Shannon Messenger Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Shannon Messenger is a bestselling author from the United States that writes novels for children and young adults. She is best known for the ‘Sky Fall’ and ‘Keeper of the Lost Cities’ books.

Get notified when Shannon Messenger releases a new book at

Order of Keeper of the Lost Cities Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Keeper of the Lost Cities 2012 Description / Buy
2 Exile 2013 Description / Buy
3 Everblaze 2014 Description / Buy
4 Neverseen 2015 Description / Buy
5 Lodestar 2016 Description / Buy
6 Nightfall 2017 Description / Buy
7 Flashback 2018 Description / Buy
8 Legacy 2019 Description / Buy
9 Unlocked (Short Story) 2020 Description / Buy
10 Stellarlune 2022 Description / Buy
11 Unraveled 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Keeper of the Lost Cities: The Graphic Novels Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Keeper of the Lost Cities The Graphic Novel Part 1: Volume 1 ( With: Celina Frenn) 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Sky Fall Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Let the Sky Fall 2013 Description / Buy
2 Let the Storm Break 2014 Description / Buy
3 Let the Wind Rise 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

A native of Southern California where she was born in 1981, Shannon attended the University of Southern California School of Cinematic Arts. When she was a child, Shannon did not dream of becoming a published author.

She enjoyed her English classes. However, the author wasn’t particularly interested in writing. At the time, she was too busy drawing. Shannon loved Disneyland and stories with Princesses. She was convinced that she would grow up to become a Disney animator.

Shannon was so serious about her dreams that she became an art major in college. It did not take her long to realize that she did not have the aptitude for art.

The author found that she could never reproduce on paper the amazing images she often saw in her mind. The pictures she drew fell far below the standard she wanted to attain. Rather than abandoning art altogether, Shannon took what she thought would be a short break by enrolling in a Broadcast Writing and Production class.

She never went back to her art class. Shannon’s new class changed everything for the author. It allowed her to stretch her writing muscles which, in turn, showed her that she could use her words to reproduce on the page the ideas she had envisioned in her mind in ways that had eluded her in her art class.

Shannon was forced to accept that writing was her calling, not drawing. She was fortunate enough to land a professor who saw and nurtured her talent. The professor in question pushed Shannon to experiment with screenwriting, which is what she did.

The author changed her major to film. She expected to pursue a long and lucrative career in Hollywood. She was wrong. In fact, by the time she left college, Shannon had already concluded that she wasn’t suited for Hollywood.

The various jobs she landed in the industry in the months that followed did little to change her tune. She hated them all. She was eventually forced to get a regular job, one that she did not hate and which she could rely on to pay her bills.

That should have marked the end of Shannon’s time in the limelight. For all intent and purpose, she was happy living in the suburbs with her cats. But her mind wouldn’t let her rest. It kept churning out stories.

She ignored them for a time. But finally, she surrendered to the voices and recreated the stories on paper. It took her years to write and publish her first novel. But once it was released, she started producing new novels at a much faster pace.

Shannon Messenger Awards

Shannon received the California Young Reader Medal (Middle School, Junior, High) in 2017.

Best Shannon Messenger Books

‘Messenger’ is not Shannon’s maiden name. She got it from her husband. Even though the pair divorced, the author kept using the name because it was already associated with the ‘Keeper of the Lost Cities’ series. Shannon’s best novels include:

Keeper of the Los Cities: Sophie Foster thought she was the only one. The 12-year-old could read minds. She had never met anyone who shared her gift. But then Fitz came along.

The mysterious boy was just like Sophie. He could read minds. More importantly, he came from a place where people like Sophie were welcomed. Fitz revealed to Sophie the true nature of her abilities. He also showed her why she couldn’t stay home.

Doing so would have placed her family in danger. So Sophie left everything she knew to start over in a new world. But things were not quite what they seemed. Some people were far from thrilled that Sophie had joined their ranks. Others were desperate to unlock the secret hidden within her memories.

Exile: Sophie was finally home. And she was safe, or so she thought. The girl was surrounded by her friends, people that cared for her. She also had a teacher that had trained her to master her abilities.

But her kidnappers were still on the loose, waiting for an opportunity to strike again. Sophie must uncover her hidden memories before it is too late.

When Does The Next Shannon Messenger book come out?

The next book by Shannon Messenger is Unraveled and will be released on November, 12th 2024. It is the newest book in the Keeper of the Lost Cities Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *