Sharon Bolton Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Sharon Bolton, who previously wrote under the name S. J. Bolton, is a quinquagenarian English woman of letters. Bolton, who was born in 1960 in Lancashire, England, did not harbor any writing ambition during her childhood. She aspired to be an actress and a dancer instead. She relocated to London and started working in the public relations sector hard on the heels of receiving her postgraduate degree from Warwick University.

Get notified when Sharon Bolton releases a new book at

Order of The Craftsman Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Craftsman 2018 Description / Buy
2 Alive (Short Story) 2018 Description / Buy
3 The Buried / The Poisoner 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Lacey Flint Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Now You See Me 2011 Description / Buy
2 Dead Scared 2012 Description / Buy
3 Like This, For Ever / Lost 2013 Description / Buy
4 A Dark and Twisted Tide 2014 Description / Buy
5 If Snow Hadn't Fallen 2014 Description / Buy
6 Here Be Dragons (Short Story) 2016 Description / Buy
7 The Dark 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Sharon Bolton Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Awakening 2007 Description / Buy
2 Sacrifice 2008 Description / Buy
3 Blood Harvest 2010 Description / Buy
4 Little Black Lies 2015 Description / Buy
5 Daisy in Chains 2016 Description / Buy
6 Dead Woman Walking 2017 Description / Buy
7 The Split 2020 Description / Buy
8 The Pact 2021 Description / Buy
9 The Fake Wife 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Sharon Bolton Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Lacey's Wedding (Short Story) 2017 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

She has penned a considerable number of standalone books and the notable police procedural-oriented Lacey Flint series. To begin with, Sharon Bolton debuted in 2008 and her first book is titled Sacrifice. It was among the books which she wrote under the name S. J. Bolton. In the context of the series, the first edition of her first book in her serialized work was initially published in early 2011, titled Now You See Me; and this series and, better still, the author’s niche, is shelved under the mystery, thriller, crime, and suspense genres.

The first book in the serialized Lacey Flint, Now You See Me, revolves around a murder which evokes memories of one of United Kingdom’s historic serial murderers. The launching pad of the book is a hapless female who has been stabbed in a pitch-dark car park. Moreover, the mysterious killer sends a letter to a journalist which mentions Lacey Flint’s name. Since the murder is eerily like a historic one and has the gory signature of a notorious past murderer, it means that the current killer should be apprehended within several days lest he strike yet again.

Sharon Bolton Awards and Accolades

Some of Sharon Bolton’s books have clinched awards and received accolades. For instance, Bolton’s debut novel, Sacrifice, featured in the “Best New Read” section of the soon after its publication. What’s more, the 2013 book titled Like This, For Ever, and which is the third in the Lacey Flint series, was hailed as “Best Contemporary Thriller” by RT Magazine.

However, the aforementioned accolades are overshadowed by the following awards. Bolton clinched the Mary Higgins Clark literary award in 2010 by virtue of her book titled Awakening; the aforementioned book, the 2010 book Blood Harvest, and the 2012 book Dead Scared were also shortlisted for the Barry Award in the Best British Crime Novel category in 2010, 2011, and 2013, respectively. She clinched the French literary award called Plume de Bronze in 2014 for the book entitled Now You See Me. In 2009, her debut book was nominated by for the ITW Thriller Award in the Best First Novel category. She also clinched the CWA Dagger award in 2014 which clinched courtesy of her bibliography.

Sharon Bolton Books into TV Shows and Movies

There is a film adaptation of one of Sharon Bolton’s books. Her 2008 book Sacrifice was adapted for the screen; the adaptation, was produced in 2016 and by Luminous Pictures Inc., and is also titled Sacrifice. The said thriller movie starred Radha Mitchell and co-starred Rupert Graves; the former appeared as Dr Tora Hamilton while the latter played as Duncan Guthrie.

Best Sharon Bolton Books

Sacrifice: The first one is the debut–Sacrifice; set in Shetland, Scotland, it features returnees who, after two decades away, come back and chance upon a recently buried mother in the compound of their newly acquired home. Obstetrician Tora Hamilton starts sleuthing against the better judgment of others.

Awakening: The second one is Awakening. Hereby, an adult has died after apparently being bitten by a snake; however, the concentration of the snake venom is exceedingly high and suspicious because one snake cannot produce such a quantity; a snake expert is in the case and a plausible explanation might be a savage age-old ritual. Another notable book is Now You See Me and has been explained above.

Other Books You May Like

The following book series also caught the attention of readers who read the Sharon Bolton’s books. The first is called “Maeve Kerrigan” series authored by Jane Cassey; it features a determined and youngish London-based constable-cum-detective.

The second one is named “Ruth Galloway” series and is penned by Elly Griffiths. Ruth Galloway is the featured protagonist; she is an expert archaeologist with two pet cats and staying in a lodge by a tidal marsh.

The “Shetland Island” series penned by Ann Cleeves. Jimmy Perez, who is an inspector, is the protagonist in this Shetland Islands-based series.

When Does The Next Sharon Bolton book come out?

Sharon Bolton doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Fake Wife and was released on November, 9th 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *