Rosie Goodwin Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Rosie Goodwin is a British author that writes sagas and general fiction. She was a placement support worker and foster carer. Eventually, she left fostering to write full-time. She only made the transition after she had been published for several years.

Get notified when Rosie Goodwin releases a new book at

Order of Claire McMullen Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Our Little Secret 2007 Description / Buy
2 Crying Shame 2008 Description / Buy

Order of Days Of The Week Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Mothering Sunday 2017 Description / Buy
2 The Little Angel 2017 Description / Buy
3 A Mother's Grace 2018 Description / Buy
4 The Blessed Child 2019 Description / Buy
5 A Maiden's Voyage 2019 Description / Buy
6 A Precious Gift 2019 Description / Buy
7 Time to Say Goodbye 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Dilly's Story Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dilly's Sacrifice 2015 Description / Buy
2 Dilly's Lass 2015 Description / Buy
3 Dilly's Hope 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Precious Stones Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Winter Promise 2020 Description / Buy
2 An Orphan's Journey 2021 Description / Buy
3 A Simple Wish 2021 Description / Buy
4 A Daughter's Destiny 2022 Description / Buy
5 A Season for Hope 2023 Description / Buy

Chronological Order of Precious Stones Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Season for Hope 2023 Description / Buy
2 The Winter Promise 2020 Description / Buy
3 An Orphan's Journey 2021 Description / Buy
4 A Daughter's Destiny 2022 Description / Buy
5 A Simple Wish 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Rosie Goodwin Colouring Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dream Cities 2015 Description / Buy
2 Splendid Cities (Short Story) 2015 Description / Buy
3 Secret London (Short Story) 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Rosie Goodwin Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Bad Apple 2004 Description / Buy
2 No One's Girl 2005 Description / Buy
3 Dancing Till Midnight 2006 Description / Buy
4 Tilly Trotter's Legacy 2006 Description / Buy
5 Moonlight and Ashes 2006 Description / Buy
6 The Mallen Secret 2007 Description / Buy
7 Forsaken 2007 Description / Buy
8 The Sand Dancer 2008 Description / Buy
9 Yesterday's Shadows 2008 Description / Buy
10 The Boy from Nowhere 2009 Description / Buy
11 A Rose Among Thorns 2009 Description / Buy
12 The Lost Soul 2010 Description / Buy
13 The Ribbon Weaver 2010 Description / Buy
14 A Band of Steel 2011 Description / Buy
15 Whispers 2011 Description / Buy
16 The Misfit 2012 Description / Buy
17 The Empty Cradle 2012 Description / Buy
18 Home Front Girls 2013 Description / Buy
19 A Mother's Shame 2013 Description / Buy
20 The Soldier's Daughter 2014 Description / Buy
21 The Mill Girl 2014 Description / Buy
22 The Maid's Courage 2016 Description / Buy
23 A Lesson Learned 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

At that point, writing was no longer a time-consuming hobby. It was her primary passion, and she was determined to give it her all.

As a child, the author read anything and everything she came across. She was also passionate about writing. Goodwin would pen short stories for her children (Biological and Foster) to read.

Her husband kickstarted her career by sending one of her short stories to a magazine. Once they agreed to publish it, he encouraged Goodwin to write a proper novel.

But the author was too busy. She had her children to care for, not to mention the four foster kids and numerous pets that lived with them. Goodwin had no room for a hobby as taxing as writing.

However, her passion for the activity wouldn’t let her rest. And once she finally decided to give writing a shot, she started retreating to the touring caravan in the back garden every evening when the children had gone to bed.

Goodwin wrote her first two and a half novels in this setting. She wrote the manuscripts by hand because the author couldn’t type. That changed later on when she bought a computer and a ‘Typing for Beginners’ disc. Typing simplified the writing process significantly.

Like most first-time authors, Goodwin received her fair share of rejections. Fortunately, her love for storytelling had grown so strong that she couldn’t bring herself to stop.

Instead, she joined The Romantic Novelist’s Association. The organization has a scheme that encourages new writers to submit their manuscripts for literary professionals to read and critique.

Goodwin had two of her manuscripts chosen for a second read, which is where a professional determines that a submitted manuscript is worthy of publication. Before long, she acquired an agent and secured a contract.

Her first novel came out in 2004. Since then, Goodwin has written over a dozen books. She does most of her writing in the evening because everything is quiet, and she has nothing else to do.

As such, she can dedicate herself to her craft without worrying about interruptions. Goodwin loves becoming so wrapped up in her characters and their stories that everything else in her life fades.

The author doesn’t work with outlines. Goodwin frustrates her editor because her novels always differ drastically from the proposals she submits. For that reason, her editor no longer asks for proposals. She doesn’t see the point.

Goodwin gives her characters the freedom to determine the direction of each story. She starts by writing the first draft. Later, she goes back and makes changes that enhance the story before sending the manuscript to her editor.

Best Rosie Goodwin Books

The author is honored to have been the first person chosen to write a follow-up to Catherine Cookson’s trilogies. Goodwin’s best books include:

No One’s Girl: Jane’s father ruined her. To the outside world, Jane was a devoted daughter. No one knew the truth. They couldn’t see the abuse she suffered at the hands of her father.

His unexpected death did little to improve Jane’s mental and emotional state. Incapable of giving or receiving love, she was determined to live an isolated life on her small farm, only emerging long enough to sell her fruit and vegetables.

Alice understood Jane’s pain. Jane met the young runaway on a cold, dark night and immediately recognized her scars. It wasn’t long before they became friends.

But now, Jane is questioning whether she has what it takes to create a loving home for the girl.

Moonlight and Ashes: Maggie hated her husband. The only silver lining in her abusive marriage where the eight-year-old twins and baby girl that made her life worth living. But the Second World War was knocking on their door.

Initially, Maggie saw the war as a blessing because it took her husband away, sending him to the front. But then she was forced to separate from her twins after the authorities evacuated them to North Wales.

She wants to believe that they found a good home. But she isn’t optimistic.

When Does The Next Rosie Goodwin book come out?

Rosie Goodwin doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is A Lesson Learned and was released on February, 16th 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *