Steve Alten Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Steve Alten is a well-established author who is widely known for his science fiction novels. After completing his bachelor’s degree in Sports Medicine from the University of Delaware, Alten joined Temple University where he earned a doctorate in Education. Since Alten was struggling to support his family, he decided to pen down a novel that he had been thinking about for so many years. Alten used to work on weekends and late in the night so that he could finish his first novel, A Novel of Deep Terror. To pay for the books editing fees, Steve had to sell his vehicle. On 13th September 1996, Steve Alten was fired from his job, where he used to severd as the General Manger in a wholesale meat plant.

Get notified when Steve Alten releases a new book at

Order of Loch Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Loch 2005 Description / Buy
2 Vostok 2014 Description / Buy
3 Heaven's Lake (Short Story) 2023 Description / Buy

Order of MEG Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Meg 1997 Description / Buy
2 The Trench 1999 Description / Buy
3 Primal Waters 2004 Description / Buy
4 Hell's Aquarium 2009 Description / Buy
5 Origins 2011 Description / Buy
6 Nightstalkers 2016 Description / Buy
7 Generations 2020 Description / Buy
8 Purgatory 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Domain Trilogy / Mayan Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Domain / The Mayan Prophecy 2001 Description / Buy
2 Resurrection / The Mayan Resurrection 2001 Description / Buy
3 Phobos / The Mayan Destiny 2009 Description / Buy

Order of Dead Bait Series by Tim Curran

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dead Bait ( By: David Dunwoody) 2009 Description / Buy
2 Dead Bait 3 (Short Story) ( By: Tim Curran, Cody Goodfellow, Murphy Edwards, Lance Schonberg, C. Dennis Moore, Mark C. Scioneaux, S.T Gulik, Randal Tanabe) 2012 Description / Buy

Order of Steve Alten Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Goliath 2002 Description / Buy
2 The Shell Game 2007 Description / Buy
3 Grim Reaper 2010 Description / Buy
4 The Omega Project 2013 Description / Buy
5 Sharkman 2014 Description / Buy
6 Undisclosed 2017 Description / Buy

Steve Alten Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Monstrous: 20 Tales of Giant Creature Terror 2009 Description / Buy
2 Dead Bait 2 2011 Description / Buy
3 Nightmares Unhinged 2015 Description / Buy
4 Joe Ledger: Unstoppable 2017 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Four days after being relieved of his duties, his agent, who presented him with a seven-figure deal, contacted Steve. His book Meg became an instant hit and sold millions of copies in more than twenty countries. MED was featured on every bestsellers list including the New York Times Bestsellers list. Steve Allen’s second book was the Trench and was published in the year 1999 by Pinnacle/Kennington. Steve Allen’s novels are not only visual but also action packed. Three of his books have been option to film producers for adaptation. Apart from penning down novels, Steve has also written 6 original screenplays. Steve’s goals as an author are to continue the hard work and become one of the best storytellers and to also create exceedingly exciting thrillers.

Steve Alten Awards

Steve Alten has not as of yet been nominated for any literary award.

Steve Alten Books into Movies

The novel Meg that was published in the year 1997 has been adapted for screenplay by the movie powerhouse, Warner Bros. The movie’s main cast include the action movie sensation Jason Statham, and Orange is the New Black actress, Ruby Rose.

Best Steve Alten Books

Meg: The first installment in the Meg book series, and it features the protagonist Jonas Taylor. The year is 1956 and Jonas alongside the United States Navy are on a top-secret mission deep within the Mariana Trench. Jonas’s task is to find out as to whether a rather extinct species of shark, popularly known as the Megalodon is present. The Megalodon is a shark species, which ruled Earth during the period when the dinosaurs and mammoths roamed the earth’s surface. The Megalodon is a top predator, which can grow up to 65 feet in length and was on top of the food chain during the Stone Age. While working inside the trench, Jonas watches in fear as the Megalodon comes to the surface and destroys a submarine, which belonged to one of his colleagues and killing him instantly. Jonas returns to the surface as quickly as he could. Upon returning to base, Jonas narrates to the Navy about his ordeal.

Unfortunately, they do not believe what he had to say. Several years later, Jonas continues to try and make them understand that what he saw was real. One day, one, Masao Tanaka who many years had lost his submarine in the trench, approaches Jonas. Masao is hoping that this time around he will be able to retrieve his submarine from the depths of the trench. Jonas Taylor sees this as an opportunity to retrieve his submarine from the trench; thus he agrees to go with Masao. As the ship is pulled to the surface, the shark comes from the water and kills Tanaka’s son instantly. Jonas watches in fear as the Megalodon becomes trapped inside the steel cables, which had connected the submarine to the ship.

As the shark is pulled to the ocean’s surface, a much larger Megalodon rises out of the ocean trench. The female attacks the male Megalodon and begins to feed on him. Both Tanaka and Jonas become worried that this is the first time that the Megalodon has been on the ocean’s ecosystem. They are afraid of what this creature may do to the ecosystem. Apart from the Megalodon, Jonas also has another issue, Maggie, his wife. Maggie is an exceedingly ruthless reporter who has been having an affair with her cameraman. As the two are trying to track down the creature, the female Megalodon resurfaces once again is San Diego and murders several surfers. The female creature also in the process destroys a helicopter, which had been tracking her in the night.

While tracking the female Megalodon, the two main characters become aware that it was pregnant; thus it must be captured before giving birth and risking the food chain. Maggie sees this as an opportunity to develop her career; thus she makes up her mind to follow and film the creature. As expected the capture goes wrong, and the creature manages to escape. It eats Maggie on the spot, who had been filming the creature within a shark cage.

When Does The Next Steve Alten book come out?

Steve Alten doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Heaven's Lake and was released on March, 14th 2023. It is the newest book in the Loch Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *