Susan Isaacs Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

A renowned novelist, screenwriter, and essayist, Susan Isaacs was born on December 7, 1943, in Brooklyn, New York. Her mother Helen Isaacs worked as a homemaker while her dad Morton Isaacs worked as an electrical engineer. After completing her high school education, Susan Isaacs joined Queens College where she took a major in English language and a minor in Economics. Once she completed her high-school education, she became a senior editor at the Seventeen Magazine. She also worked partly as a freelance political speechwriter. In the year 1968, Susan Isaacs married one, Elkan Abramowitz who worked as a lawyer.

Get notified when Susan Isaacs releases a new book at

Order of Corie Geller Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Takes One to Know One 2019 Description / Buy
2 Bad, Bad Seymour Brown 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Judith Singer Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Compromising Positions 1978 Description / Buy
2 Long Time No See 2001 Description / Buy
3 Compliments of a Friend 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Susan Isaacs Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Close Relations 1980 Description / Buy
2 Almost Paradise 1984 Description / Buy
3 Shining Through 1988 Description / Buy
4 Magic Hour 1991 Description / Buy
5 After All These Years 1993 Description / Buy
6 Lily White 1996 Description / Buy
7 Red, White and Blue 1998 Description / Buy
8 Any Place I Hang My Hat ( By: Jane Adams) 2004 Description / Buy
9 Past Perfect 2007 Description / Buy
10 As Husbands Go 2010 Description / Buy
11 Goldberg Variations 2012 Description / Buy

Order of Susan Isaacs Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Hint of Strangeness (Short Story) 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Susan Isaacs Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Intellectual Growth in Young Children 1972 Description / Buy
2 Brave Dames and Wimpettes 1999 Description / Buy

Susan Isaacs Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Opening Shots: Great Mystery and Crime Writers Share Their First Published Stories 2000 Description / Buy
2 The World\\\'s Finest Mystery and Crime Stories: 4 2003 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

However, in the year 1970, Susan had to leave her job so that she could be able to take care of Andrew, her newborn son. Three years later on, Isaacs gave birth to a girl. During this time, Susan worked as a freelance writer, writing both speeches and magazine articles. Currently, Susan resides with her husband in Long Island. Her very first novel was published in the year 1978 and was titled Compromising Positions. Like all her other books that she later came to write, Compromising Positions became a New York Times bestseller. Susan has also written on various themes and topics such as cultural criticism.

Furthermore, apart from writing novels and screenplays, Susan Isaacs has also reviewed both non-fiction and fiction works for the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, Newsday and the Washington Post. Susan Isaacs has also written on several occasions about politics including a number of essays, which revolved around the presidential elections of the year 2000.

Susan Isaacs Awards

Despite being a successful author, Susan Isaacs is yet to receive any award.

Susan Isaacs Books into Movies

In the year 1985, Compromising Positions was adapted for a screenplay by Paramount Pictures. The adaptation featured Raul Julia and Susan Sarandon who were the main cast of the movie. Two years later, Susan was contracted by Touchstone Pictures not only to write but also co-produce another movie, Hello Again. Later on, two of her other novels were adapted for a screenplay by 20th Fox Century and Hallmark Channel. They include Shining Through and After all These Years.

Best Susan Isaacs Books

Long Time No See: Susan Isaacs once again brings back the heroine Judith Singer after more than twenty years in an exceedingly suspenseful story. Judith Singer was the protagonist in her very first novel, Compromising Positions. Judith this time around has just been awarded a doctorate and is working at St. Elizabeth’s College in the school’s history department. Judith’s husband had just recently died after completing the New York marathon in approximately 4 hours. Despite the fact that more than twenty years have already passed away, she still somehow cannot manage to get his husband out of her head. Her husband, Nelson Sharpe used to work for the Nassau Police Department. With the disappearance of one Courtney Logan, everyone’s eyes immediately turn to her husband, Greg Logan who is the son of a renowned mobster, Philip Lowenstein. However, once the investigations begin, it becomes clear that there is no substantial evidence against Logan.

One day, Judith comes home from her place of work and turns on the radio. She hears the pool man who works at Logan’s house telling a reporter that he had found a body in the pool. After the body is taken in for analysis, the body is confirmed to be Logan’s wife; thus the case is ruled to be a homicide. Judith immediately leaves the house and offers her service to the chief suspect. Since Greg Logan does not know who she is, he sends her away thinking that she is just a stubborn neighbor. With that being said, Long Time No See is the sequel to the bestseller, Compromising Positions, which featured the Long Island mother, sleuth, and housewife, Judith Singer. In this book, Judith is a widow who has grown up children and has just pursued a lackluster career as a professor at the local college.

After All These Years: This is another excellent read by Susan Isaacs. In this installment, the author introduces the reader to one, Rose Meyers who is an ordinary Jew, who not only married her lover but also moved to the suburban and had two lovely kids. It did not take long before her husband became successful and bought a mansion and a fleet of BMW’s. However, a few years later, Rose is shocked to hear that her husband was now leaving her for a young woman. Rose eventually begins to have sleepless nights and one night she decides to head downstairs and have a glass of milk. As she returns upstairs, she stumbles upon a dead body, which turns out to be her husband’s. Immediately, Rose is identified as the prime suspects in the killings. With that said, this is a brilliantly written that will keep you entertained from the first page to the last.

When Does The Next Susan Isaacs book come out?

Susan Isaacs doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Bad, Bad Seymour Brown and was released on May, 2nd 2023. It is the newest book in the Corie Geller Series.

1 thought on “Susan Isaacs”

  1. Susan Isaacs is at the same time a super creative, witty super writer and a human who creates real, raw characters. She’s basically the perfect writer.

    My favorite is probably Almost Paradise. It’s a love story, but not quite a romance novel. It’s very high concept and captivating. Tragedy, mental illness, drug abuse and more come in to play in this story of true love, family and success.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *