Todd Borg Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Todd Borg is an American author who started writing and publishing fiction in 2001. Borg’s love for reading mystery novels was only ever rivaled by his love for skiing, specifically on great mountain ranges in the Upper West Side. These two objects of his passion eventually drove Borg to change his life.

Get notified when Todd Borg releases a new book at

Order of Josie Strong Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Wilderness Vacation 2024 Description / Buy
2 Wilderness Justice 2024 Description / Buy
3 Wilderness Punishment 2024 Description / Buy
4 Wilderness Threat 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Owen McKenna Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Tahoe Deathfall 2001 Description / Buy
2 Tahoe Blowup 2001 Description / Buy
3 Tahoe Ice Grave 2002 Description / Buy
4 Tahoe Killshot 2004 Description / Buy
5 Tahoe Silence 2007 Description / Buy
6 Tahoe Avalanche 2008 Description / Buy
7 Tahoe Night 2009 Description / Buy
8 Tahoe Heat 2010 Description / Buy
9 Tahoe Hijack 2011 Description / Buy
10 Tahoe Trap 2012 Description / Buy
11 Tahoe Chase 2013 Description / Buy
12 Tahoe Ghost Boat 2014 Description / Buy
13 Tahoe Blue Fire 2015 Description / Buy
14 Tahoe Dark 2016 Description / Buy
15 Tahoe Payback 2017 Description / Buy
16 Tahoe Skydrop 2018 Description / Buy
17 Tahoe Deep 2019 Description / Buy
18 Tahoe Hit 2020 Description / Buy
19 Tahoe Jade 2021 Description / Buy
20 Tahoe Moon 2022 Description / Buy
21 Tahoe Flight 2023 Description / Buy

Todd Borg Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Just to Watch Him Die 2010 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The only reason Todd Borg and his wife moved to Tahoe in 1990 was because of their fixation with skiing. Moving to Tahoe afforded them the opportunity to ski on actual mountains. It was a decision they took after vacationing in the area on a number of occasions. That decision and Todd’s love for Tahoe would go on to impact his writing. The fact that Todd’s books are set in the Lake Tahoe Area proves as much.

Todd is best known for a series of mystery novels starring Detective Owen McKenna, his dog, and various other interesting characters.

Todd Borg Awards

Todd Borg’s mystery novels have done rather well, receiving all manner of accolades in the process. This not only includes the Ben Franklin Award (Best Mystery of the Year) but also Best Thriller honors and Best New Fiction Accolades from entities like the Bay Area Independent Publishers Association, not to mention all the Libraries that have recognized his work.

Borg’s Owen McKenna books can also boast of various starred reviews from newspapers and major trade journals from all over the country. The books have been commended for being action packed and intelligent even while bringing to the fro villains that are very easy to despise.

Best Todd Borg Books

It took Todd Borg a while to finally follow through with his dream of writing fiction; however, once he took that first step in 2001, he never looked back, with some of the best books he has written including the following:

Tahoe Trap: Detective Owen McKenna’s morning begins with a cry for help that he receives from Paco, a young boy calling him over the phone to report the death of his foster mother. Paco is somewhere is Tahoe but he doesn’t know exactly where, primarily because he is trapped in the back of a speeding pickup.

As Owen continues speaking to him over the phone, he learns that the drivers of the pickup are the same men who killed Paco’s mother. Paco is definitely a priority for the two men. Unfortunately for them, they are ignorant of Paco’s presence or the fact that he saw them perform the murder.

Owen wastes no time in attempting to track Paco down, learning in the process that the murderers are actually professionals from Las Vegas who have garnered a reputation for taking their victims down with stun guns before killing them with plastic wrap.

Owen has no idea why the men want the boy. However, he knows that they will never stop coming after Paco. And in trying to stop them once and for all, Owen knows that he must use Paco as bait, even if the boy might die if the plan fails.

The most impressive element of this book is the dialogue which is very telling and impactful. Paco is a curious character, silent and seemingly unemotional, traumatized by a decade of pain.

Owen makes for a great protagonist in his efforts to protect Paco. It is easy to find this book engaging because Todd Borg does a great job of highlighting the actions and reactions of every character.

Tahoe Blue Fire: Detective Owen McKenna doesn’t know what to make of a woman who calls him and claims that her life might be in danger. Owen is ready to dismiss her paranoia. However, when he learns of two other deaths, Owen is forced to take the woman’s claims a little more seriously.

There is a killer on the loose, one whose motivations are intertwined with a precious artifact. All signs point to Adam Simms being the next victim. Simms was a renowned athlete before he retired.

After decades of football, Simms is now struggling with the consequences of traumatic brain injury, and his failing memory becomes a hindrance to Owen’s investigation.

Todd initially rushes through the mystery of this novel. However, just when it looks like a solution to the whole case has finally been identified, Todd throws everything out the window and throws Detective Owen back to square one, forcing readers to rethink everything they had come to presume about the plot.

When Does The Next Todd Borg book come out?

The next book by Todd Borg is Wilderness Vacation and will be released on July, 1st 2024. It is the newest book in the Josie Strong Series.

3 thoughts on “Todd Borg”

  1. I have read all of Todd Borg’s Owen McKenna/Lake Tahoe books. Loved them all and looking forward to the new book in August.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *