S J Rozan Books

S.J. Rozan is an architect born in 1950 and who has become best known for her work as an author of detective and thriller novels. A native of the Bronx in New York where she grew up with her three siblings, Rozan graduated from Oberlin College and went on to pursue further studies from the State University of New York at Buffalo where she acquired her Architecture Master’s Degree.

Order of Lydia Chin & Bill Smith Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Body English (Short Story) 1992 Description / Buy
2 China Trade 1994 Description / Buy
3 Concourse 1995 Description / Buy
4 Mandarin Plaid 1996 Description / Buy
5 No Colder Place 1997 Description / Buy
6 A Bitter Feast 1998 Description / Buy
7 A Tale About a Tiger (Short Story) 1998 Description / Buy
8 Stone Quarry 1999 Description / Buy
9 Reflecting the Sky 2001 Description / Buy
10 Winter And Night 2002 Description / Buy
11 Birds of Paradise (Short Story) 2004 Description / Buy
12 The Shanghai Moon 2009 Description / Buy
13 On the Line 2010 Description / Buy
14 Ghost Hero 2011 Description / Buy
15 Heartbreak (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
16 Prosperity Restaurant (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
17 Double-crossing Delancey (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy
18 Paper Son 2019 Description / Buy

Order of S.J. Rozan Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Absent Friends 2004 Description / Buy
2 In this Rain 2006 Description / Buy
3 Building and Other Stories (Short Story) 2011 Description / Buy
4 Seeing the Moon (Short Story) 2011 Description / Buy

S J Rozan Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Study in Sherlock 2011 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Despite her love for architecture and the qualifications she quickly acquired, Rozan did not immediately pursue the industry. Rather, she did a number of odd jobs, from selling books to baking bread and painting houses. She eventually snagged a position as the project manager of a firm in New York and that set her on the path to financial success.

S.J. Rozan admits that, at that point, she had everything she had been working for. However, she found that she felt no satisfaction in her achievements. It was for that reason that Rozan decided to experiment with writing. The author had indulged in the habit on a number of occasions, this including the time when she worked as a copywriter.

However, it wasn’t until she settled in her position as a project manager that that author finally decided to give writing a serious go. With her sights set on crime fiction, the author set about writing a series of novels about the characters Bill Smith and Lydia Chin.

S.J. Rozan has admitted that she injected a lot of herself into Lydia, which is why the two share so many attributes, such as their energetic personas and optimism. To be more specific, Rozan believes that Lydia represents a younger version of herself, back when she thought the world was a place that could be saved.

Rozan describes Bill Smith as the person she has become at the present, especially when she is having a bad day. According to Rozan, she never knew true contentment until she began to write.

The author’s life doesn’t completely revolve around writing and publishing. S.J. Rozan is also a lecturer and a speaker. Rozan has also garnered a reputation for giving a lot of her time to writers, showing an interest in making an effort to help struggling authors perfect their craft and achieve the success she enjoys.

S.J. Rozan Awards

If awards are a sign of success, then Rozan is definitely a successful author, considering all the accolades she has garnered over the years, this including Shamus awards and Edgar Awards, Macavity Awards, Dily Awards and a whole host of nominations.

Best S.J. Rozan Books

S.J. Rozan contributes a very unique voice to the mystery, suspense and detective genres, with the best books from the author including:

China Trade: Lydia Chin is a Private Investigator that knows how to sniff out trouble. And despite the disapproval of her Chinese Mother, Lydia has made trouble in New York’s Chinatown her business.

Her partner Bill Smith has been living above a bar for more than a decade and it doesn’t look like he intends to leave anytime soon.

Lydia and Bill didn’t think much of their task of finding precious porcelain that was stolen; but that was before a crazed killer was injected into the mix.

The first book in the Lydia and Bill series introduces the likeable duo to readers. Someone has stolen antiques from the Chinatown Pride Museum and Lydia is hired to recover the stolen merchandize.

In order to accomplish her task, Lydia confronts a Chinatown gang, discovering a laundering business with a trail cutting across her entire community. Lydia must try to carefully traverse the complex social-economic landscape of her home even as she contends with the tension exploding between her and Bill.

The Shanghai Moon: There is a difficult case afoot, one that Private Investigator Lydia Chin must cross continents and cultures for when her former mentor Joel Pilarsky asks for her help. When a cache of European Jewelry from the Second World War is discovered and it is determined to have belonged to a Jewish refugee by the names of Rosalie Gilder, Joe is called upon to find the cache when it is stolen.

Joe’s client is a lawyer whose job it is to recover holocaust assets. Lydia’s interest is piqued when she realizes that a highly sought after jewel called the Shanghai Moon might be part of the missing cache.

Before Lydia can make sense of the importance of this new piece of information, she is forced to reconnect with Bill Smith and unravel a winding web of lies when Joe is murdered.

When Does The Next S J Rozan book come out?

S J Rozan doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Paper Son and was released on July, 2nd 2019. It is the newest book in the Lydia Chin & Bill Smith Series.