Robert Barnard Books

Author Robert Barnard was born in Essex on November the twenty-third in 1936 and educated in Colchester Royal Grammar School, as well as at Balliol College in Oxford. His first crime novel was published in 1976 and he wrote it while he worked as a lecturer at the University of Tromso, which is located in Norway. The first twelve of his novels were written when Barnard taught English Literature at universities in Norway and Australia, this was between the years of 1960 until 1983. Barnard once stated that his favorite crime writer was Agatha Christie; he would publish a critique of all of her works.

Order of Amadeus Mozart Series

# Read Title Published
1 Dead, MR Mozart 1994
2 Too Many Notes, Mr. Mozart 1995

Order of Charlie Peace Series

Order of Idwal Meredith Series

# Read Title Published
1 Death of A Mystery Writer 1979
2 Unruly Son 1979
3 At Death's Door 1988

Order of John Sutcliffe Series

# Read Title Published
1 Political Suicide 1986
2 A Scandal in Belgravia 1991

Order of Perry Trethowan Series

Order of Robert Barnard Non-Fiction Books

Order of Robert Barnard Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published
1 Death Of An Old Goat 1974
2 A Little Local Murder 1976
3 Death on the High C's 1977
4 Blood Brotherhood 1977
5 Death Of A Literary Widow 1979
6 Posthumous Papers 1979
7 Death In A Cold Climate 1981
8 Death of A Perfect Mother 1981
9 Mother's Boys 1981
10 Little Victims 1983
11 School for Murder 1983
12 Corpse In A Gilded Cage 1984
13 Out of the Blackout 1985
14 Fete Fatale 1985
15 The Disposal of the Living 1985
16 The Skeleton in the Grass 1988
17 Death Of A Salesperson And Other Untimely Exits 1989
18 A City Of Strangers 1990
19 To Die Like a Gentleman 1993
20 The Masters of the House 1994
21 The Habit of Widowhood 1996
22 A Mansion and Its Murder 1998
23 A Murder in Mayfair 1999
24 Touched by the Dead 1999
25 The Mistress of Alderley 2000
26 A Cry From The Dark 2003
27 Dying Flames 2005
28 The Graveyard Position 2005
29 Last Post 2007
30 A Stranger in the Family 2010
31 Rogue's Gallery 2011
32 Touched by the Dead 2012


# Read Title Published
1 A Suit of Diamonds 1991
Print: Print PDF

So it was a great source of pride for him that he would share, for a short time an editor with Christie (who was named Elizabeth Walter). He spent six years in Australia where he met and married the woman that he would be with for the rest of his life. It was also here in Australia that he gathered material for his first novel “Death of An Old Goat”. Even though he found more popularity in America, he wrote the traditional English murder mystery novel, especially the cozy side of crime writing.

Barnard found that the number one goal of all writing fiction was to entertain the audience, and that was something that he did in every novel that he wrote. He died September nineteenth 2013, and left behind his wife Louise, to whom he was married to for about fifty years. The cause of death was rapid onset dementia that he got in the last year of his life and that caused him to be in a nursing home.

Robert Barnard wrote the “Charlie Peace” series, the “Perry Trethowan” novels, quite a few stand alone novels, some non-fiction, and some short stories. In some of his non-fiction, he wrote about the works of Charles Dickens, Emily Bronte, and a history of English Literature. Under the name Bernard Bastable, he wrote two alternate history books about Mozart as a detective in old age, and two stand alone novels. Barnard never topped bestseller lists due to the fact that his work was not adapted for television or movies or large paperback print runs.


In 2003, Barnard was given the Cartier Diamond Dagger by the Crime Writers Association for lifetime achievement. He was also nominated for the Edgar Award eight times, one of which for his Agatha Christie book.


For those looking to get into Robert Barnard’s work, this next section will help with that. It will look at the novels: “Death by Sheer Torture”, “Death and the Chaste Apprentice”, and “A Corpse In A Gilded Cage”.

Death by Sheer Torture: This is the first novel in the “Perry Trethowan” series that was released in the year 1981. Inspector Perry Trethowan finds an obituary that says his estranged father has died due to his messing around with a kind of self-torture that is known as strappado. Very suspicious to Perry. His supervisor requests that Peter go back to his ancestral home so that he can figure out if any cousins or siblings of his may have helped his old man to his death.

Death and the Chaste Apprentice: This is the first novel in the “Charlie Peace” series that was released in the year 1989. “The Chaste Apprentice” is a play being put on at the annual fine arts festival. Des Capper is an obnoxious and Australian host at The Saracen’s Head Hotel, where the play is going to be put on and where the actors are staying. He is found killed, with a knife in his back. It is a symbolic gesture as Capper enjoys finding out the secrets from the cast members. The entire cast has an alibi, as the murder took place during the show, but all is not as it appears.

A Corpse In A Gilded Cage: This is a stand alone novel that was released in the year 1984. A working class man who lives in London named Perce Spender and is made an Earl (the twelfth Earl of Ellesmere) when a distant relative of his dies. He would rather be in a bar somewhere, and he has only agreed to go to Chetton Hall only so that he can sell it. Selling off the estate is not something that his greedy kids like, and after a party, the new Earl of Ellesmere is found dead. There are many of suspects for the Chief Constable to sift through.