Tasha Alexander Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Born in 1969, Tasha Alexander is New York bestselling author who writes historical mystery fiction novels. She is the daughter of two philosophy professors whom she credits her for their continuous encouragement to read and write. The author is a Bachelor of Arts graduate from Notre Dame in English where she majored in Medieval Studies.

Get notified when Tasha Alexander releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Lady Emily Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 And Only to Deceive 2005 Description / Buy
2 A Poisoned Season 2007 Description / Buy
3 A Fatal Waltz 2008 Description / Buy
4 Tears of Pearl 2009 Description / Buy
5 Dangerous to Know 2010 Description / Buy
6 A Crimson Warning 2011 Description / Buy
7 Death in the Floating City 2012 Description / Buy
8 Behind the Shattered Glass 2013 Description / Buy
9 The Counterfeit Heiress 2014 Description / Buy
10 Star of the East 2014 Description / Buy
11 The Adventuress 2015 Description / Buy
12 That Silent Night (Short Story) 2015 Description / Buy
13 A Terrible Beauty 2016 Description / Buy
14 Death in St. Petersburg 2017 Description / Buy
15 The Bridal Strain 2018 Description / Buy
16 Amid the Winter's Snow 2018 Description / Buy
17 Uneasy Lies the Crown 2018 Description / Buy
18 Upon the Midnight Clear (Short Story) 2019 Description / Buy
19 In the Shadow of Vesuvius 2020 Description / Buy
20 The Dark Heart of Florence 2021 Description / Buy
21 Secrets of the Nile 2022 Description / Buy
22 A Cold Highland Wind 2023 Description / Buy
23 Death by Misadventure 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Tasha Alexander Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Elizabeth: The Golden Age 2007 Description / Buy
2 Christmas Magic (Short Story) 2017 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Alexander began working on her debut novel in 2002 while in New Haven Connecticut after she was inspired by a passage in Gaudy Night novel written by Dorothy L. Sayers the book, was later acquired by Carolyn Marino. And Only to Deceive the debut book in Lady Emily series was published in 2005.

Tasha published her second book in following a move to Franklin, Tennessee eventually she moved to Chicago where she got married to Andrew Grant, a British novelist, the brother of Lee Child in 2010.

In 2007, the author switched editors from William Morrow to Charles Spicer. Her work has been translated into more than ten languages.

Lady Emily series is based on the adventures of Lady Emily Ashton, the main character as she uncovers romance and clues through the Mayfair mansions, country estates. The first book in the series And Only to Deceive was published in 2005, the sequel to this first novel is A Poisoned Season released in 2007. The series is currently ongoing, and comprise of over ten published books.

Other works by the author include Elizabeth: the Golden Age, and short stories such as “preparations” Kwik Krimes.


Tasha Alexander distinguished works have won and been nominated for various awards. The Counterfeit Heiress won the 2014 RT Reviewers Choice Award for Historical Mystery category. The author’s work has also been nominated for RT Reviewers Choice and the Bruce Alexander Award.


These are three best books by Tasha Alexander.

And Only to Deceive: Emily agreed to marry Philip not because she wanted to but because she wanted to escape her tyrannical mother. Philips death on a hunting expedition in Africa leaves Emily less grieving for she barely knew anything about her late husband.

However a discovery of Philip almost two years after his death reveals that he was a man she never imagined- apart from being a scholar and antiquities collector, he deeply loved his wife.

This revelation sparks a spirit of the investigation so as to learn more about her late husband. Her investigations lead her within the walls of the British Museum and into dangerous places involving some hard to find stolen artifacts. Making things more complicated the “Lady Queen” she is dealing with two wealthy suitors and one of them intentions goes far beyond the love affairs into the darker spheres.

A Poisoned Season: The London social season is on, and the Victorian aristocracy is in a state of nervous excitement, because of a man claiming to be the descendant of Louis Marie Antoinette XVI. Adding to their surprise, an audacious burglar has been stealing the belongings of the ill-fated queen. Things take a dark course when the owner of one of the stolen treasures is killed after the theft was published in the newspapers. Also, the thief develops an obsession with Lady Emily.

It takes relentless efforts by Emily to uncover her stalker and discover the murderer while she is faced with a scandal that could ruin both reputations as well as her love life with Colin Hargreaves.

Emily is an independent and strong-willed protagonist like Elizabeth and Jane Eyre from pride and prejudice. She prefers to solving mysteries after she has had tea with the queen and cares less from what people say or think about her thus making her a subject of gossip in the social sphere.

Elizabeth: The Golden Age: The Elizabethan Age was the time of dramatic power, war and passion and the queen of England, battled lovers, enemies, and her sisters, thus leaving an indelible mark on England and the rest of the world. The Golden age is the follow-up of the acclaimed and award winning 1998 film “Elizabeth.” This novel follows the relationship between the virgin queen and Walter Raleigh from their very first meeting until the victory of the Spanish Armada.

Tasha Alexander is a great author of mystery fiction novels. Her skills are portrayed the way she presents characters, plot development well. If you are a fan of historical fiction books, then adding Tasha Alexander novels in your bookshelf would be a magnificent idea.

When Does The Next Tasha Alexander book come out?

The next book by Tasha Alexander is Death by Misadventure and will be released on September, 24th 2024. It is the newest book in the Lady Emily Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *