Robert Goddard Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Born in Fareham, Hampshire on 13th November 1954, Robert William Goddard is an English writer specializing in writing mystery and thriller novels. Goddard attended Bathampton Primary School; he later attended Wallisdean County Junior School and the Price’s Grammar School and participated in the University of Cambridge for his higher learning education where he graduated with a bachelor of art in history. His career life in both teaching and journalism failed him as he usually emerged unsuccessful in both of them. It is due to this reason that he shifted his attention and worked as an educational administrator before becoming a full-time dedicated writer. Goddard lives with his wife in Truro, Cornwall.

Get notified when Robert Goddard releases a new book at

Order of Harry Barnett Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Into the Blue 1990 Description / Buy
2 Out of the Sun 1996 Description / Buy
3 Never Go Back 2006 Description / Buy

Order of James "Max" Maxted Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Ways of the World 2013 Description / Buy
2 The Corners of the Globe 2014 Description / Buy
3 The Ends of the Earth 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Umiko Wada Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Fine Art of Invisible Detection 2021 Description / Buy
2 The Fine Art of Uncanny Prediction 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Robert Goddard Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Past Caring 1986 Description / Buy
2 In Pale Battalions 1988 Description / Buy
3 Painting the Darkness 1989 Description / Buy
4 Take No Farewell / Debt of Dishonour 1991 Description / Buy
5 Hand in Glove 1992 Description / Buy
6 Closed Circle 1993 Description / Buy
7 Borrowed Time 1995 Description / Buy
8 Beyond Recall 1997 Description / Buy
9 Caught in the Light 1998 Description / Buy
10 Set in Stone 1999 Description / Buy
11 Sea Change 2000 Description / Buy
12 Dying to Tell 2001 Description / Buy
13 Days Without Number 2003 Description / Buy
14 Play to the End 2004 Description / Buy
15 Sight Unseen 2005 Description / Buy
16 Name to a Face 2007 Description / Buy
17 Found Wanting 2008 Description / Buy
18 Long Time Coming 2009 Description / Buy
19 Blood Count 2010 Description / Buy
20 Fault Line 2012 Description / Buy
21 Ends of the Earth 2015 Description / Buy
22 Panic Room 2017 Description / Buy
23 One False Move 2019 Description / Buy
24 This is the Night They Come for You 2022 Description / Buy

Robert Goddard Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Best British Mysteries IV 2007 Description / Buy
2 First Edition: Celebrating 21 Years of Goldsboro Books 2020 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

His thriller novels have had an aspect of historical figures, with settings being in most of English towns and cities. Most of his novels revolve around a different lead characters who gradually uncover conspiracies that have been held a secret for decades or even hundreds of years using historical documents such as artifacts, diaries or even means of mouth to mouth passage of information through generations.

Goddard first novel Past Caring was published in 1986. Since then more than 20 of his writings have been released, the majority of the books making it up the top ten list bestsellers of the Sunday Times. The Ends of the Earth is Goddard latest book published in 2015.

Never go back, into the Blue, and out of the Sun are three different books. However, they form a chronological series featuring Harry Barnett as the central character.


Many of the Robert Goddard novels have made it to top ten lists of various bestsellers. These books have also been nominated and won numerous awards. His fourth book Into the Blue was the winner of the Thumping Good Read Award under the category of best fiction writer of the year.

Beyond Recall (1997) was nominated the Edgar Award under the category Best Novel. Unfortunately, it lost out to Mr. Whites Confession by Robert Clark. Subsequently, in 2011, Long Time Coming won the Edgar Award for the Best Original Paperback prize, later the same year, it was nominated the 2011 Antony Award for the same award.


The fourth book Into the Blue was made into a television film in 1997. The film featured a popular television character John Thaw, featured in other range of cinema and stage roles. However, the author Robert Goddard was not impressed with the adaptation, and in an interview, he said that the adjustment was a false and suggested that future adaptations should be made original.


These are the best books written by all-time bestselling English writers Robert Goddard.

Past Caring: Edwin Strafford resigns from his position as an Edwardian Cabinet minister especially during the height of his political career. Subsequently, the only woman he loves suddenly leaves him. Sixty-seven years pass by after the occurrence of these events, and to keep them a secret some people are willing even to kill to keep the whole ordeal a secret.

A historical graduate, Martin Radford begins to investigate the truth and search for the solution of what could have been the cause of fall of Edwin Strafford. Unfortunately, his curiosity proves fatal as he triggers a series of violent event and finds himself entangled with those who had committed crime long ago and never paid for their sins.

Caught In the Light: On his assignment in Vienna, Austria, Ian Jarrett a photographer falls in love with Marian Esguard a woman he had met by chance. He breaks up with his wife, back in England and returns to Austria to meet with Marian at an agreed meeting. Unfortunately Marian fails to turn up.

He begins desperately searching for her until he stumbles on a churchyard full of gravestones of the dead Esguards. He also meets Daphne Sanger a psychotherapist who is in search of a patient whom she believes is a rebirth of Marion Esguards who lived during the Regency period and may have invented photography a decade before Fox Talbot. However, if that is the case, why is she accredited with the discovery? Moreover, where is the Ian Jarrett new found love?

To solve this 170 years old mystery, Ian sets out to investigate, but he will soon discover that there is a dominant force that is determined to keep this century-old mystery a mystery.

When Does The Next Robert Goddard book come out?

Robert Goddard doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Fine Art of Uncanny Prediction and was released on August, 17th 2023. It is the newest book in the Umiko Wada Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *