Robyn Carr Books

Author Robyn Carr started writing fiction in the mid-seventies; at the time, she was an Air Force wife and had education as a nurse. In fact, this was the field that she had originally planned on going into, writing novels was not really something she had in mind to do for a career. Her husband’s frequent changes in assignment made it tough for her to work in the nursing field. Little did she know, writing with babies on her lap, that she would become one of the biggest authors of both women’s fiction and romance in the world. Not to mention that eleven of her books have reached number one on the New York Times bestseller list. Novels that she has written have spent over two hundred weeks on the New York Times’ bestseller list.

Order of Grace Valley Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published
1 Deep in the Valley 2000
2 Just Over the Mountain 2002
3 Down by the River 2003

Order of Sullivan's Crossing Series

# Read Title Published
1 What We Find 2016
2 Any Day Now 2017

Order of Virgin River Series

Order of Thunder Point Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Wanderer 2013
2 The Newcomer 2013
3 The Hero 2013
4 The Promise 2014
5 The Chance 2014
6 The Homecoming 2014
7 A New Hope 2015
8 One Wish 2015
9 Wildest Dreams 2015

Order of Robyn Carr Standalone Novels

Order of Robyn Carr Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published
1 Practical Tips for Writing Popular Fiction 1992


# Read Title Published
1 More Than Words, Volume 6 2010
Print: Print PDF

She has written stand alone novels, the “Sullivan’s Crossing” series, the “Thunder Point” series, the “Grace Valley” series, and the “Virgin River” series.


She has been given a RITA, RWA’s Nora Roberts Lifetime Achievement Award (in the year 2016), and RT’s Career Achievement Best Author Award for Contemporary Romance (in the year 2010).


For those readers looking to get into novels by Robyn Carr, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “ Virgin River”, “Shelter Mountain”, and “Whispering Rock”.

Virgin River: This is the first novel in the “Virgin River” series and was released in the year 2007. Melinda Monroe’s husband recently died, and decides to take a job in Virgin River as a midwife and nurse practitioner. She will be able to see the California redwoods and the rivers, making a difference with a free cabin included in the deal. She feels that this might be just the place to escape all the heartache that she has felt. It will also give her the chance to get back to nursing, something that she has missed in all of her time away.

Her high hopes are quickly ruined when she finds that the cabin is in poor shape, the local doctor wants nothing at all to do with her, and the roads in the town are awful. She realizes that she has made a huge mistake, and decides to leave the very next morning.

A tiny baby throws a monkey wrench into all that Mel has planned. Mel finds the baby on a front porch, abandoned, and a former marine sets these new plans in stone. Melinda may have decided to go to Virgin River to escape, but she has actually found a home.

Shelter Mountain: This is the second novel in the “Virgin River” series and was released in the year 2007. John “Preacher” Middleton is closing up the bar when a young mother and her three year old come in out of the rain in October. He knows a crisis when he sees one, he is a marine after all; he can clearly see that she is covered in bruises.

John wants to protect them, and he would like to get payback against whoever did this. He also realizes that the inclination is something much more. Paige Lassiter has started making him (quite the gentle giant) feel things that he never before let himself feel before. Paige’s ex-husband turns up in Virgin River, and John knows that his very own future hangs. Some things are worth fighting for, he knows this from the marine motto of Semper Fidelis (the always faithful part).

Whispering Rock: This is the third novel in the “Virgin River” series and was released in the year 2007. LAPD officer Mike Valenzuela (he is also a decorated US Marine reservist) was wounded while serving, but has been able to heal in Virgin River. He has agreed to become the town’s first police officer, and does it knowing that he needs to settle down. Mike has been divorced twice before, and loves every woman that he comes across; he wants the happiness and life and commitment that his corps buddies have found. Mike would like a woman that is going to tie up his very heart until the end of time.

Brie Sheridan just might be that woman. She works as a prosecutor in Sacramento, who understands how he can be driven to serve and protect people. Virgin River is where she goes to be safe after she almost got killed by a crazed criminal. She is now fearful, although she is quite tough and full of courage. She now has someone that can help her know what it is like to trust someone again. Mike will help do anything that he can to help her get away from all her painful memories.