Vicki Delany Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Vicki Delaney is a bestselling Canadian author that writes mystery novels. She has produced fiction under the ‘Eva Gates’ pen name. Best known for the Constable Molly Smith Mystery series, Delany attended Carleton University where she studied Modern History.

Order of Constable Molly Smith Series

1In the Shadow of the Glacier 2007Description / Buy
2Valley of the Lost 2009Description / Buy
3Winter of Secrets 2009Description / Buy
4Negative Image 2010Description / Buy
5Among the Departed 2011Description / Buy
6A Cold White Sun 2013Description / Buy
7Under Cold Stone 2014Description / Buy
8Unreasonable Doubt 2016Description / Buy

Order of Ashley Grant Series

1White Sand Blues (Short Story) 2017Description / Buy
2Blue Water Hues 2018Description / Buy
3Coral Reef Views 2020Description / Buy

Order of Catskill Summer Resort Mysteries Series

1Deadly Summer Nights 2021Description / Buy
2Deadly Director's Cut 2022Description / Buy

Order of Klondike Mysteries Series

1Gold Digger 2009Description / Buy
2Gold Fever 2010Description / Buy
3Gold Mountain 2012Description / Buy
4Gold Web 2013Description / Buy

Order of Lighthouse Library Mystery Series as Eva Gates

1By Book or By Crook ( As: Eva Gates) 2015Description / Buy
2Booked for Trouble ( As: Eva Gates) 2015Description / Buy
3Reading Up a Storm ( As: Eva Gates) 2016Description / Buy
4The Spook in the Stacks ( As: Eva Gates) 2018Description / Buy
5Something Read, Something Dead ( As: Eva Gates) 2019Description / Buy
6Read and Buried ( As: Eva Gates) 2019Description / Buy
7A Death Long Overdue 2020Description / Buy
8Deadly Ever After 2021Description / Buy

Order of Ray Robertson Series

1Juba Good (Short Story) 2014Description / Buy
2Haitian Graves 2015Description / Buy
3Blood and Belonging (Short Story) 2017Description / Buy

Order of Rest Ye Murdered Gentlemen Series

1Whiteout 2000Description / Buy
2Scare the Light Away 2005Description / Buy
3Burden of Memory 2006Description / Buy
4Murder at Lost Dog Lake 2011Description / Buy
5More Than Sorrow 2012Description / Buy

Order of Sherlock Holmes Bookshop Mystery Series

1Elementary, She Read 2017Description / Buy
2Body on Baker Street 2017Description / Buy
3The Cat of the Baskervilles 2018Description / Buy
4A Scandal in Scarlet 2018Description / Buy
5There's a Murder Afoot 2020Description / Buy
6A Curious Incident 2021Description / Buy
7A Three Book Problem 2022Description / Buy

Order of Tea by the Sea Mysteries Series

1Tea & Treachery 2020Description / Buy
2Murder in a Teacup 2021Description / Buy

Order of Year-Round Christmas Mysteries Series

1Rest Ye Murdered Gentlemen 2015Description / Buy
2We Wish You a Murderous Christmas 2016Description / Buy
3Hark the Herald Angels Slay 2017Description / Buy
4Silent Night, Deadly Night 2019Description / Buy
5Dying in a Winter Wonderland 2020Description / Buy

Order of Vicki Delany Short Stories/Novellas

1A Winter Kill (Short Story) 2012Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

She stood out from many of her classmates because she wasn’t quite as interested in all the big wars that the major historical figures had fought. Rather, she was drawn to the stories of the ordinary people that had to survive the difficult circumstances surrounding those wars.

As a young woman, Delany’s life took an interesting turn when she abandoned her studies during her final year at Carleton University. She went to South Africa, married a man she met in the country, and started a family.

Born in Winnipeg, Manitoba, the author returned to Canada 11 years later. But this time, she had three daughters to care for. Her experiences in Africa where eye-opening, revealing to Delany the sort of oppression that was foreign to most Canadians.

The author was working as a computer programmer in a bank when she took an interest in writing. If she was to point to one moment that placed her on the path to publishing success, she would probably highlight the days she spent in her creative writing class.

As a single mother, Delany’s life was somewhat hectic. On one occasion, Delany was struggling with a problem concerning her teenage daughter when her writing class tasked her with keeping a journey for a few days.

Delany did not set out to write fiction. She just needed an escape, and her imagination gave her just that by compelling her to pen a story about a middle-aged computer professional. Delany only wrote the first chapter. It was hardly the exercise her teachers had asked her to do.

However, she read the chapter out loud to the class and they loved it. This was all the encouragement the author needed to keep writing. Because of the demands of her work and family, Delany would only write on Sundays, specifically in the afternoon.

This was the only period of freedom she could carve out. The author’s writing sessions were often accompanied by some music (Bruce Springsteen) and a drink (tea or wine). Her progress was slow. Her daughters matured and eventually left, and this allowed Delany to dedicate more time to her craft.

She wrote and published several suspense novels. But even with her mild success, Delany wasn’t writing to her satisfaction. That changed when she left her job in 2007, sold her house, and moved to Ontario. There, she found that she had all the time in the world to write.

The author’s writing efforts were initially limited to psychological suspense. She produced several novels in the genre before abandoning it to write cozy mysteries. While some of her psychological suspense novels were well-received, Vicki Delaney did not enjoy writing them.

She did not appreciate their grim subjects and the suffering her characters endured. She was actually on the verge of quitting as a writer when cozy mysteries entered the picture. They were so fun to write that they reignited the author’s love for her career.

Vicki Delaney Awards

Delany’s list of nominations includes the Arthur Ellis, Golden Oak (Ontario Library Association), Derringer, and Bony Blithe Awards.

Vicki Delaney Books into Movies

Brightlight Pictures optioned the Constable Molly Smith Series for TV.

Best Vicki Delaney Books

Delany has been praised for her interesting protagonists, great settings, and penchant for creating a tense atmosphere, with some of her best novels including:

Elementary. She Read: Gemma Doyle was expected to manage her Great Uncle’s Sherlock Holmes establishment, which is why she had returned to the town of West London. She was excited to stumble upon Sherlock Holmes’ first story in a rare magazine.

Gemma was trying to find the magazine’s owner when she encountered a dead body. Now the police are starting to suspect her of a crime she did not commit. Her only hope is to solve the mystery before the detectives investigating the case incarcerate her.

Rest Ye Murdered Gentlemen: Merry Wilkinson is confident that her float will blow the rest of her competition in the Santa Clause parade away. She has a talent for decorating homes, especially during the holidays. Merry’s confidence suffers a blow when the tractor that should have pulled her float is sabotaged.

Merry doesn’t want to make any accusations just yet, not when a reporter is writing a piece praising her town’s Christmas spirit. When the reporter in question is murdered, Merry is forced to don her detective hat.

When Does The Next Vicki Delany book come out?

The next book by Vicki Delany is A Three Book Problem and will be released on January, 11th 2022. It is the newest book in the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop Mystery Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *