Sarah R Shaber Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Sarah R. Shaber is an award winning author from Raleigh, North Carolina. The fact that a notable number of her books feature North Carolina reveals that she still has a lot of fond emotions about the location. The award-winning author attended Duke University as well as the University of North Carolina, Shaber earning multiple degrees during her earliest days.

Get notified when Sarah R Shaber releases a new book at

Order of Louise Pearlie Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Louise's War 2011 Description / Buy
2 Louise's Gamble 2012 Description / Buy
3 Louise's Dilemma 2013 Description / Buy
4 Louise's Blunder 2014 Description / Buy
5 Louise's Chance 2016 Description / Buy
6 Louise's Lies 2016 Description / Buy
7 Louise's Crossing 2019 Description / Buy

Order of Louise Pearlie Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Two Short Stories Featuring Louise Pearlie (Short Story) 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Professor Simon Shaw Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Simon Said 1997 Description / Buy
2 Snipe Hunt 2000 Description / Buy
3 The Fugitive King 2002 Description / Buy
4 The Bug Funeral 2004 Description / Buy
5 Shell Game 2007 Description / Buy

Order of Sarah R Shaber Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Burying Ground 2007 Description / Buy
2 Blood Test 2013 Description / Buy
3 Four Short Stories 2013 Description / Buy

Sarah R Shaber Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Tar Heel Dead 2005 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Before taking to writing, Shaber first worked in advertising. She eventually moved into publishing sales and marketing. It is also worth noting the time she spent legislative lobbying. Things changed in 1996 when Shaber entered the St. Martin’s Press Malice Domestic Context.

Shaber took home the award for Best First Traditional Mystery. It was then that Shaber threw all her work experience and education aside and instead began injecting her time into creating Simon Shaw, the character for which she is most known.

Shaber writes mystery novels, though all her work seems to have a historical aspect. While the Simon Shaw books follow a professor who solves mysteries with a historical element, Louise’s War, the first book in a follow-up series, actually takes place in the past, during World War II to be precise.

Sarah R. Shaber is the editor of Tar Heel Dead.

Sarah R. Shaber Awards

Shaber was the recipient of the St. Martin’s Press/Malice Domestic Award for Best First Traditional Mystery. She won the award for Simon Said, her first mystery novel and the first book in the Simon Shaw series.

Best Sarah R. Shaber Books

Sarah R. Shaber writes very unique novels. They are unique because they are tinged with elements of mystery, with some of the best books she has written and for which she is most recognized including the following:

Snipe Hunt: Professor Simon Shaw is determined to spend Thanksgiving in Pearlie Beach with friends, hopefully having the time of his life. However, a five-decade-old mystery of disappearances and suspicious deaths throws his plans out the window, not to mention all the talk of lost and found treasures.

The remains of a local man dredged from the waters of Pearlie Beach begin it all. The sharp blade of a knife found in his decaying ribs is curious enough. The confederate coins in his hand only draw more suspicion.

With the help of Julia McGloughlin, a police attorney, Simon begins to uncover the seedy secrets of the small town. Simon knows that there is more at stake that buried treasure, and another unsolved murder might be imminent.

Anyone that loves slow-paced mysteries that take their time unfolding is bound to love Snipe Hunt, which provides a lot of historical information about German Submarine crews from WWII coming ashore and the like.

While some readers might try to elevate the first book about Simon Shaw over its sequel, Snipe Hunt definitely stands superior because Simon Shaw isn’t as whiny or over-sensitive, seemingly having overcome his personal tragedy to become a more likable character.

Snipe Hunt definitely feels a little long but Shaber makes every page count, delivering nuggets of history even while explaining their relevance to the current mystery. If the book has one failing, it is the relationship between Simon and Julie. There was very little chemistry between the two characters, a failing that must be attributed to Shaber’s writing.

The history and the mystery make up for the weaknesses in the romance area, though.

Louise’s Gamble: It is 1942. Louise Pearlie is a young widow working as Chief File Clerk at the OSS in Washington, DC. The OSS was the precursor to the CIA. For Louise, there is enjoyment to be found in being an independent, working woman even with the threat of war on the horizon.

Trouble begins to brew when a friendship with Alessa di Luca, a secretive war refugee, drags Louise into a confrontation with the mafia, Nazis, and banished royalty, not to mention the Sicilian Aristocracy.

Soon, Louise’s job and her very life are at stake.

Louise’s War, the first book in this series, is exceptionally entertaining and complex. However, this book is even better. One would be hard-pressed to find a historical mystery today featuring a strong female character.

Every character in this book undergoes very logical and realistic development. The complexities of the story, everything involving the wealthy countess, the Mafia Boss and even the Nazis is brought together by Sarah R. Shaber to form a unique puzzle that entertains and educates.

When Does The Next Sarah R Shaber book come out?

Sarah R Shaber doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Louise's Crossing and was released on May, 1st 2019. It is the newest book in the Louise Pearlie Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *