Sherry Thomas Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Sherry Thomas is an American author that writes historical and contemporary romance and YA. Born in 1975 in Qingdao, Shandong, Sherry was still quite young when her mother journeyed to the US to study. The author was 13 when she moved to the US following her grandmother’s death.

Get notified when Sherry Thomas releases a new book at

Order of The Elemental Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Burning Sky 2013 Description / Buy
2 The Perilous Sea 2014 Description / Buy
3 The Immortal Heights 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Fitzhugh Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Beguiling the Beauty 2012 Description / Buy
2 Ravishing the Heiress 2012 Description / Buy
3 The Bride of Larkspear (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
4 Tempting the Bride 2012 Description / Buy
5 A Dance in Moonlight (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy
6 Claiming the Duchess (Short Story) 2014 Description / Buy

Order of The Heart of Blade Duology Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Hidden Blade 2014 Description / Buy
2 My Beautiful Enemy 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Lady Sherlock Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Study in Scarlet Women 2016 Description / Buy
2 A Conspiracy in Belgravia 2017 Description / Buy
3 The Hollow of Fear 2018 Description / Buy
4 The Art of Theft 2019 Description / Buy
5 Murder on Cold Street 2020 Description / Buy
6 Miss Moriarty, I Presume? 2021 Description / Buy
7 A Tempest at Sea 2023 Description / Buy
8 A Ruse of Shadows 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Lady Sherlock Short Stories/Novellas Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Charlotte Holmes and the Locked Box (Short Story) 2017 Description / Buy

Order of The London Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Private Arrangements 2008 Description / Buy
2 His at Night 2010 Description / Buy
3 The Luckiest Lady in London 2013 Description / Buy

Order of The Marsdens Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Delicious 2008 Description / Buy
2 Not Quite a Husband 2009 Description / Buy

Order of A Ballad of Mulan Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Magnolia Sword 2019 Description / Buy

Order of Sherry Thomas Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The One in My Heart 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Sherry Thomas Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Heart Is a Universe (Short Story) 2017 Description / Buy

Sherry Thomas Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Midnight Scandals 2012 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Learning English at that age was not easy. Her great aunt had given her a thick Chinese dictionary when she was in China. Sherry loved words, so she did not hesitate to read the dictionary.

However, the language barrier was still an obstacle she had to overcome when she moved to the United States. The author started by finding and reading all the Chinese-language books the Chinese students at her mother’s school had to offer.

Later on, she started reading historical romance and science fiction. Her reading sessions often included her dictionary. By the time she was 18, the author had a decent grasp of the English language.

But that doesn’t mean she was ready to write fiction. In fact, the notion of writing and publishing stories had never occurred to Sherry. She came from a family of scientists.

Writing was not a practical career for the author to pursue. Even if she had wanted to write fiction, she had no idea how to craft publishable stories. The author would occasionally create stories to entertain her friends.

But she couldn’t get past the first act. Sherry knew how her stories started, but she had tried and failed to figure out what came after. Any thoughts she had of honing her craft went out the window when her child came along.

The infant derailed her educational plans. The author was in her early 20s. She remembers reading a romance novel and realizing that she could do better. So, she sat down and wrote her first manuscript.

Her publishing journey was grueling. She spent the next eight years submitting manuscripts and receiving rejections until the right people got a hold of her work and offered Sherry a contract.

She chose to target historical romance because it had higher stakes than contemporary romance. Marriage in ancient times was not a frivolous thing. You couldn’t reverse it.

As such, every decision her protagonists made had lasting consequences. Sherry enjoys the life she lives as a published author. She doesn’t have to get dressed to go to the office every morning.

Additionally, she gets a lot of joy from the writing process. The fact that she gets paid to tell stories is an incredible blessing. Although, her job has its pitfalls.

Some of the stories Sherry writes do not always gel the way she wants. Sherry can tell that a manuscript is fighting her because she won’t detect the emotional truth she expects to see in every romance novel, no matter how many pages she writes.

Fortunately, she has a talented editor that is more than happy to correct her when she makes mistakes.

Sherry Thomas Awards

Sherry has received Rita and Barry Award nominations. She has also won Rita and All About Romance Reader Awards.

Best Sherry Thomas Books

The author has been praised for her graceful musical style. Sherry’s best books include:

A Study In Scarlet Women: Charlotte Holmes did not care for the demands to which society expected her to adhere. However, that doesn’t mean she wanted to become a social outcast.

But she did not have a choice in the matter. People were dead, and her sister and father were the prime suspects. Charlotte was forced to take action. But because of society’s expectations, she had to hide her efforts by taking on the guise of Sherlock Holmes.

The Burning Sky: Iolanthe was supposed to save the world. The prophecies said that she would defeat the Bane. But that was a tall order. No other mage was more powerful than the tyrant.

Even though others had labeled her the greatest elemental mage, Iolanthe was just 16 and did not have the training to defeat her fearsome foe. While she made preparations for the coming battle, Prince Titus was tasked with protecting her.

To Titus, Iolanthe was a tool, a means to an end. He wanted to use the girl to avenge his family. But then he fell in love with her, and everything changed.

When Does The Next Sherry Thomas book come out?

Sherry Thomas doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is A Ruse of Shadows and was released on June, 25th 2024. It is the newest book in the Lady Sherlock Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *