Torquil MacLeod Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Torquil MacLeod is United Kingdom bestselling author of mystery novels. He was born in Edinburgh and spent his childhood in the north east of England. After working as a teacher in Worcestershire, he went ahead to work in advertising agencies in Birmingham, Newcastle, and Glasgow for three and half decades. Since 2000, he has worked as a full-time freelance writer.

Get notified when Torquil MacLeod releases a new book at

Order of Inspector Anita Sundstrom Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Meet Me in Malmö 2010 Description / Buy
2 Murder in Malmö 2013 Description / Buy
3 Missing in Malmö 2013 Description / Buy
4 Midnight in Malmö 2015 Description / Buy
5 A Malmö Midwinter 2015 Description / Buy
6 Menace in Malmö 2018 Description / Buy
7 Malice in Malmö 2019 Description / Buy
8 Mourning in Malmö 2020 Description / Buy
9 Mammon in Malmö 2021 Description / Buy
10 Mission in Malmö 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Jack Flyford Misadventures Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Sweet Smell of Murder 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

MacLeod is famously known for his Inspector Anita Sundstrom novels. The first book in the series, Meet Me in Malmo was published in 2010.


These are three best books written by Torquil MacLeod; Meet Me in Malmo, Missing in Malmo and Menace in Malmo.

Meet Me in Malmo: In Meet Me in Malmo, a journalist is invited for an interview in Malmo by an old acquaintance who is now one of Sweden’s prominent film directors. However, when he finds the director’s famous movie star wife dead in her apartment, the police department is called in to investigate the cause of death. Among the investigating detectives is Inspector Anita Sundstrom, who soon discovers a list of unending suspects.

As she battles to find out the cause of the antagonisms to some of her colleagues, she soon realizes that the person she is gaining interests towards could even be the killer.

The novel starts off with an unconnected event that occurred 25 years back where a student falls to her death from Durham Cathedral. Fast forward, we meet Ewan Strachan, a journalist who’s in a dead-end job but a chance to redeem himself arises when he is called for an interview by his former campus friend now a famous movie director.

On the morning of his interview with Mick, Strachan finds the body of his friend’s wife in their flat. At this point, the author introduces the main character in the series, Detective Anita. She is beautiful, single and slightly disorganized in her life. She is somehow undervalued member of her team. Her superior, Erik Moberg is somehow jingoistic and quite the opposite of what Anita.

The investigations bring some added pressure given the high profile case of the victim. Overall the debut novel is an enjoyable read. It features a mix of characters, and some bit of police politics spiced in, with some spiky characters ramming heads. Strachan, the primary focus of this book is interesting, sympathetic and his interaction with other characters in the series is a great one, especially his interaction with Anita.

Missing in Malmo: This is a story concerning missing people; first, a teacher connected to Anita former husband and the other person being a British man tracking an heir in Sweden.

On the other hand, Anita has her worries about her son who is heart-broken and a love life that is completely the opposite of what she expected. Soon, the missing people begin showing up, but the problem is that they are being found dead and things are now much complicated more than they seemed at first.

Anita heads back in the United Kingdom to try and find out what the heir hunter was up to in Sweden. Her former husband appears to be the main suspect in a murder case, but the question that lingers in her head us who could have killed the heir hunter and for what reasons?

Meet Me in Malmo is the third novel in Inspector Anita Sundstrom series. It is a good as well as an emotional story. You will be entertained from the first sentence and also be left shocked by the revelations that surface throughout the book.

Menace in Malmo: It is on a late summer evening when a train heading to Ystad from Malmo is involved in a fatal crash. The deaths at the accident scene appear to be simple until one of the bodies is identified as a famous conman. The conman had crossed paths with Chief Inspector Moberg something that makes Moberg curious to find out what the dead con was up to. Before long, it turns out to be a more evil investigation for Anita Sundstrom and her team at Skane County Police. Anita finds it is almost impossible to keep herself focused on the first ever murder case she was ever involved is reopened.

Two decades ago, Anita and her colleagues were sure of the killer’s identity but could not get a substantial evidence for a conviction. Her adversary, Alice is heading up the case and determined to prove Anita wrong. However, while watching helplessly from the sidelines, her case takes a twisted turn after a brutal murder in the streets of Malmo. The fifth series installment novel is quite a great read; there are excellent plotting and great twists and turns along the way.

When Does The Next Torquil MacLeod book come out?

Torquil MacLeod doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Mission in Malmö and was released on June, 1st 2023. It is the newest book in the Inspector Anita Sundstrom Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *