Tana French Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Tana French, born in 1973 is an American writer and a theater actress born and raised in Vermont. She was born to David French and Elena Hvostoff. Even though born in Vermont, she spent most of her childhood moments traveling to man countries such as Malawi, Italy, US, and Ireland. Her father David French worked as an economist for resource management majorly focused on third world countries, and thus why French’s family lived in many different countries.

Get notified when Tana French releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Dublin Murder Squad Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 In the Woods 2007 Description / Buy
2 The Likeness 2008 Description / Buy
3 Faithful Place 2010 Description / Buy
4 Broken Harbour 2012 Description / Buy
5 The Secret Place 2014 Description / Buy
6 The Trespasser / Intrusion 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Cal Hooper Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Searcher 2020 Description / Buy
2 The Hunter 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Tana French Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Witch Elm 2018 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Later, Tana French attended Trinity College in Dublin and focused her studies on acting. Finally, she settled in Dublin and has since lived in this largest city in Ireland which she now considers as home. French is married and blessed with two beautiful daughters and her loving husband. She maintains a dual citizenship of the Italy and the U.S.

Since childhood, French found her passion in writing and as well as writing but mainly concentrated her attention on acting. She trained as a professional actor who saw her perform in film and theaters. Her passion for writing rekindled while in her 30’s and her genre being determined by her interest in crime and mystery novels.

Tana French first publication In the Woods was published in 2007. The book was positively received worldwide and given good reviews from various news publications. The book was awarded many literary prizes and was listed as a bestseller hardcover and paperback and has since been termed as the Dream Debut. As of the year 2015, over 1 million copies of the book were sold, and in the same year, Euston Films and VERITAS purchased the rights to the novel to be adapted as a Television series.

The sequel to the debut novel, The Likeness was released in 2008. The novel talks about Cassie Maddox the lead character. Upon its release, just like the first novel, it received positive reviews, and was listed as a bestseller in many countries and was firmly anchored in The New York Times Best Seller list for some months.


As a bestseller author, Tana French boasts some distinct awards. In the year 2008, the debut novel In the Woods, won Edgar Awards, Macavity Award, Antony and Barry Award for the best first book category. In 2012, Faithful Place was nominated for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award. In the same year, Broken Harbour won the 2012 Irish Book Award.


These are two best books written by all time and bestselling mystery and crime author Tana French.

In the Woods: It is the first novel in Dublin Murder Squad series by Tana French. One evening, as the mothers of the small Dublin suburbs, begins to call their children home, three children do not return home. When the police are called in, they find one boy firmly gripping a tree trunk and scared. The boy is wearing blood-filled sneakers and cannot remember any single detail of what had happened in the previous hours.

After 20 years, the boy who was found in the woods, Rob Ryan is now a detective working with Dublin Murder Squad. When a teenage girl is found murdered in the same woods where Rob was found 20years, he and her partner, Cassie Maddox, are tasked with investigating the case. With only a few glimpses of buried memories, Ryan has found the perfect moment and chance to solve the case at hand as well as his own.

The Trespasser: Working as part of the murder squad team is nothing to what Detective Antoinette had dreamed. However, Stephen Moran is the only person who seems to be thankful that she is a part of the team. The rest of her career life is a stream of vicious pranks, harassment’s and thankless cases which seem to be taking this desperate woman to the breaking point.

The two partner’s new case is what seems as couples quarrel gone wrong. The blond and well groomed Aislin Murray lies dead in her well-maintained living room. The other detectives are pressuring Antoinette to arrest Aislin boyfriend as soon as possible. One of Aislinn friend hints Antoinette that she knew her friend was in danger. Conducting investigations, the two detectives find out more about the glossy and the passive blond. On the one hand, with the campaigns to force her out of the squad, and murder to solve, on the contrary, Antoinette must undertake intensive investigations to establish the identity of the Aislinn killer.

When Does The Next Tana French book come out?

Tana French doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Hunter and was released on March, 5th 2024. It is the newest book in the Cal Hooper Series.


2 thoughts on “Tana French”

  1. I haven’t seen anything about “The Intrusion”, which I happened upon while searching Tana French books. Was it published?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *