Scott Turow Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Author Scott Frederick Turow was born in Chicago, Illinois on April 12, 1949, and is of Russian Jewish descent. He attended the creative writing center at Stanford from 1970 until 1972, after getting an Edith Mirrielees Fellowship. He was a Jones Lecturer while at Stanford, and served in this role until the year 1975, before going off to Harvard Law School.

Get notified when Scott Turow releases a new book at

Order of Kindle County Legal Thriller Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Presumed Innocent 1986 Description / Buy
2 The Burden of Proof 1990 Description / Buy
3 Pleading Guilty 1993 Description / Buy
4 The Laws Of Our Fathers 1996 Description / Buy
5 Personal Injuries 1999 Description / Buy
6 Reversible Errors 2002 Description / Buy
7 Limitations 2006 Description / Buy
8 Innocent 2010 Description / Buy
9 Identical 2013 Description / Buy
10 Testimony 2017 Description / Buy
11 The Last Trial 2020 Description / Buy
12 Suspect 2022 Description / Buy
13 Presumed Guilty 2025 Description / Buy

Order of Presumed Innocent Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Presumed Innocent 1986 Description / Buy
2 Innocent 2010 Description / Buy
3 Presumed Guilty 2025 Description / Buy

Order of Scott Turow Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Ordinary Heroes 2005 Description / Buy

Order of Scott Turow Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 One L 1977 Description / Buy
2 Ultimate Punishment 2003 Description / Buy
3 Surviving Justice ( With: Dave Eggers) 2005 Description / Buy

Scott Turow Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Crown Crime Companion 1995 Description / Buy
2 Guilty as Charged 1996 Description / Buy
3 Great Writers and Kids Write Mystery Stories 1996 Description / Buy
4 Writers on Writing 2001 Description / Buy
5 Their World is Law 2002 Description / Buy
6 The Best American Mystery Stories 2006 2006 Description / Buy
7 Hard Listening: The Greatest Rock Band Ever (of Authors) Tells All 2013 Description / Buy
8 Suspense Magazine December 2013 2013 Description / Buy
9 By the Book 2014 Description / Buy
10 California Schemin' 2020 Description / Buy
11 Fight of the Century 2020 Description / Buy
12 Low Down Dirty Vote: Volume II: Every stolen vote is a crime 2020 Description / Buy
13 Fourteen Days: An Unauthorized Gathering 2024 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

After graduating cum laude with a Juris Doctor in the year 1978, he began working as Assistant U.S. Attorney in the city of Chicago, and served in the position before leaving in year 1986. During his time as a lawyer, he was able to Alejandro released after he spent over a decade on death row for a crime he did not commit. This was for one of his pro bono cases, which most of Turow’s cases are.

He writes legal thrillers, the first of which was published in the year 1987 and was called “Presumed Innocent”. His first book, “One L”, is a non fiction book that chronicles his first year of law school. His work has been published into over forty languages, and sold over thirty million copies.


Three of Turow’s novels have been turned into movies, and include: “Presumed Innocent”, “Reversible Errors”, and “The Burden of Proof”, which are all from his “Kindle County” series. Another of the books, “Innocent”, was adapted into a television program on TNT.


For those readers looking to get into works by Scott Turow, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “Presumed Innocent”, “Limitations”, and “Innocent”.

Presumed Innocent: This is the first novel in the “Kindle County” series and was released in the year 1987. Rusty Sabich (the chief deputy prosecuting attorney) is in a big city in the mid west. His boss is trying to get re-elected and is entrenched in a bitter campaign. One of his fellow prosecutors, named Carolyn Polhemus, has just been killed in a brutal way. Rusty needs results, while handling the investigation of her case. He has to solve it before election day. And before the affair he was having with Carolyn is found out.

Election day brings into the office another prosecuting attorney. It is one of Rusty’s political enemies that wants Rusty off his post. This man has been doing his own investigation in secret, and has discovered that Rusty and Carolyn had a relationship with each other. He takes Rusty off the case and arrests him for her murder.

He is now faced with a long court battle. Both sides are going to twist the evidence at hand to try to win the case, and try anything and everything so that they will win. Rusty’s trial is going to reveal depravity, corruption, deceit, and incompetence. Who actually killed Carolyn Polhemus?

Limitations: This is the seventh novel in the “Kindle County” series and was released in the year 2006. George Mason’s life seems like it is going pretty well so far. His time defending criminals is gone behind him now. At the age of 59, he has been a Appeals Court Judge in Kindle County for almost ten years now.

A worrying rape case is brought to his courtroom, and Mason starts questioning the law and his own role. Why is he so troubled? Could it be the recent diagnosis his wife just got? Or those strange emails that he has started getting? Why has this very case of sexual assault caused him to wonder his fitness to judge a trial?

Innocent: This is the eighth novel in the “Kindle County” series and was released in the year 2010. The year is 2008, and this takes place after “Presumed Innocent”. Ex-lawyer turned chief appellate judge in Kindle County, Rusty Sabich is suspected of killing another woman that was close to him. Barbara (Rusty’s wife) appears to have died of natural causes in her bed. Tommy Molto, who is the acting prosecuting attorney and Rusty’s nemesis, puts him under scrutiny. Tommy was unsuccessful of prosecuting him before for murdering his mistress decades back.

Jim Brand (who is Tommy’s chief deputy) becomes suspicious of the fact that Rusty told no one about her dying for a day. He did not even tell their son. It might have allowed any poison given to her time to disappear. Certain things going on in Rusty’s life make it tougher for him. He’s got his campaign for higher court in a coming election, a judicial ethics breach, and a secret affair with Anna Vostic (Rusty’s attractive law clerk).

When Does The Next Scott Turow book come out?

The next book by Scott Turow is Presumed Guilty and will be released on January, 14th 2025. It is the newest book in the The Half Bad Trilogy Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *