Tanya Huff Books

Tanya Huff is a Canadian Author born in Halifax, Nova Scotia who primarily writes science fiction and fantasy, though she has written stories in various other genres including comedy, horror, and romance.

Order of Confederation Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Valor's Choice 2000 Description / Buy
2 The Better Part of Valor 2002 Description / Buy
3 A Confederation of Valor 2006 Description / Buy
4 The Heart of Valor 2007 Description / Buy
5 Valor's Trial 2008 Description / Buy
6 The Truth of Valor 2010 Description / Buy
7 A Peace Divided 2017 Description / Buy
8 The Privilege of Peace 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Smoke Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Finding Magic 2007 Description / Buy
2 Those Who Fight Monsters 2011 Description / Buy
3 Weird Detectives 2013 Description / Buy
4 The Complete Smoke Trilogy 2019 Description / Buy

Order of Vicki Nelson Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Relative Magic 2003 Description / Buy
2 The Blood Books, Volume I 2006 Description / Buy
3 Blood Bank 2008 Description / Buy
4 Evolve 2010 Description / Buy
5 The Wild Side 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Ravenloft Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Vampire of the Mists (By: Christie Golden) 1991 Description / Buy
2 Dance Of The Dead (By: Christie Golden) 1992 Description / Buy
3 The Enemy Within (By: Christie Golden) 1994 Description / Buy
4 Mordenheim (By: Chet Williamson) 1994 Description / Buy
5 Tales of Ravenloft (By: Brian M. Thomsen) 1994 Description / Buy
6 Death of a Darklord (By: Laurell K Hamilton) 1995 Description / Buy
7 King of the Dead (By: Gene DeWeese) 1996 Description / Buy
8 Lord of the Necropolis (By: Gene DeWeese) 1997 Description / Buy

Tanya Huff Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Totally Charmed 2005 Description / Buy
2 Mythspring 2006 Description / Buy
3 Under Cover of Darkness 2007 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Born in 1957, Tanya was just ten years old when she achieved her first publishing feat. The author wrote poems that The Picton Gazette not only agreed to publish but they also paid her ten dollars.

Though, that did not immediately place her on the path to publishing success. Rather, Tanya went on to join the Canadian Naval Reserve. They had just opened the doors to women, so Tanya enlisted as a cook, certain that she would eventually go out to sea.

Unfortunately, she abandoned the post a year too early, before she could get her shot. That wasn’t the last time Tanya’s timing led her astray. The author eventually pursued a Radio and Television Arts degree.

But by the time she graduated from Ryerson Polytechnical Institute, the Radio and Television business had become quite competitive. People were being laid off left and right, and it did not take Tanya Huff long to realize that she stood no real chance of landing a secure job when so many of her rivals had years of experience to back their resumes.

Tanya loved books, so she was fortunate to land a position at Bakka. The eight years she spent working full time at the Bookstore afforded Tanya the opportunity to write seven books.

She was able to publish most of them. Tanya’s success came slowly. She can’t point to one singular event that immediately transformed her life and made her publishing dreams a reality.

The poems she sold at the age of ten definitely gave her the courage she needed to persevere as a writer, and so did her first professional sale which she made to the editor of Amazing Stories in the mid-1980s.

But for the most part, the success the author eventually received came at a trickling pace. Each story Tanya produced made her a better writer. And every book of hers that earned a position on a bookshelf grew her fame.

She was fortunate to participate in the activities of the Bunch of Seven, a writing group that gave her the support she needed to keep pursuing her writing goals.

The author isn’t afraid to admit that she often drew inspiration from real life, using the names of the people she had known and the places she had visited to bring some of her fantastical elements to life.

Tanya Huff Awards

The Wild Ways was a Spectrum Award Finalist. A number of Tanya’s works have also received Aurora Award Nominations, including Blood Price and No Quarter.

Tanya Huff Books into Movies/TV

Tanya Huff’s Blood novels were adapted into a live-action TV Show called Blood Ties. The show ran for 22 episodes. It tells the story of Vicki Nelson, a private investigator who teams up with an ancient vampire to solve crimes.

Best Tanya Huff Books

Tanya has been known to take pride in the fact that her living is earned solely through her writing, with some of the best books in her bibliography including:

Blood Price: Vicki Nelson was a homicide detective in Toronto. Now she works as a private detective. When a series of gruesome murders assails the city, Vicki reaches out to her old partner, hoping to find assistance in her efforts to stop a dark force.

Henry is a vampire but he knows how to blend in with the humans. He also understands that, without his help, neither Vicki nor her partner will survive the chaotic force they seek to foil.

Valor’s Choice: Humans were permitted to join the Confederation but only if they agreed to fight a war to protect the civilized races of the galaxy from a fearsome foe. Staff Sergeant Torin Kerr was forced to abruptly end her leave to protect a diplomatic mission to a non-confederation planet.

She did not expect the task to present much of a challenge, not even in light of rumors that the Confederation’s deadly enemy had been spotted in the vicinity, and that they were probably out to ruin the diplomatic mission.

In fact, for the longest time, things were going so perfectly that when all hell broke loose, Torrin wasn’t quite as prepared as she would have liked.

When Does The Next Tanya Huff book come out?

Tanya Huff doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Complete Smoke Trilogy and was released on July, 9th 2019. It is the newest book in the Smoke Trilogy Series.