W. Bruce Cameron Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

W. Bruce Cameron is an American author and columnist best known for ‘A Dog’s Purpose.’ Born in 1956 in Petoskey, Michigan, Cameron’s fans first met the author when he wrote ‘8 Simple Rules For Dating My Teenage Daughter,’ which became a TV show.

Get notified when W. Bruce Cameron releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Dog's Purpose Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Dog's Purpose 2010 Description / Buy
2 A Dog's Journey 2012 Description / Buy
3 A Dog's Promise 2019 Description / Buy

Order of Dog's Purpose Puppy Tales Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Ellie's Story 2015 Description / Buy
2 Bailey's Story 2016 Description / Buy
3 Molly's Story 2017 Description / Buy
4 Max's Story 2018 Description / Buy
5 Shelby's Story 2018 Description / Buy
6 Toby's Story 2019 Description / Buy
7 Lily's Story 2019 Description / Buy
8 Bella's Story 2020 Description / Buy
9 Cooper's Story 2021 Description / Buy
10 Lacey's Story 2022 Description / Buy

Order of A Dog's Way Home Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Dog's Way Home 2017 Description / Buy
2 A Dog's Courage 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Dogs With A Purpose Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Zeus: Water Rescue 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Lily to the Rescue! Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Lily to the Rescue (Short Story) 2020 Description / Buy
2 Two Little Piggles (Short Story) 2020 Description / Buy
3 The Not-So-Stinky Skunk (Short Story) 2020 Description / Buy
4 Dog Dog Goose (Short Story) 2020 Description / Buy
5 Lost Little Leopard (Short Story) 2021 Description / Buy
6 The Misfit Donkey (Short Story) 2021 Description / Buy
7 Foxes in a Fix (Short Story) 2021 Description / Buy
8 The Three Bears (Short Story) 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Ruddy McCann Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Midnight Plan of the Repo Man 2014 Description / Buy
2 The Midnight Dog of the Repo Man (Short Story) 2014 Description / Buy
3 Repo Madness 2016 Description / Buy

Order of W. Bruce Cameron Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Emory's Gift 2011 Description / Buy
2 A Dog for Christmas / The Dogs of Christmas 2013 Description / Buy
3 The Dog Master 2015 Description / Buy
4 A Dog's Perfect Christmas 2020 Description / Buy
5 Love, Clancy: Diary of a Good Dog 2023 Description / Buy
6 My Three Dogs 2024 Description / Buy

Order of W. Bruce Cameron Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 8 Simple Rules for Dating My Teenage Daughter 2001 Description / Buy
2 How to Remodel a Man 2004 Description / Buy
3 8 Simple Rules for Marrying My Daughter 2008 Description / Buy
4 A Dad's Purpose 2017 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

He followed it up with ‘8 Simple Rules For Marrying My Daughter.’ However, it wasn’t until he wrote ‘A Dog’s Purpose’ that Cameron’s career skyrocketed.

By that point, the author had already made a name for himself in some circles because of the articles he contributed to ‘Creators Syndicate.’ ‘A Dog’s Purpose’ and the many dog-related books that followed were inspired by the author’s obsession with dogs.

From what he has seen, dogs are incredibly loyal. They always wait in anticipation for their owners to come back home, and they tend to manifest an aura of joy that lightens the mood in every house.

They will also respond to your mood, sensing melancholy and taking steps to lift your spirits. Cameron understands dogs better than most because he got his first dog at the age of 8.

His father came home one random day with a Labrador puppy that jumped into his arms and changed Cameron’s life forever. The pair loved one another for the next few years.

When ‘A Dog’s Purpose’ became a movie, people saw Cameron’s initial encounter with Cammie recreated on the big screen. He remembers the dog vividly because she came into his life when the author was just starting to form a solid understanding of who he was as a person.

Cammie’s death devastated the author. But eventually, the pain went away. Years later, Cameron was out in the mountains, riding his bike, when he heard the bark of a dog. He stopped, turned, and saw a canine chained to a house.

Cameron was transfixed by the sight, not just because the dog looked at him with friendly eyes but also because her gaze reminded the author of Cammie. For a moment, he couldn’t help but wonder whether this new dog was actually Cammie.

The notion of dogs reincarnating over and over again fascinated him. But he dismissed the idea and moved on. In 2008, Cameron’s girlfriend lost her first dog, and the pain threatened to overwhelm her.

The author wanted to console her, but he couldn’t find the words to put her at ease. So, he tried a different tactic. Cameron started telling her a story about a special dog that was not only reborn whenever it died, but the canine remembered its previous life.

That story became ‘A Dog’s Purpose,’ and it helped Cameron’s girlfriend heal. She eventually married him.

W. Bruce Cameron Awards

Cameron’s accolades include Michigan Notable Books and the Robert Benchley Society Award.

W. Bruce Cameron Books into Movies

‘A Dog’s Purpose’ and ‘A Dog’s Journey’ became live-action movies. ‘8 Simple Rules For Dating My Teenage Daughter’ became an ABC sitcom.

Best W. Bruce Cameron Books

The author takes great pleasure in receiving messages from readers whose lives have been transformed by his books. Cameron’s best books include:

A Dog’s Purpose: Bailey was just a stray mutt. He was destined for a simple, potentially meaningless existence. But then he died tragically and awoke in the body of a puppy. Bailey was reborn.

This time, he had an owner, a loving 8-year-old boy. Bailey lived a happy life with the boy. But again, he died. Bailey had a purpose, and the universe would continue reincarnating him until he found it.

A Dog’s Journey: Buddy had lived several lives, most of them eventful. But it was done. After an exciting journey, he was finally ready to rest. But Clarity was a curiosity. The baby was constantly stumbling into trouble.

She wasn’t his problem. Buddy had already discovered his purpose, and he had fulfilled it. But the dog couldn’t keep Clarity out of his mind. She clearly needed a dog to keep her safe.

Just as he had suspected, Buddy died and came back in a new body. Clarity was now a teenager, and she had adopted him. Buddy wanted desperately to help her, but destiny had seen fit to separate them. Now, Buddy doesn’t know how Clarity will survive without him.

When Does The Next W. Bruce Cameron book come out?

The next book by W. Bruce Cameron is My Three Dogs and will be released on October, 29th 2024.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *