Sharon Creech Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Sharon Creech is the name of a septuagenarian American author. Creech, who was born in 1945, hails from Ohio, US. Her literary works have the hallmarks of her childhood adventures and family. For instance, characterization; the characters in her books are based on her siblings, especially the brothers. Furthermore, in her family’s quest for visiting far-flung relatives, they often traveled to Kentucky; an example, the real-life Bybanks appears in her works. The desire to start telling stories gnawed at her soon after she studied literature and undertook a writing program in college. She also authored the Jack Series whose first book was initially published in 2001.

Get notified when Sharon Creech releases a new book at

Order of Jack Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Love That Dog 2001 Description / Buy
2 Hate That Cat 2008 Description / Buy

Order of Sharon Creech Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Absolutely Normal Chaos 1990 Description / Buy
2 Walk Two Moons 1994 Description / Buy
3 Pleasing the Ghost / The Ghost of Uncle Arvie 1996 Description / Buy
4 Chasing Redbird 1997 Description / Buy
5 Bloomability 1998 Description / Buy
6 The Wanderer 2000 Description / Buy
7 Ruby Holler 2002 Description / Buy
8 Granny Torrelli Makes Soup 2003 Description / Buy
9 Heartbeat 2004 Description / Buy
10 Replay 2005 Description / Buy
11 The Castle Corona 2007 Description / Buy
12 The Unfinished Angel 2009 Description / Buy
13 The Great Unexpected 2012 Description / Buy
14 The Boy on the Porch 2013 Description / Buy
15 Moo 2016 Description / Buy
16 Saving Winslow 2018 Description / Buy
17 One Time 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Sharon Creech Picture Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Fishing in the Air 2000 Description / Buy
2 A Fine, Fine School 2001 Description / Buy
3 Who's That Baby? 2005 Description / Buy

Sharon Creech Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Acting Out 2008 Description / Buy
2 One Minute till Bedtime 2016 Description / Buy
3 Guys Read: Heroes & Villains 2017 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

All in all, Sharon Creech has been writing ardently ever since she debuted in the 1990s. Creech’s debut book was titled Absolutely Normal Chaos, published in 1990; the book is a fictionalized account of their household which was characterized by raucous children. The said book– plus her niche– is shelved as the marvelous realism, juvenile literature, fantasy, and realistic fiction genres.

Sharon Creech Awards

Author Sharon Creech has clinched many awards and been nominated repeatedly for her books. For instance, between 1995 and 1997, her 1994 book titled Walk Two Moons clinched the Newbery Medal, Oklahoma Sequoyah (Young Adult category), and WH Smith Literary awards. Furthermore, the said book was nominated twice: for the Rebecca Caudill Young Reader’s Book and the Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children’s Book awards.

The 2001 book titled Love That Dog won the Zilveren Griffel, Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children’s Book, New Mexico Land of Enchantment Award for Young Adults, and Claudia Lewis awards in 2007, 2003, 2004, and 2002, respectively. Moreover, in 2004, it was among the nominees concerning the Rebecca Caudill Young Reader’s Book literary award. The 2002 book titled Ruby Holler was, in 2005, nominated for the Rebecca Caudill Young Reader’s Book Award; the 1997 book called Chasing Redbird was nominated for this in 1999.In 2002 and 2005, Ruby Holler clinched the Carnegie Medal and New Mexico Land of Enchantment Award for Young Adults, respectively.

Other notable literary awards won include the Book Sense Book of the Year Honor Book for Children’s Literature in 2001, courtesy of her 2000 book The Wanderer. In 2000, the aforementioned book also clinched the Parents’ Choice Award. In 1999, Creech’s 1998 book titled Bloomability clinched the Children’s Choices Award.

Sharon Creech Books into TV Shows and Movies

American actress Abigail Kathleen Breslin secured the film rights of Creech’s book called Ruby Holler, shortly after being among the coveted Academy Award nominees. There is a 2008 film called Love That Dog and starred Rick LaPointe who played himself.

Best Sharon Creech Books

The following is a selection of the best Sharon Creech’s works.

Walk Two Moons: The first is the book titled Walk Two Moons; hereby, a teenage female called Sal is accompanying grandparents in an adventurous journey while trying to trace Sal’s missing mother.

Bloomability: The second one is the 1998 book called Bloomability. Hereby, a teenage called Dinnie is abducted by her aunt and uncle, and enrolled in a foreign boarding school; Dinnie, who is yet to know herself, has to adapt to her new place and thus starts blooming.

Ruby Holler: The third is the book called Ruby Holler. It features two twins-cum-orphans called Dallas and Florida who aspire to live in an adoring household; luckily for them, they meet an elderly couple and the four of them live in an appealing somewhat mystifying place called Ruby Holler.

Other Book Series You May Like

Readers who liked Sharon Creech’s books were also impressed by the following series of books. The first one is titled “Rules of the Road” series and is authored by Joan Bauer. Protagonist Jenna Boller is a superb saleswoman who is having a hard time because of his alcoholic father; as such, it is a godsend when her employer appoints her as her personal driver and both embark on an adventurous and eventful leave.

The second one is “May Amelia” series and is penned by Jennifer L. Holm. Protagonist May Amelia is the sole female child among seven brothers and, because there is no other girl in the vicinity, she cannot resist living like the boys to the chagrin of her parents; so when her mother gets pregnant, she starts hoping for a kid sister. The third one is the “Pacy” series penned by Grace Lin; it chronicles the times of a certain Pacy family in the Far East wherein the language, communication, and culture are a contrast of their home country.

When Does The Next Sharon Creech book come out?

Sharon Creech doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is One Time and was released on September, 8th 2020.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *