Tom Cain Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Tom Cain is the pen name that David Thomas uses to write thriller novels. David had 25 years of experience as a journalist before he sat down to write fiction. Born in 1959 in Moscow, David has done everything from interviewing politicians, athletes, movie stars, and models, to investigating financial scandals in Hollywood and on Wall Street.

Get notified when Tom Cain releases a new book at

Order of Samuel Carver Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Accident Man 2007 Description / Buy
2 No Survivors / The Survivor 2008 Description / Buy
3 Assassin 2009 Description / Buy
4 Dictator 2010 Description / Buy
5 Carver 2011 Description / Buy
6 Revenger 2012 Description / Buy

Order of Hector Cross Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Those in Peril ( By: Wilbur Smith) 2011 Description / Buy
2 Vicious Circle ( By: Wilbur Smith) 2013 Description / Buy
3 Predator ( With: Wilbur Smith) 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

A controversial figure among some readers that have confronted the author for some of his views, David has harbored a passion for thrillers since he was young. His first novel was a satirical sex comedy but he eventually found his way into the thriller genre.

David never hesitates to defend the thriller genre from people that are quick to dismiss it for all the action and sex scenes it features, especially when they categorize it as juvenile fiction designed to satisfy the fantasies of teenage boys.

The author believes that thrillers have been as prevalent throughout history as some of the pretentious literature that certain elites celebrate, present in the works of writers like Tolstoy and Dostoyevsky.

David Thomas developed the ‘Tom Cain’ pseudonym because he believed that it was the sort of name that readers expected to find on the covers of thrillers. He decided to use a pen name because he had spent so many years writing under his real name that he wanted his fiction to stand separately, on its own, under a different persona.

The pseudonym was liberating for David because it allowed him to invent a new voice, one that wasn’t encumbered by the limitations of his real life. Cain is known primarily for Samuel Carver, the hero at the heart of his novels.

The former marine spends his days arranging accidents for enemies of the state. Carver’s first adventure in ‘The Accident Man’ was controversial. ‘The Accident Man’ was Cain’s debut novel and it drew some attention because Cain chose to assimilate the accident that killed Princess Diana into his story.

It was the sort of hook that was supposed to set the literary world alight. Cain was afraid that readers would reject his book because of his decision to use Princess Diana’s death even though he was tactful in the way he approached the incident.

However, while ‘The Accident Man’ attracted some murmurs, it wasn’t the sort of excitement Cain expected, though he believes that her inclusion drove sales in certain circles. He came to the realization later on that Princess Diana wasn’t the draw he initially thought she was and that people had no interest in reading fiction that pulled her into the narrative because they wanted her memory to rest.

Cain wasn’t quite as interested in tackling controversial events in the Samuel Carver novels that followed. He admits that he struggled to write the follow up to ‘The Accident Man’, though his editors were ultimately pleased with the results.

Tom Cain Books into Movies

There were talks with Paramount Pictures to turn ‘The Accident Man’ into a movie in 2007 but the writer’s strike killed these plans.

Best Tom Cain Books

David Thomas has worked for major publications like ‘The Mail on Sunday’ and ‘The Daily Mail’, with some of the best novels he has written as Tom Cain including:

The Accident Man: Samuel Carver is a mysterious man who uses his skills to arrange accidents. When Carver does his best work, the best investigators have no choice but to categorize his assassinations as accidents.

Carver has confidence in his abilities and he doesn’t expect his next job in Paris to present any challenges. However, when things go wrong, Carver ends up on the run, hunted by the very people that hired him. Unfortunately for his enemies, Carver is far more resourceful than they realize.

No Survivors: Carver fought tooth and nail to keep his lover, Alix Petrova, safe from her employers. But he paid a high price, one that left him broken in a sanitarium. Carver thought he had succeeded. But Alix’s masters came calling, all the same, forcing her to leave Carver at his most vulnerable point.

He woke up to find that Alix had been sent off to seduce a military official from the US. Still damaged but just as determined, Carver sets out to reclaim Alix, unaware that his journey would eventually pit him against an unhinged billionaire.

When Does The Next Tom Cain book come out?

Tom Cain doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Revenger and was released on August, 1st 2012. It is the newest book in the Samuel Carver Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *