Scott Lynch Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Scott Lynch is an author from the United States that is best known for ‘The Lies of Locke Lamora’, the first novel in the ‘Gentleman Bastards’ series. Lynch was born in 1978 in Saint Paul, Minnesota.

Get notified when Scott Lynch releases a new book at

Order of Gentleman Bastard Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Lies of Locke Lamora 2006 Description / Buy
2 Red Seas Under Red Skies 2007 Description / Buy
3 The Republic of Thieves 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Scott Lynch Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 In the Stacks (Short Story) 2010 Description / Buy
2 The Effigy Engine (Short Story) 2018 Description / Buy
3 A Year and a Day in Old Theradane (Short Story) 2019 Description / Buy

Scott Lynch Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Rogues 2014 Description / Buy
2 The Long List Anthology 2015 Description / Buy
3 Ex Libris: Stories of Librarians, Libraries, and Lore 2017 Description / Buy
4 The Book of Swords 2017 Description / Buy
5 The Book Of Swords: Part 2 2018 Description / Buy
6 The Book of Magic 2018 Description / Buy
7 KOBOLD Guide to Roleplaying 2024 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

He experimented with several jobs before he published his first novel. That includes washing dishes, waiting tables, designing websites, and writing as a freelancer.

His relationship with Jenny, his future ex-wife, was an important part of his life. Lynch credited Jenny for standing by him for several years, not only reading his stories but providing the constructive criticism he needed.

She was still in his life when Lynch wrote his first novel. Lynch was quite young when he decided that he wanted to write fiction. He was a pre-teen when he attempted to pen his first novel. Though, the attempt was unsuccessful.

Lynch wrote a page and a half before he gave up. For a time, the author hoped to become a comic book artist. However, he did not have the discipline to hone his artistic abilities. So he returned to writing.

Lynch started working on ‘The Lies of Locke Lamora’ in 2000. People that have read the author’s first three novels might be surprised to learn that the series was supposed to start with Book 4. However, Lynch eventually concluded that he did not know the characters well enough to take them on the adventure that awaited them in Book 4.

The first three books were prequels, designed to flesh out the world and the protagonists. The fact that they became such big hits was an accident.

It took Lynch longer than he expected to get ‘The Lies of Locke Lamora’ off the ground. He spent too much time doing research and accumulating large piles of notes. At the time, the author was part of a group of fantasy enthusiasts on the internet.

He kept telling them that he was working on a novel. Lynch said this many times even though he had nothing to show. He was still spinning his wheels. Eventually, his friends gave him an ultimatum. He would either show them what he was working on or shut up.

Lynch responded to their demand by publishing the prologue to his first novel. His friends liked what they saw. Lynch had no idea that one of his online friends was connected to Simon Spanton who worked for Gollancz as an acquiring editor.

Simon saw Lynch’s prologue. He reached out to the author, told him that he liked his writing, and then asked him to submit a few more pages. Lynch responded by writing and sending the first chapter of his manuscript.

Simon was so impressed that he made Lynch an offer, securing the rights to ‘The Lies of Lock Lamora’. For a time, Lynch was happy. He used his advance to move into a new home with Jenny, who was his wife at the time. But his marriage took a turn.

Lynch spent too much time working on his novels. He also struggled with depression. He has admitted that some elements of his inner turmoil influenced characters and events in the ‘Gentleman Bastards’ novels.

Eventually, Jenny and Lynch went their separate ways. For a time, it looked like Lynch had abandoned publishing. Or at the very least, this was the speculation amongst his fans who couldn’t understand why he had gone so long without publishing more novels in the ‘Gentleman Bastards’ series.

By the time Lynch announced his intention to publish ‘The Thorn of Emberlain’, Book 4 in the series, he was married to Elizabeth Bear, a fellow author. Lynch has spoken at length about his struggle with depression.

Scott Lynch Awards

Lynch has received nominations for the British Fantasy Society, World Fantasy, and John W Campbell Awards. He won the British Fantasy Society Award in 2008.

Best Scott Lynch Books

Lynch is a volunteer firefighter who attended Anoka Technical College in the mid-2000s. Lynch’s best novels include:

Lies of Locke Lamora: Once an orphan living in the city of Camorr, Locke is no longer helpless. He escaped slavery to become the leader of the Gentleman Bastards, one of Camorr’s most nefarious gangs.

Locke always succeeds because he has unwavering confidence in his abilities. But he is about to clash with a foe whose ambition eclipses his own.

Red Seas Under Red Skies: Locke and Jean left Camorr following a bittersweet victory over an enemy that had taken everything from them. But Locke is determined to rebuild, which is why he has set his sights on the world’s most exclusive gambling house.

Locke and Jean are determined to swindle their way into the vault of Requin, the master of the Sinspire. But someone who knows their secret is about to ruin everything.

When Does The Next Scott Lynch book come out?

Scott Lynch doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is A Year and a Day in Old Theradane and was released on June, 26th 2019. It is the newest book in the Scott Lynch Short Stories/Novellas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *