Steven Saylor Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Steven Saylor is an American author that writes historical fiction. Born in 1956 in Port Lavaca, Texas, Saylor remembers watching movies like Cleopatra and Ben Hur and developing a fascination for ancient Rome.

Get notified when Steven Saylor releases a new book at

Order of Roma Sub Rosa Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Roman Blood 1991 Description / Buy
2 Arms of Nemesis 1992 Description / Buy
3 Catilina's Riddle 1993 Description / Buy
4 The Venus Throw 1995 Description / Buy
5 A Murder on the Appian Way 1996 Description / Buy
6 The House of the Vestals 1997 Description / Buy
7 Rubicon 1999 Description / Buy
8 Last Seen in Massilia 2000 Description / Buy
9 A Mist of Prophecies 2002 Description / Buy
10 The Judgment of Caesar 2004 Description / Buy
11 A Gladiator Dies Only Once 2005 Description / Buy
12 The Triumph of Caesar 2009 Description / Buy
13 The Throne of Caesar 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Ancient World Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Seven Wonders 2012 Description / Buy
2 Raiders of the Nile 2014 Description / Buy
3 Wrath of the Furies 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Rome Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Roma 2007 Description / Buy
2 Empire 2010 Description / Buy
3 Dominus 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Steven Saylor Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Honour the Dead 2000 Description / Buy
2 Have You Seen Dawn? 2003 Description / Buy

Order of Steven Saylor Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Will is a Way 1992 Description / Buy

Order of Steven Saylor Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 My Mother's Ghost (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy
2 Future, Present, Past (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Steven Saylor Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Bookish Bent (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy

Steven Saylor Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Growing Up Gay/Growing Up Lesbian: A Literary Anthology 1993 Description / Buy
2 The Best American Erotica 1996 1996 Description / Buy
3 Warriors 1 2010 Description / Buy
4 Rogues 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

He fed that obsession by studying history at the University of Texas at Austin. In 1987, he finally visited Rome. The trip exceeded every expectation. The author couldn’t get enough of the ruins and their connection to the past.

At that time, the author had just discovered the mystery genre. Initially, his reading habits constituted science fiction and fantasy novels. Once the mystery genre sunk its hooks into Saylor’s brain, it refused to let go.

When he returned home, Saylor started looking for murder mysteries that featured Ancient Rome as a setting. But he couldn’t find a satisfying novel to scratch his itch.

Saylor tried to make do with Cicero’s Murder Trials, but he couldn’t stop thinking about the stories a skillful novelist could extract from the translation. The author has since realized that many of his peers have similar experiences.

Their first novel is the book they want to read but cannot find. Saylor was motivated to write because he couldn’t find the compelling historical murder mystery he wanted.

It had taken Saylor a lifetime to acquire a competent understanding of history. Initially, he watched movies and read comic books. Later on, he studied history in earnest. He never expected that knowledge to play a vital role in his life.

Saylor placed his first book in the first century B.C. because it was one of the most exciting eras of Roman history. Like many first-time authors, Saylor did not set out to create a long-running series.

The history fanatic had plenty of concepts for different stories and settings rattling around in his brain. But the first book sold well enough that his editor at St. Martin’s started toying with the idea of publishing more novels in the Gordianus series.

When the publisher requested a second book in the series, Saylor was caught off guard because he perceived the first manuscript as a literary novel that did not require a sequel.

The author admits that he was pretty naïve at the time. He did not understand the publishing arena. However, once his publisher requested additional books in the series, Saylor thought about it and realized that he liked the idea of writing a long-running collection of stories that would eventually chart the end of the Roman Republic.

Each novel the author has written in this series revolves around a significant historical event that anchors the story. Initially, Saylor kept placing 7-year gaps between the books, to the irritation of his publisher.

But later, he went back and wrote short stories that filled the gaps he had skipped.

Steven Saylor Awards

Saylor has received a Dilys Award nomination.

Best Steven Saylor Books

The author began his publishing career by writing what some may call erotic fiction using the ‘Aaron Travis’ pen name. But when he visited Rome, the direction of his publishing career changed. Saylor’s best books include:

Roman Blood: Sybaritic Sextus Roscius was wealthy. He was also dead. A message from his harlot led Roscius into the hands of a savage killer. And now, Gordianus the Finder has been tasked with investigating the case.

The house of Cicero wants answers. The advocate’s reputation is on the line. Gordianus is more than up to the task. Although, this particular mystery will compel the professional to walk the city’s pungent streets, sifting through nobles and slaves alike in the hopes of determining the assassin’s motive.

Roma: Roma tells the story of Rome, not just the city but the people that inhabited it. The book takes readers back to Rome’s first years, re-introducing the twins (Romulus and Remus) that founded the city, recounting the events that turned Rome into the capital of history’s greatest empire, covering the various wars and invasions, and more.

Saylor doesn’t forget to shine the spotlight on famous figures like Hannibal and Coriolanus while also exploring the conflict between the Patricians and Plebeians.

Finally, the author brings the story to a close by outlining the events that killed Rome’s republic and led to Julius Caesar’s death. Saylor bases his narrative on legends and archeological discoveries, both new and old.

When Does The Next Steven Saylor book come out?

Steven Saylor doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Dominus and was released on June, 9th 2021. It is the newest book in the Rome Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *