Zoë Sharp Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Zoe Sharp is an English author that writes action-thriller novels. Born in Nottinghamshire, Sharp spent several years aboard a catamaran. She attended a private girl’s school for a while. But then, at the age of 12, she turned to correspondence courses that she could do from home, abandoning mainstream education altogether.

Order of Blake & Byron Thrillers Series

1The Last Time She Died 2021Description / Buy

Order of Charlie Fox Series

1Killer Instinct 2001Description / Buy
2Riot Act 2002Description / Buy
3Hard Knocks 2003Description / Buy
4First Drop 2004Description / Buy
5Road Kill 2005Description / Buy
6Second Shot 2007Description / Buy
7Third Strike 2008Description / Buy
8Fourth Day 2010Description / Buy
9Fifth Victim 2011Description / Buy
10Die Easy 2012Description / Buy
11Absence of Light 2013Description / Buy
12Fox Hunter 2017Description / Buy
13Bad Turn 2019Description / Buy
14Trial Under Fire 2021Description / Buy

Order of Charlie Fox Short Stories/Novellas

1Fox Five (Short Story) 2011Description / Buy
2Truth And Lies (Short Story) 2011Description / Buy
3Across the Broken Line (Short Story) 2011Description / Buy
4Off Duty (Short Story) 2011Description / Buy
5A Bridge Too Far (Short Story) 2011Description / Buy
6Served Cold (Short Story) 2011Description / Buy
7Postcards From Another Country (Short Story) 2011Description / Buy

Order of Zoë Sharp Short Stories/Novellas

1The Night Butterflies (Short Story) 2012Description / Buy
2Tell Me (Short Story) 2012Description / Buy
3Last Right (Short Story) 2012Description / Buy
4Rules of Engagement (Short Story) 2013Description / Buy
5An Italian Job (Short Story) 2016Description / Buy

Order of Zoë Sharp Standalone Novels

1The Blood Whisperer 2013Description / Buy
2Dancing On The Grave 2018Description / Buy

Zoë Sharp Anthologies

1 Mystery Writers of America Presents Vengeance2012Description / Buy
2 Murder Under the Oaks2015Description / Buy
3 Writers Crushing COVID-192020Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Sharp was an active teenager that did all kinds of jobs. She drove vans, worked with a yacht delivery crew, and instructed horse riding aspirants, to mention but a few. The author’s foray into publishing can be traced back to the work she did as a photojournalist.

It only took one accepted article to draw the author into the field of journalism. Realizing that she could make ends meet as a freelance photojournalist, she abandoned her other jobs and dedicated her time and energy to the arena.

The work was rewarding. It took her to places like Japan and the US. ‘Killer Instinct’, her first novel, was finally published in 2001. This paved the way for Sharp to become a full-time fiction author.

Even though ‘Killer Instinct’ was published in 2001, Zoe Sharp was just 15 when she wrote her first novel. Her father typed it before Sharp submitted it to the major publishers. The manuscript was soundly rejected.

However, the publishers in question were far from harsh. They had rejected her first novel but they wanted to see more from her. They could tell that she had talent. Unfortunately for Sharp, she had nothing to show at the time.

The years she spent writing nonfiction kept her quite busy. She turned her interest in cars into a career by writing articles about cars for magazines. She explored both contemporary and vintage models. The author was still working as a freelance photographer at the time.

However, her interest in fiction never waned. Sharp was an avid reader. She was particularly interested in crime fiction. That interest was cemented during her days as a magazine columnist when she started receiving death threats from an individual that the police failed to identify.

By the 1990s, Sharp had started to actively consider the possibility of writing crime fiction. Her decision to focus her writing efforts on the character of Charlie Fox can be imputed to the fact that she couldn’t find any satisfying female characters in the crime thriller genre.

Most of the female characters Sharp encountered were either love interests or damsels in distress that had to be rescued by the male protagonist. She decided to go against the grain by introducing a tough female protagonist with a military background and a rough edge.

It took Sharp several years to perfect the story for ‘Killer Instinct’. She admits that she made several mistakes that she eventually fixed once she landed an agent. Sharp has found that it is much harder to write fiction for money than it is to write for your own amusement. Though that hasn’t stopped her from enjoying what she does.

Zoe Sharp Awards

The UK Crime Writer’s Association has shortlisted Sharp’s work for the Short Story Dagger in the past.

Best Zoe Sharp Books

Sharp is a married woman who loves everything from driving fast cars to sailing and target shooting. Some of her best novels include:

Killer Instinct: The New Adelphi has a new owner, and Marc Quinn wants Charlie Fox to join his team. The fact that the security team is all-male isn’t Charlie’s biggest problem. Someone killed Susie Hollins and evidence suggests that she was the victim of a local serial rapist.

After being kicked out of the army, Charlie was making ends meet by teaching women to fight. Susie’s death became a problem because she died shortly after tussling with Charlie. Charlie knows that the police will eventually turn its sights on her.

She is also convinced that her new place of employment is somehow connected to the homicidal rapist that killed Susie. Unfortunately for her, all the questions she keeps asking have made her a target.

First Drop: Charlie was convinced that babysitting Trey Pelzner would be a walk in the park. She never expected her first assignment as a bodyguard to present much of a challenge. But then someone attempted to snatch Trey.

If that wasn’t bad enough, Charlie learned that the boy’s father and her boss had disappeared at the same time. Now she stands alone against an enemy that will stop at nothing to get her 15-year-old charge.

When Does The Next Zoë Sharp book come out?

The next book by Zoë Sharp is The Last Time She Died and will be released on October, 20th 2021. It is the newest book in the Blake & Byron Thrillers Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *