A Yellow Rose Mystery Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

A Yellow Rose Mystery is a series of mystery suspense romance novels written by Leann Sweeney. The books follow the exploits of an heiress who solves mysteries.

Get notified when Leann Sweeney releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Yellow Rose Mysteries Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Pick Your Poison ( By: Leann Sweeney) 2004 Description / Buy
2 A Wedding to Die For ( By: Leann Sweeney) 2005 Description / Buy
3 Dead Giveaway ( By: Leann Sweeney) 2005 Description / Buy
4 Shoot from the Lip ( By: Leann Sweeney) 2007 Description / Buy
5 Pushing Up Bluebonnets ( By: Leann Sweeney) 2008 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

When readers first meet Abbey Rose in Pick Your Poison, the first novel in the Yellow Rose Mystery series, she is out of school and out of work and, as a result, she has little to no motivation for life.

Fortunately, Abby is far from broke. Abby lives with her twin sister Kate in their wealthy home in Texas. Abby and Kate were adopted by Charlie Rose. When he died, Abby and her sister inherited his considerable wealth.

By the time Pick your Poison starts, Abby is struggling to balance her emotions over the death of her adopted father with the upheaval her life has suffered in recent times. She might have all the money she could ever want but Abby is without purpose and that is making her rather miserable.

Her life takes an interesting turn when Abby’s gardener asks to talk to her and her sister. Ben seems to know something about the sisters’ biological parents. But before he can reveal the truth to his charges, someone kills him.

This puts Abby on the warpath. She makes it her mission to not only identify Ben’s killer but to discover the secret surrounding their biological family. She is joined in her efforts by a police detective who shows a more than casual interest in Abby.

While the Yellow Rose Mystery series sometimes concerns itself with exploring Abby’s past and her relationship with her family, both biological and adopted, the sequels to Pick Your Poison focus primarily on the heroine’s ascension to the position of Private Detective.

Abby realizes that she has a knack for the field after she successfully maneuvers the situation surrounding her biological family and the death of her gardener. But because she has an inheritance that will keep her fed and sheltered for the rest of her life, Abby chooses to pursue private investigative work not because she needs the money but, rather, she wants to help people like her; men and women, boys and girls who want answers about their origins.

Each new installment in the series gives Abby a new client, an individual that has been separated from a family member in some way and who Abby believes she can help.

Most of Abby’s cases tend to start out as simple mysteries that require her to deliver answers and reunite families; but an unexpected occurrence always throws a nefarious crime into the mix, typically a murder.

Leann Sweeney was inspired to write the Yellow Rose Mystery series after she read a magazine article that detailed the workings of a doctor who trafficked in illegal adoptions.

Best Yellow Rose Mystery Books

The Yellow Rose Mystery novels are normally praised for their touching mysteries and endless twists and turns, with some of the best books in the series including:

Dead Giveaway: Abby Rose is an adopted heiress that runs a private detective agency purposed towards reuniting families. So when Will Knight and his adoptive parents reach out to her, Abby is more than happy to answer their call.

Will is a young mixed race NCAA basketball star who was left on the doorstep of an eccentric woman when he was a baby. There’s every reason to believe that she’s been stalking him. When Abby and Will begin delving into the case, they are shocked to encounter murder.

Shoot from the Lip: Abby spends her days helping families reunite. And she is determined to help Emma Lopez who has been caring for her three siblings ever since their mother disappeared.

When Abby agrees to work with a hotshot producer on a television show that claims to make people’s dreams come true, she does so in the hopes of helping Emma. She does not expect to encounter a nefarious force that seems determined to keep her from giving Emma a happy ending.

Other Book Series You May Like

You may also enjoy reading the “Mrs. Jeffries” Series by Emily Brightwell. This cozy mystery series set in Victorian England follows the exploits of Gerald Witherspoon, an inspector at the Metropolitan Police Department who solves crimes and mysteries in the company of Mrs. Jeffries, his housekeeper.

Another fine read is the “Enchanted Garden Mystery” Series by Bailey Cattrell. Elliana Allbright runs a perfume shop in Poppyville, California. She has an enchanting garden behind her shop that draws people of all ages with its flowers. When Ellie isn’t making perfumes, she can be found solving mysteries and crimes.

What Is The Next Book in The Yellow Rose Mysteries Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Yellow Rose Mysteries Series. The newest book is Pushing Up Bluebonnets and was released on January, 1st 2008.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *