Scott William Carter Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Scott William Carter is American bestselling author who writes in various genres including, mystery, young adult, and fantasy. The author was born in Minnesota but raised in Oregon’s Willamette Valley. Before his writing career, Carter operated a bookstore, worked as a computer trainer and a ski instructor. Carter went to the University of Oregon, and in 1994, he graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in English. He is currently a resident of Oregon, married and a father of two children, a son, and a daughter.

Order of Garrison Gage Series

1The Gray and Guilty Sea (As: Jack Nolte) 2010Description / Buy
2A Plunder by Pilgrims (Short Story) (As: Jack Nolte) 2010Description / Buy
3A Desperate Place for Dying (As: Jack Nolte) 2012Description / Buy
4The Lovely Wicked Rain (As: Jack Nolte) 2014Description / Buy
5A Shroud of Tattered Sails 2015Description / Buy
6A Lighthouse for the Lonely Heart 2017Description / Buy
7Bury the Dead in Driftwood 2019Description / Buy

Order of Lost Lands of Rymadoon Series

1Drawing a Dark Way 2011Description / Buy
2A Tale of Two Giants 2011Description / Buy

Order of Myron Vale Investigations Series

1The Haunted Breadbox (Short Story) 2013Description / Buy
2Ghost Detective 2013Description / Buy
3The Ghost Who Said Goodbye 2015Description / Buy
4The Ghost, the Girl, and the Gold 2016Description / Buy

Order of Scott William Carter Standalone Novels

1President Jock, Vice President Geek 2010Description / Buy
2The Last Great Getaway of the Water Balloon Boys 2010Description / Buy
3The Care and Feeding of Rubber Chickens 2012Description / Buy
4Wooden Bones 2012Description / Buy
5The Castle on the Hill at the Edge of the World 2019Description / Buy

Order of Scott William Carter Short Stories/Novellas

1The Liberators (Short Story) 2009Description / Buy
2Heart of Stone (Short Story) 2009Description / Buy
3Tommy Top Hat (Short Story) 2010Description / Buy
4The Red Scarf (Short Story) 2010Description / Buy
5Lincoln and the Dragon (Short Story) 2010Description / Buy
6The Dragon of the Dolomites (Short Story) 2011Description / Buy
7The Android Who Became a Human Who Became an Android (Short Story) 2011Description / Buy
8Last Stop on Dowling Street (Short Story) 2011Description / Buy

Order of Scott William Carter Short Story Collections

1The Dinosaur Diaries and Other Tales Across Space and Time 2010Description / Buy
2Web Of Black Widows (Short Story) 2010Description / Buy
3The Unity Worlds at War (Short Story) 2011Description / Buy
4Tales of Twisted Time (Short Story) 2011Description / Buy
5Strange Ghosts (Short Story) 2011Description / Buy
6Strange Romance (Short Story) 2012Description / Buy
7The Man Who Made No Mistakes 2012Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Carter has published several short series such as Myron Vale series and Garrison Gage series. Furthermore, he has also issued stand-alone novels and short stories as well.


Carter was the winner of the 2011 Oregon Book Award for Young Adult novel category for his book, The Last Great Getaway of the Water Balloon Boys.


These are two best books by Scott William Carter, The Gray and Guilty Sea and A Desperate Place for Dying. The novels revolve around a lead character Garrison Gage whom many people refer to him as an iconoclast, a curmudgeon, and a loner but that is when they are charitable. Unfortunately, after his wife’s brutal murder, he is forced to retreat thousands of miles to the coastal town of Barnacle Bluffs Oregon.

The Gray and Guilty Sea: In this first novel of Garrison Gage series, we meet Garrison Gage a lone and a curmudgeon. He could be an ill tempered man, but it is unclear how old he is. He lives in Barnacle Bluffs Oregon, and for the last half a decade, he worked as a private investigator in New York city when his wife was brutally murdered, and he has been severely injured, and now he has to use a cane to move around.

Moreover, most of the time when he is not blaming himself for his wife’s death he solves crossword puzzles and takes walks on the beach. When the story opens up, he is taking one of these walks when he comes across the body of a teenage girl.

The discovery of this young woman body starts blasting the cocoon that Garrison has built for himself. He becomes obsessed in wanting to find out the person who killed her. Along the way, this case becomes the instrument towards self-discovery for the former private investigator. He realizes that as hard as he wanted to remain a loner in the past few years, there were still people who cared about him. In fact, the truth is that he wants and needs this person in his life. He is not the only person whom life has offered tragedy, and difficulties, others too have experienced the same and recovery is not possible more so when you confine yourself in a cocoon.

Carter is a great author; he does it well, he knows how to develop character, how to write and how to simulate time and place without giving too many spoilers or relying too much on a single theme. This novel is carefully crafted, and the description of Oregon coasts a perfectly done.

A Desperate Place for Dying: It has been almost a year since Garrison Gage became a seldom guardian of the troubled teenage girl, but neither his acquired fatherhood skills nor the intervening months have changed his moods. His right knee somehow makes him worthless and also prefers drinking his bourbon alone. Even with a blonde bombshell in his life, he still cannot dare buy a cell phone or even any phone in that case. Somebody might give him a call.

His life on the Oregon Coast is somehow getting comfortable until a man who brutally killed his wife shows up in the local town.

A desperate plea from his first love, an old flame soon gets Garrison entangled in one high profile case involving a crazy cult that makes use of all possible tactics to silence its critics, a famous and outspoken lecturer on atheism and evolution, and a murder case that seemingly appears to be of personal nature. Before this mystery puzzle can be solved, Garrison’s beliefs and abilities will be subjected to the ultimate test. Moreover, the man who thinks that he does not need anyone might discover that he might lose almost everything.

When Does The Next Scott William Carter book come out?

Scott William Carter doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Bury the Dead in Driftwood and was released on August, 11th 2019. It is the newest book in the Garrison Gage Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *