Adam Dalgleish Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Adam Dalgleish is the main character in a series of mystery novels written by British bestselling author P.D. James. Dalgleish works in at New Scotland Yard in London where he starts off as a Detective Chief Inspector and subsequently rises through the ranks as the series progresses. The character made its debut in 1962 when the first novel in the series Cover Her Face was published and since then over dozen books have been issued.

Order of Adam Dalgliesh Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Cover Her Face (By: P.D. James) 1962 Description / Buy
2 A Mind to Murder (By: P.D. James) 1963 Description / Buy
3 Unnatural Causes (By: P.D. James) 1967 Description / Buy
4 Shroud for a Nightingale (By: P.D. James) 1971 Description / Buy
5 The Black Tower (By: P.D. James) 1975 Description / Buy
6 Death of an Expert Witness (By: P.D. James) 1977 Description / Buy
7 A Taste for Death (By: P.D. James) 1986 Description / Buy
8 Devices and Desires (By: P.D. James) 1989 Description / Buy
9 Original Sin (By: P.D. James) 1994 Description / Buy
10 A Certain Justice (By: P.D. James) 1997 Description / Buy
11 Death in Holy Orders (By: P.D. James) 2001 Description / Buy
12 The Murder Room (By: P.D. James) 2003 Description / Buy
13 The Lighthouse (By: P.D. James) 2005 Description / Buy
14 The Private Patient (By: P.D. James) 2008 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF


James has won and also been nominated for various awards, for instance, The Mistletoe Murder was featured in 2016 Publishers Weekly starred review. Shroud for a Nightingale was nominated for 1972 Edgar Allan Poe Award. In 1987 A Taste for Death won the Macavity Award for the best Mystery Novel. An Unsuitable Job for a Woman was nominated for 1974 Edgar Allan Poe Award.


These are three best novels in Adam Dalgleish series written by P.D. James, Cover Her Face, Shroud for Nightingale and A Taste for Death.

Cover Her Face: This is the first novel in Adam Dalgleish series by P.D. James. In this first installment, we meet Sally Jupp, a headstrong and charming young housemaid who is put rudely in her place. She has been strangled to death in her bed just behind a bolted door. Adam Dalgliesh, a Scotland Yard detective, is assigned to find the person who murdered the beautiful girl, and he must find her killer among an endless list of suspects and most of whom had good reasons to wish her ill.

Enter Detective Chief Inspector Adam Dalgliesh who has a host of possible suspects and motives as well. The first novel is a brilliant read which is extremely well plotted; you will like how the author presents Sally Jupp. She is portrayed as a young and sympathetic woman who nobody seemed to like; you will also love the fact that the author has added some twists and turns that will keep you hooked from the first page to the last.

Shroud for a Nightingale: The fourth book in Adam Dalgleish series. The story begins with Miss Muriel Beale departing for the day of John Carpendar Hospital Inspection. However, her first impression, when she arises at Nightingale House, is that it is unfit for a nurse training school. When the inspection kicks off with a demo by the student’s nurses, a murder occurs and a few moments later a student nurse is killed. According to the death patterns and their nature, it is apparently clear that a killer is on the loose and he or she needs to be stopped and to prevent more murders from happening, Adam Dalgliesh is called to investigate.

The fourth series installment is an assured mystery with loads of great characters ranging from Mr. Stephen Courtney Brigs an arrogant surgeon to Mary Taylor and the Nurses and the Sisters who work and live in Nightingale House. There’s little privacy in Nightingale House, and soon the detective discovers of the petty squabbles, the affairs, and the secrets that surround the hospital. As he investigates into the past of the residents of Nightingale House, he unravels the truth, a truth that could see many people die if he doesn’t act fast.

A Taste for Death: In the seventh series installment in Adam Dalgleish, after St. Matthew’s Church becomes a blood soaked after two people are murdered, the Scotland Yard Commander Dalgliesh is called to investigate the case. However, this case proves somehow complicated, and the question that arises are more than the answers possible.

Challenged by an investigation of a case that seems to have endless motives, the Scotland Yard detective investigates the complex and villainous web spun around a violet-eyed widow who is pregnant and a half burnt diary while piecing together the possible clues and gathering the answers to what led to the double homicides.


If you like Adam Dalgleish series by P.D. James, you will also find these other two novel series worthy reads. “Brian McDone Mysteries” by Ryan Casey which feature Brian McDone a cop based in Preston Police Department.

An “Anthony Carrick Mystery” by Jason Blacker is also an ideal match for you. This hardboiled detective fiction series features a protagonist named Anthony Carrick who makes use of his humor and guts to solve murders and also deal with other dirty details of people lives.

What Is The Next Book in The Adam Dalgliesh Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Adam Dalgliesh Series. The newest book is The Private Patient and was released on January, 1st 2008.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *