Sofie Ryan Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Sofie Ryan writes mystery novels. She is responsible for the Second Chance Cat Mystery series. Writing was not Sofie’s first career of choice. She started writing at a young age.

Get notified when Sofie Ryan releases a new book at

Order of Second Chance Cat Mystery Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Whole Cat and Caboodle 2014 Description / Buy
2 Buy a Whisker 2015 Description / Buy
3 A Whisker of Trouble 2016 Description / Buy
4 Telling Tails 2017 Description / Buy
5 The Fast and the Furriest 2018 Description / Buy
6 No Escape Claws 2019 Description / Buy
7 Claw Enforcement 2020 Description / Buy
8 Undercover Kitty 2021 Description / Buy
9 Totally Pawstruck 2022 Description / Buy
10 Scaredy Cat 2023 Description / Buy
11 Fur Love or Money 2024 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

In fact, Sofie can’t think of a time when she wasn’t writing. She took part in a poetry contest in third grade, winning third place. She also experimented with radio commercials and short stories. But she will be the first person to tell you that her short stories could have been better.

Sofie is not surprised that she couldn’t get them published. Ultimately, writing was not her target. Her goal was to direct movies after moving to California. But after trying her hand at short stories, articles, and commercials, it was only natural for her to take an interest in fiction.

Sofie keeps telling everyone who asks that she doesn’t have any secrets to offer where writing and publishing are concerned. From what she has seen, you write books by being disciplined. That means sitting down and writing until your manuscript is finished.

She doesn’t subscribe to the idea of waiting to acquire inspiration before writing. At the very least, the approach doesn’t work for her. Sofie makes outlines for every novel she writes.

She also tries to write a specific number of words daily. Some days are easy. But many of them are incredibly challenging. However, Sofie doesn’t allow those challenges to stop her.

Her ideas come from everywhere. She has admitted to eavesdropping in public. Some of the things she overhears spark ideas. She will also watch people, going so far as to concoct stories about their lives.

Her fans might be surprised to learn that she does a lot of research. The author loved math and science in school. She also secured degrees in biology and education.

Her studies taught Sofie to appreciate research. She had a professor who encouraged her to nurture a curious mind by asking as many questions as possible about every piece of information she encountered.
Another instructor told her that mistakes had more to teach her than success. She took their advice to heart. The author uses those skills to search for and analyze information.

Additionally, Sofie is not afraid to seek out experiences associated with the various topics in her books. For instance, she visited a cat show to prepare for ‘Undercover Kitty.’

The experience was surprisingly entertaining because she was surrounded by friendly people and their cats. The people answered every question she asked. Because her books have a lot of humor, readers think Sofie is funny, but that couldn’t be further from the truth.

The author describes herself as a serious person. She took inspiration from a playwright called Norm Foster. He taught her to observe everything because humor comes from the things that happen around people every day.

Best Sofie Ryan Books

The author’s real name is Darlene Ryan. ‘Sofie Ryan’ is a pen name. Sofi’s best books include:

The Whole Cat and Caboodle: Sarah Grayson runs a charming shop that sells refurbished and repurposed items. Nothing makes Sarah happier than Elvis, her big black cat. Their encounter was unexpected.

The pair have kept one another company ever since Elvis jumped into Sarah’s truck.

Maddie is not as fortunate as Sarah. A dead body was just discovered in her garden. Sarah doesn’t think her elderly friend is capable of committing murder. However, other people disagree, including Nick Elliot, an investigator.

If Nick doesn’t want to see the truth, Sarah and Elvis will open his eyes by finding the real killer.

Buy A Whisker: Sarah and Elvis were off to a good start. They had one successful case on their record. Although, it isn’t like they wanted more trouble. Sarah was more than happy to dedicate her time to her shop.

She enjoyed refurbishing and repurposing used items. However, a new problem was about to shatter her peace. The residents of her coastal town had expressed their support for the development of the waterfront.

However, Lily Carter was holding out. When she died, people naturally assumed that someone had killed her because of her opposition to the waterfront development.

But when Sarah and Elvis started investigating, they quickly realized that something nefarious was afoot.

When Does The Next Sofie Ryan book come out?

Sofie Ryan doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Fur Love or Money and was released on February, 6th 2024. It is the newest book in the Second Chance Cat Mystery Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *