Steven James Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Steven James is the writer of the acclaimed Bowers File, a psychological thriller that consists of nine novels. The series has won several awards and many other honors. James was born in Wisconsin in 1969. He attended the East Tennessee State University and graduated in 1997 with a Masters of Arts in Storytelling. Currently, he is a resident of the Smoky Mountains of eastern Tennessee where he resides with his wife and daughters.

Order of The Patrick Bowers Files Series

1The Pawn 2007Description / Buy
2The Rook 2008Description / Buy
3The Knight 2009Description / Buy
4The Bishop 2010Description / Buy
5The Queen 2011Description / Buy
6Opening Moves 2012Description / Buy
7The King 2013Description / Buy
8Checkmate 2014Description / Buy
9Every Wicked Man 2018Description / Buy

Order of The Bowers Files: The New York Years Series

1Every Crooked Path 2015Description / Buy
2Every Deadly Kiss 2017Description / Buy

Order of Blur Trilogy Series

1Blur 2014Description / Buy
2Fury 2015Description / Buy
3Curse 2016Description / Buy

Order of The Jevin Banks Experience Series

1Placebo 2012Description / Buy
2Singularity 2013Description / Buy

Order of Steven James Standalone Novels

1Quest for Celestia 2006Description / Buy
2Runawayland 2017Description / Buy
3Synapse 2019Description / Buy

Order of Steven James Plays

1Worship Sketches 2 Perform 2000Description / Buy
2More Worship Sketches 2 Perform 2002Description / Buy
3On the Edge (Short Story) 2004Description / Buy
4Drama for Real Life (Short Story) 2006Description / Buy

Order of Steven James Short Story Collections

1Never the Same (Short Story) 2005Description / Buy

Order of Steven James Non-Fiction Books

1Jawdroppers 2001Description / Buy
2How to Smell Like God 2002Description / Buy
3Creative Storytelling Guide for Children’s Ministry 2002Description / Buy
4The Evolution of a Poker Player (Short Story) 2003Description / Buy
524 Tandem Bible Hero Story Scripts For Children's Ministry (Short Story) 2003Description / Buy
6Believe It! 2003Description / Buy
730 Old Testament QuickSkits for Kids (Short Story) 2004Description / Buy
8Praying from the Gut 2004Description / Buy
9Astonishing Tales of Spiritual Truth 2005Description / Buy
10Crazy & Creative Bible Stories for Preteens (Short Story) 2005Description / Buy
11Sharable Parables (Short Story) 2005Description / Buy
12Becoming Real 2005Description / Buy
13Story: Recapture the Mystery 2006Description / Buy
14Gather Round the Dinner Fable 2006Description / Buy
15Sailing Between the Stars 2006Description / Buy
1630 New Testament Interactive Stories for Young Children (Short Story) 2007Description / Buy
1730 Old Testament Interactive Stories for Young Children (Short Story) 2007Description / Buy
18Bible Story QuickSkits for 2 Kids (Short Story) 2008Description / Buy
19A Heart Exposed Talking to God with Nothing to Hide 2009Description / Buy
20A Heart Exposed 2009Description / Buy
21Flirting with the Forbidden 2012Description / Buy
22Story: Our Journey of Heartache and Grace from Eden to Evermore 2012Description / Buy
23Story Trumps Structure 2013Description / Buy
24Meeting the Mystery 2014Description / Buy
25Creating Characters 2014Description / Buy
2630 Simply Fabulous Bible Skits for Kids! (Short Story) 2015Description / Buy
27Discover Torch Enameling (Short Story) 2016Description / Buy
28Troubleshooting Your Novel 2016Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The Bowers Files form a basis of the author’s famous books. Each novel in the series revolves around the life of Patrick Bowers. Each single book in the series has its own story, but all these stories tie in together at some points. The crimes a gruesome, sadistic but presented without any verbal profanity. There’s much romance, but each presented without too much graphic sexuality.

Other writings besides the Bowers Files series include inspirational nonfictions novels. Also, the author has written dramas, prayer collections, Young Adult series titled Blur and a nine-book series about creative storytelling.


James novels have been nominated for various awards and honors. For instance, he was a finalist for The Christian Manifest’s Lime Award, LIS Literary Award in Suspense and INSPY Award Finalist. The Bowers Files has won three Christy Awards and several other honors.


These are the two best books written by the American bestsellers, James. The Pawn and The Rook.

The Pawn: The Pawn is the first novel in The Patrick Bowers Filers. The book introduces the readers to Special Agent Patrick Bowers who is called to North Carolina to oversee the case of a serial killer but finds himself in a deadly game.

Crafty and dangerous, the killer has always made sure that he is one step ahead of the authorities and each time he strikes, he does it swiftly without getting caught. Therefore it will take the Special Agent instincts and all his skillful training to stop the killer who calls himself the Illusionist. Moreover, when the clues start to come together, Bower discovers that they are not adding up. Can he solve the complex puzzle and save the next victim on the killer’s list? Alternatively, will the killer win this hide and seek death game by grabbing one of his opponents’ pieces?

The cast in this novel are extremely well crafted, believable and often help bear the weight of the lead characters roles as powerful allies in themselves. For instance, the case of Tessa, Patrick step-daughter, she is a character with whom many readers will sympathize as much as they do with the lead character, Bower. Wild, dark haired, compassionate and often unwilling ally, Tessa is at the core of Bower’s universe. She is what he loves most, and he protects her at all cost but ultimately suffers the consequences of her father goal to destroy all evil.

Overall, the novel is a great read, the suspense is real, and there are so many twists and turns t for most of the story, from the happenings in Jonestown to the government cover-ups and the illusionist background. It is amazing how the author weaves together the threads featured in this book into a ridiculous plot.

The Rook: In the second series installment and among the best novels by James, we again meet FBI Special Agent Bowers who is drawn into a shady deadly web of intrigue where nothing is as it seems. Now with his criminology research now turned against him, and one of the words most lethal devices missing, Patrick Bowers finds himself in a race to stop the criminal trap before it closes around him and more so to the people he loves most.

Just like the first novel in the series, The Rook will keep you hooked from the first to the last page, and you are guessing, but the end will completely shock you. The characters are well created. The story is told mostly from Patrick’s point of view, but this does not mean that you will not get a glimpse of other people thoughts. The cooperation that exists between, Tessa and Lien-Hua is right. Their struggles and their relationships mature well.

The author understands the importance of pacing in a suspense novel. He knows when to take things slow and when to keep the reader’s hearts thumping. If you love suspense and fast-paced stories, then Steven James books are an ideal match for you.

When Does The Next Steven James book come out?

Steven James doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Synapse and was released on October, 8th 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *