Tami Hoag Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Tami Hoag is American best-selling novelist known for writing thriller and romance genres, and more than 22 million copies of her books have been sold. She was born in Cresco, Iowa and spent her childhood in the small town of Harmony, Minnesota. According to an interview in 2016, Hoag stated that she always wanted to be a writer right from the childhood.

Get notified when Tami Hoag releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Broussard and Fourcade Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Thin Dark Line 1997 Description / Buy
2 The Boy 2017 Description / Buy
3 Bad Liar 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Rainbow Chasers Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Heart of Gold 1990 Description / Buy
2 Keeping Company 1990 Description / Buy
3 Reilly's Return 1990 Description / Buy
4 Magic 1990 Description / Buy

Order of Kovac and Liska Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Ashes to Ashes 1999 Description / Buy
2 Dust to Dust 2000 Description / Buy
3 Prior Bad Acts / Dead Sky 2006 Description / Buy
4 The 1st Victim (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy
5 The 9th Girl 2013 Description / Buy
6 The Bitter Season 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Elena Estes Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dark Horse 2002 Description / Buy
2 The Alibi Man 2006 Description / Buy

Order of Deer Lake Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Night Sins 1995 Description / Buy
2 Guilty as Sin 1996 Description / Buy

Order of Oak Knoll Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Deeper Than the Dead 2008 Description / Buy
2 Secrets to the Grave 2010 Description / Buy
3 Down the Darkest Road 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Doucet Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Restless Heart 1991 Description / Buy
2 Lucky's Lady 1992 Description / Buy
3 Cry Wolf 1993 Description / Buy

Order of Quaid Horses Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Rumor Has It 1988 Description / Buy
2 Man of Her Dreams 1989 Description / Buy
3 Tempestuous 1990 Description / Buy

Order of Tami Hoag Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Trouble with J.J. 1988 Description / Buy
2 McKnight in Shining Armor 1988 Description / Buy
3 Straight from the Heart 1989 Description / Buy
4 Mismatch 1989 Description / Buy
5 Sarah's Sin 1991 Description / Buy
6 Heart of Dixie 1991 Description / Buy
7 Still Waters 1992 Description / Buy
8 Taken by Storm 1992 Description / Buy
9 The Last White Knight 1992 Description / Buy
10 Dark Paradise 1994 Description / Buy
11 Kill the Messenger 2004 Description / Buy
12 Cold Cold Heart 2014 Description / Buy

Tami Hoag Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 In Our Dreams 1998 Description / Buy
2 The Putt at the End of the World 2000 Description / Buy
3 Suspense Magazine July 2013 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Before the publication of her first novel, Hoag worked as a photographer assistant, sold designer bathroom accessories, and trained show horses. Once married to David Hoag but later divorced. She began her writing career in 1988 and wrote romance novels for the Bantam Books. After years of triumph in the romance genre, she switched her attention to single-title suspense books. Most of her novels have been featured in New York Times bestsellers. The author has written over seven stand-alone books and eight novel series.


Here are the awards winning books by Hoag. The Alibi Man won the 2007 RT Reviewers Choice Award for the best suspense novel category. Subsequently, Lucky’s Lady won the 1993 RT Reviewers Choice Award for the contemporary romance category, and Cry Wolf won the 1994 RT Reviewers Choice Award for the best romantic suspense novel. Mismatch and Night Sins have won the 1989 and 1995 RT Reviewers Choice Award respectively.


Hoag novel Night Sins was adapted into a Television Miniseries featuring Harry Hamlin and Valerie Bertinelli.


Here are two best books author by Hoag, Night Sin, and Ashes to Ashes.

Night Sins: This sensation bestseller and the subject of a CBS television miniseries has confirmed Hoag reputation as the new modern grand master of the suspense genre.

When a young boy goes missing from a small town in Minnesota in the middle of the winter, Special Agent Megan works to help Mitch Holt locate him. She has just been promoted to her new position as the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehensions (BCA) local agent, and she is the first woman ever to be promoted to that role.

There are lots of interesting side stories from this novel apart from the solving of the abduction. Megan is strict on dating a cop, she cannot afford a relationship with Mitch, but the mutual attraction between them is evident.

The parents of the kidnapped boy are also at each other’s thoughts as their relationship is tearing them apart bit by bit. On the other hand, the local media as well have their own agenda that not only interferes with the case but also puts Megan’s job at risk.

The entire town goes viral when suspects are scrutinized one after the other. The idea that Deer Lake is a sleepy and safe little town is also turned on its end. Secrets are many, and the town has to confront its vulnerabilities while the kidnappers remain at large. This narrative is not only about the kidnapping case but the human state and its inherent frailties. Distinct relationships are tested, and just like any other human being each character in this novel has its flaws.

Ashes to Ashes: In Ashes to Ashes find a serial killer who performs his impious ceremony in a wooded Minneapolis park, first anoints his victim, and then set their bodies ablaze. So far he has already claimed three lives, and he will not stop unless someone confronts him. However, this time there is a victim, but she is not taking.

Meet Kate Conlan a retired FBI agent now working as a victim/witness advocate. She cannot even tell whether the witness is either a potential victim or whether something is troubling her more.

Her superiors are much more interested in this case because this latest victim probably is the daughter of Peter Bondurant, a baffling millionaire. When Peter requests investigations to be conducted, agent John Quinn is assigned to this case. However, the FBI agent assigned to the case is the last man that Kate wants to work with due to their troubled past. Moreover, now she faces the hardest role of her career and her life as well. For she is the only woman, who has what it takes to make sure that the killer is stopped.

Ashes to Ashes is an intriguing story; there are wonderfully crafted characters, a vicious serial killer, political intrigue and some introspective romances.

When Does The Next Tami Hoag book come out?

The next book by Tami Hoag is Bad Liar and will be released on September, 24th 2024. It is the newest book in the Broussard and Fourcade Series.


2 thoughts on “Tami Hoag”

  1. Tami Hoag is my “jam” as the kids would say! The Kovac and Liska series is unmissable (Prior Bad Acts – yikes!) and Kill the Messenger is a nail biter! All I have to say about Kill the Messenger is that Jace is the star, but the ending is kind of vague, but it’s still a fantastic read!

    I wish she would write more novels because I’m anxious for more of her work. Are there any authors that are similar to Hoag who I might like?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *