 1962 through a scholarship.

Order of "Sister" Jane Series

# Read Title Published
1 Outfoxed 2000
2 Hotspur 2002
3 Full Cry 2003
4 The Hunt Ball 2005
5 The Hounds and the Fury 2006
6 The Tell-tale Horse 2007
7 Hounded to Death 2008
8 Fox Tracks 2012
9 Let Sleeping Dogs Lie 2014

Order of Mags Rogers Series

# Read Title Published
1 A Nose for Justice 2010
2 Murder Unleashed 2011

Order of Mrs. Murphy Series

Order of Rita Mae Brown Anthologies

# Read Title Published
1 Hand That Cradles the Rock 1971
2 Songs to a Handsome Woman 1973
3 Poems 1987

Order of Rita Mae Brown Non-Fiction Books

Order of Rita Mae Brown Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published
1 Rubyfruit Jungle 1973
2 In Her Day 1976
3 Southern Discomfort 1982
4 Sudden Death 1983
5 High Hearts 1986
6 Venus Envy 1993
7 Dolley 1994
8 Riding Shotgun 1996
9 Alma Mater 2001
10 Cakewalk 2016

Order of Runnymede Series

# Read Title Published
1 Six of One 1978
2 Bingo 1988
3 Loose Lips 1999
4 The Sand Castle 2008


# Read Title Published
1 I'd Kill For That 2004
Print: Print PDF

In 1964, she was one of those who took part in the civil rights movement and this made her be expelled by the racially segregated University’s administrator. Since she wanted to transfer to a more tolerant four-year institution, she decided to enroll at the Broward Community College. She later joined the New York University in 1964, where she graduated with a degree in Classics and English. Besides this, she also received a cinematography certificate from the New York school of Visual Arts. In 1976, she graduated from the Union institute & University with a ph. D in literature. Rita Mae Brown also attended the Institute for Policy in Washington, DC, where she got her doctorate in political science.

Her writing career began in 1973 when she wrote her pioneer novel known as “Rubefruit Jungle”. This is a novel that she is well-known for among other books. After this, she has written several books that have been classified under mysteries books, poetry, Novels and non-fictions. She has also written a series known as “Mrs. Murphy” that is made up of 25 books. All these books are available online where you can always read or buy the novels. Her latest book that was published in 2016 is known as “Tail Gait”, which is part of the series.

Rita Mae Brown Awards

Rita Mae Brown has won several awards in her career as a writer. She was a nominee of the Emmy for Outstanding Writing for “I Love Liberty” in a variety of music programs in 1982. Besides this, she was also the 27th Lambda Literary Awards winner of the Pioneer Award.

Rita Mae Brown Books into Movies

Most of her books have featured in various TV shows. For example, “I Love Liberty” featured in the TV special in 1982. The other books into movies include “The Woman Who Loved Elvis”, “The Slumber Party Massacre” and the “Rich Men, Single Women” that featured in the TV Movie in 1993, 1982 and 1990 respectively. My Two Loves and Murder She Purred are other novels that have featured in the TV movies.

Best Rita Mae Brown Books

Rita Mae Brown’s ultimate book that she is always known for is the “Rubyfruit Jungle”, which is her genesis book in her career as a writer. The other best book is the “Tail Gait”.

Rubyfruit Jungle: This is the pioneer book that marks the journey of Rita Mae Brown as a writer. The novel was published in 1973. The main character in the book is Molly Bolt, who is the adopted daughter of a poor family. Despite being adopted, she is known for her great beauty and also aware of her lesbianism since her childhood. She is able to spitfire through secondary school even though being a well-known lesbian. At school she is on full grant, however the influence of her roommate causes the Dean to constrain her out amid her first year. Due to this, she is disgraced by her family, she packs up and moves to NYC. Molly advances, parties with rich and well-known, graduates. Be that as it may, it was difficult, each turn of the page is a battle for her to conquer the snags of being a lady particularly with being gay.

Tail Gait: This is another smart book by Rita Mae Brown that has been highly rated. Harry and her husband, Fair, are getting a charge out of a comfortable supper with a portion of the town’s driving natives, including cherished University of Virginia history teacher Greg “Ginger” McConnell and a few individuals from UVA’s commended 1959 football group. In any case, underneath the shroud of gaiety hides a vile ghost from the inaccessible past that debilitates to put every one of their lives in peril. On the following day, Professor McConnell is found assassinated on the fairway. He is gunned down with no attempt at being subtle by a concealed execution and nobody can understand a thought process, not to mention locate the suspect. Pretty much as Harry and her hairy partners start nosing into the case, in any case, a destitute UVA alum admits to the wrongdoing. This is just, but a small summary of the novel. Get more about it by getting the copy.