Akimbo Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Akimbo book series is one of the best performing series by the critically acclaimed author, Alexander Smith. The books and the storylines in this series are exceedingly short; however, they are full of illustrations and important lessons. All the books, take place in Africa and feature the seven-year-old, Akimbo who is the son of a wildlife guard. All the books in the series have an element of suspense and danger thus will keep children and young students engaged. The first and second book in the series are some of the best performing books in the Akimbo book series. Throughout the books, the protagonist has to deal with various issues such as poaching, friendship, and many others.

Get notified when Alexander McCall Smith releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Akimbo Series By: Alexander McCall Smith, LeUyen Pham

# Read Title Published Details
1 Akimbo and the Lions (Short Story) (By: Alexander McCall Smith, LeUyen Pham) 1992 Description / Buy
2 Akimbo and the Crocodile Man (By: Alexander McCall Smith, LeUyen Pham) 1993 Description / Buy
3 Akimbo and the Elephants (By: Alexander McCall Smith, LeUyen Pham) 2005 Description / Buy
4 Akimbo and the Snakes (By: Alexander McCall Smith, LeUyen Pham) 2006 Description / Buy
5 Akimbo and the Baboons (Short Story) (By: Alexander McCall Smith, LeUyen Pham) 2008 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Akimbo Awards

None of the books in this series have been nominated for any major awards.

Akimbo Books into Movies

The Akimbo series is yet to be adapted into a screenplay.

Best Akimbo Series Books.

Akimbo and the Elephants: This is one of the best performing books in the Akimbo series by the critically acclaimed author, McCall Smith. This series centers on the main protagonist, Akimbo, who is a seven-year-old child. In this installment, Akimbo becomes aware that there are individuals who are involved in the poaching of elephants; they kill the elephants and then extract their tasks. One day, when he was walking with his father who is a ranger, they came across a dead elephant together with its calf. Akimbo was bothered greatly by sight, thus he decided to act. Upon discussing with his father, Akimbo becomes aware that it is exceedingly difficult to arrest the poachers and also bring them to justice. Thus, Akimbo comes up with a plan, which he believes will bring the poachers to justice.

He will first gather proof about the illegal activities of the poachers and then he will give his father this information so that the individuals who were involved in the illegal activities. While executing this plan, Akimbo is in the process exposed to extremely great danger. However, irrespective of everything, Akimbo makes his mind that the unexpected behavior of these people is worth the risk. This story informs the reader about how the protagonist was going to achieve this. Akimbo and the Elephants is a great children’s book.

Akimbo and the Lions: This is another great addition to the series and one of the best performing books. Like the previous installment, this book can be a great teaching aid. As expected, the author, McCall awakens Africa in this installment. The book is also brimming with essential words, which can assist young children in the development of their vocabularies. This book introduces the concept of a food chain, where the reader gets to learn that Simba is a Swahili word for a lion. Thus, this installment is a cross-curricular tool that can be used for teaching the child on subjects such as History and Geography.

The element of adventure and danger in this book is going to keep many young children exceedingly interested throughout the book, and there are several opportunities to encourage and also promote problem-solving and various discussions. The book also has an entire chapter, which has been dedicated to friendship; thus this chapter can be used to explore friendship as a concept with the entire class. The main plot in this book involves Akimbo, and the local farmers chase the lion cub that he adopted after the lion’s mother. As the lion grows, both the reader and Akimbo are going to worry about what the lion is going to become.

Other Books That You May Like

“The Carver Chronicles” is another excellent read, which is aimed at children. Karen English who is one of those writers who truly understand their audience has authored the series. She truly understands the manner in which children act and also how they learn. The first book in the series is Dog Days, and she begins the books, which follows the children at the Carver Elementary School. This installment follows the life of one Garvin. Garvin has recently become friends with Richard. They end up being friends after they get in trouble. In the long run, Richard walks his aunt’s dog as payback for his elder sister. Furthermore, Garvin attracts the attention of the school bully. Is Garvin going to be harassed by the school bully or is he going to survive the deal? This is an excellent read for children and contains lots of important lessons.

What Is The Next Book in The Akimbo Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Akimbo Series. The newest book is Akimbo and the Baboons and was released on October, 14th 2008.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *