Sarah MacLean Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Sarah MacLean is an American bestseller that writes YA and romance novels. Born in Lincoln, Rhode Island, in 1978, MacLean started reading romance at a young age. She discovered the genre because of her older sister, who also loved romance.

Get notified when Sarah MacLean releases a new book at

Order of The Bareknuckle Bastards Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Wicked and the Wallflower 2018 Description / Buy
2 Brazen and the Beast 2019 Description / Buy
3 Daring and the Duke 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Hell's Belles Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Bombshell 2021 Description / Buy
2 Heartbreaker 2022 Description / Buy
3 Knockout 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Love By Numbers Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake 2010 Description / Buy
2 Ten Ways to Be Adored When Landing a Lord 2010 Description / Buy
3 Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke's Heart 2011 Description / Buy

Order of The Rules of Scoundrels Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Rogue by Any Other Name 2012 Description / Buy
2 One Good Earl Deserves a Lover 2013 Description / Buy
3 No Good Duke Goes Unpunished 2013 Description / Buy
4 Never Judge a Lady by Her Cover 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Scandal & Scoundrel Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Rogue Not Taken 2015 Description / Buy
2 A Scot in the Dark 2016 Description / Buy
3 The Day of the Duchess 2017 Description / Buy

Order of Sarah MacLean Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Season 2009 Description / Buy

Sarah MacLean Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 How the Dukes Stole Christmas 2018 Description / Buy
2 Naughty Brits 2020 Description / Buy
3 Sword Stone Table: Old Legends, New Voices 2021 Description / Buy
4 Generation Wonder: The New Age of Heroes 2022 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

She knew that she would grow up to write romance novels. As a young adult, the author attended Smith College, where she secured her BA in American Studies.

Eventually, she moved to New York and worked as a literary publicist, but only temporarily. She had to leave to pursue her master’s degree (Education) at Harvard University.

But she came back to New York later on. MacLean was still living in the city when a friend encouraged her to write a story aimed at teens. The result was ‘The Season,’ a YA novel that received several accolades.

MacLean’s first adult romance novel was ‘Nine Rules To Break When Romancing A Rake.’ It was also her second book after ‘The Season.’ She wrote it because the author loves wallflower/rake stories, and she couldn’t wait to pen a book in which a spinster took deliberate action to change her life.

She credits her sister for helping her to create the nine rules. It only took 15 minutes to generate a complete list. The pair spoke on the phone while MacLean walked her dog.

When Alyssa Eisner, her agent, sent the book out, Thanksgiving was just two Thursdays away. She did not expect to hear back from publishers until after the holidays. But to their shock, the first editor called them the following Monday.

The second editor reached out on Tuesday. Before long, the book was being auctioned. By Friday, the Avon Books editorial team met with MacLean to discuss her book and the romance genre as a whole.

The notion of selling her book to Avon appealed to MacLean because she spent her childhood dreaming about the publisher.

‘Nine Rules’ became a bestseller, placing the author on the path to publishing success. While she writes contemporary and YA romance, the author is particularly attached to historical romance.

She loves the exaggerated characters because of the storytelling potential they bring to the table. For that reason, MacLean places special emphasis on the characters whenever she writes a historical romance novel, taking the time to investigate their backstories and the motivations that drive them.

The author is drawn to the romance genre because of the hope and joy it embodies. She loves the fact that romance promises its characters the sort of happy ending that writers rarely enjoy in real life.

It gives people an opportunity to find love regardless of their flaws. MacLean’s books explore the idea of power and the role it plays in the lives of her female characters.

Sarah MacLean Awards

She has won All About Romance Reader, RT Reviewers Choice, and Rita Awards.

Best Sarah MacLean Books

The author spends a lot of time defending the merits of the romance genre. MacLean’s best books include:

Nine Rules To Break When Romancing A Rake: Lady Calpurnia Hartwell understood the rules and had done her best to follow them. Unfortunately, her caution had done little to help her. She was unmarried and unsatisfied.

For that reason, she was determined to change. Hartwell wouldn’t rest until she had broken all the rules. But Hartwell couldn’t implement her plan until she found a willing partner.

Gabriel St. John was a suitable target. The devastatingly handsome Marquess had the sort of wicked reputation Hartwell desired. Unfortunately, the more time she spent in Gabriel’s presence, the more difficult it became to keep her feelings in check.

A Rogue By Any Other Name: The Marquess of Bourne was determined. He lost everything when he was cast out of society. But Bourne survived. In fact, he thrived, making a name for himself in London.

Now, he wants to wed Lady Penelope Marbury. Perfect proper women are hardly his cup of tea. But he only wants Penelope for the purpose she serves in his scheme.

For her part, Penelope is tired. The years of disappointing courtships have worn her down. She is no longer interested in living a quiet life as a married woman. Fortunately, her new husband is more than happy to expose Penelope to a world of pleasure.

When Does The Next Sarah MacLean book come out?

Sarah MacLean doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Knockout and was released on August, 22nd 2023. It is the newest book in the Hell's Belles Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *