Tess Gerritsen Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Tess Gerritsen is American bestselling novelist and a retired physician. She is the child of Chinese-American chef and a Chinese immigrant. Tess always dreamt of writing her novels as since teenage years. Her first name was Terry, but upon becoming a writer of romance novels, she chose to feminize. Even though her passion was writing romance novels, her family restricted her into becoming a full-time writer due to believing that writing could not sustain her in life. Thus she chose to pursue medicine. In 1975, the author graduated from the Stanford University with a bachelor’s degree in anthropology. Later years she attended the University of California where she graduated with a degree in medicine in 1979 and began operating as a physician in Honolulu, Hawaii.

Order of Rizzoli & Isles Series

1The Surgeon 2001Description / Buy
2The Apprentice 2002Description / Buy
3The Sinner 2003Description / Buy
4Body Double 2004Description / Buy
5Vanish 2006Description / Buy
6The Mephisto Club 2006Description / Buy
7The Keepsake / Keeping The Dead 2008Description / Buy
8Ice Cold / The Killing Place 2010Description / Buy
9The Silent Girl 2011Description / Buy
10Last to Die 2012Description / Buy
11Die Again 2014Description / Buy
12I Know A Secret 2017Description / Buy

Order of Rizzoli & Isles Short Stories

1Freaks (Short Story) 2007Description / Buy
2John Doe (Short Story) 2012Description / Buy

Order of Tavistock Family Series

1In Their Footsteps 1994Description / Buy
2Thief of Hearts 1995Description / Buy

Order of Tess Gerritsen Standalone Novels

1Adventure's Mistress 1985Description / Buy
2Call After Midnight 1987Description / Buy
3Under the Knife 1990Description / Buy
4Never Say Die 1992Description / Buy
5The Whistleblower 1992Description / Buy
6Peggy Sue Got Murdered / Girl Missing 1994Description / Buy
7Harvest 1996Description / Buy
8Keeper of the Bride 1996Description / Buy
9Life Support 1997Description / Buy
10Presumed Guilty 1997Description / Buy
11Bloodstream 1998Description / Buy
12Gravity 1999Description / Buy
13The Bone Garden 2007Description / Buy
14Playing with Fire 2015Description / Buy
15The Shape of Night 2019Description / Buy
16On the Edge ( With: Rita Herron) 2021Description / Buy
17Choose Me ( With: Gary Braver) 2021Description / Buy
18No Reason to Trust ( With: Barb Han) 2021Description / Buy

Tess Gerritsen Anthologies

1 In the Shadow of the Master2003Description / Buy
2 Killer Year: Stories to Die For...2008Description / Buy
3 No Rest for the Dead2011Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

While on leave, she submitted a short story in a fiction contest for the Honolulu magazine which won the first prize and further received $500.

Tess Gerritsen initiation to writing was inspired by romance novels that she enjoyed reading while working as a doctor. Her first novels were of the romantic thriller genre and after writing two practice books, Call after Midnight was finally published by Harlequin Intrigue in 1987. Since then Gerritsen has written over eight romantic thriller novels for Harper Paperbacks and Harlequin Intrigue.

Later in 1996, the author wrote her first medical thriller Harvest. The novel was inspired by the conversation Gerritsen had with an ex-homicide detective who had been on a trip to Russia. The detective narrated to her that young orphans were quickly disappearing from Moscow streets and that the Russian police believed that the children were being kidnapped and shipped out of the country to be used as organ donors.

Harvest upon its release was listed number 13 novel in New York Times bestseller list. Other medical thrillers written by Tess include Bloodstream, Life Support, and Gravity. In 2001, the author wrote her first ever crime thriller, The Surgeon. Gerritsen is popularly known for Rizzoli/Isles series, Romantic and Medical thrillers.


The novel Surgeon was the winner of 2002 Romance Writers of America for the category of a best romantic suspense novel. Later in 2006 the novel Vanish was the winner o Nero Award for category best mystery novel, and in the same year, the book was nominated for Edgar Award and Macavity Award.


These are the best two books by Tess Gerritsen.

Body Double: Dr. Maura Isles, Boston medical examiner, somehow meets her match- she must, however, face a ruthless serial killer and some shattering personal.

Dr. Maura earns her daily bread living with the dead. She is a pathologist in a metropolitan city, and she has come face to face with dead bodies each day, and many of them happen to be victims of murder.

One day she returns home from a conference in Paris only to discover police conducting investigations just outside her home. The victim is her exact double, and the DNA tests performed on the body indicate that the victim is her twin sister.

Dr. Maura happens to an adoptee. Thus she’s not aware of the existence of her twin sister. This stunning revelation prompts Dr. Maura to dig deeper searching for answers existing in her dark past. Dr. Maura does whatever it takes to ensure that she finds the truth about her past and also to uncover the killer going around the country on a murder spree. Body Double is a real page turner from the greatest author of all times. The whole story is filled with more twists than a country road thus ensuring that the reader’s attention is maintained from the first page to the last.

Ice Cold: While in Wyoming for a medical seminar, Dr. Maura joins a group of friends for a ski trip, however when their vehicle stalls, they are left stranded with no help in sight. When night falls, they seek refuge from a nearby blizzard located in a village known as Kingdom Come. What they find shocks them; the community seems abandoned and the meals on the table untouched, the cars as well parked in the garages.

What could have happened to the town’s residents? Could this be a trap set for Maura and her friends?

Several days later, Detective Jane receives griming news that Maura body has been found. Shaken to the core, Jane is determined to establish what exactly happened to her friend. As she conducts more investigation, she is drawn to dark secrets of Kingdom Come. As the truth slowly surfaces, Jane’s closes in on a powerful and merciless enemy- and the cold truth of her friend’s fate.

When Does The Next Tess Gerritsen book come out?

Tess Gerritsen doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is No Reason to Trust and was released on July, 27th 2021.


1 thought on “Tess Gerritsen”

  1. I never bothered to watch the Rizzoli & Isles series on TV. Just didn’t interest me and there is so much on TV that it’s hard to give a new show a try. Then, I got sick. Sitting home one day, nursing a cold, I binged more episodes than I’d like to admit here. Next thing you know, I had a favorite show.

    After finishing all those episodes, I started reading the books and next thing you know, I had a favorite series. I’ve recently tried out some of Gerritsen’s solo books and guess what? I have a new favorite author. Best cold ever.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *