Ballad of Sir Benfro Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

James Oswald is an established author, best known for the Inspector McLean book series. The first two installments in the Inspector McLean book series received nominations for the coveted CWA Dagger Awards.

Get notified when James Oswald releases a new book at

Order of Ballad of Sir Benfro Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dreamwalker ( By: James Oswald) 2012 Description / Buy
2 The Rose Cord ( By: James Oswald) 2012 Description / Buy
3 The Golden Cage ( By: James Oswald) 2012 Description / Buy
4 The Broken World ( By: James Oswald) 2015 Description / Buy
5 The Obsidian Throne ( By: James Oswald) 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The Inspector McLean book series is set in Edinburgh and introduce the readers to Detective Tony McLean, an unlucky policeman, who can see beneath the surface of the ordinary criminal life, all the way to the menacing and dark truth, which lurks beneath. Author James Oswald also writes a classic fantasy series titled Ballad of Sir Benfro. Inspired by the folklore of Wales and the language as well, the Ballad of Sir Benfro follows the escapades of Sir Benfro, a young dragon, in a place where dragons are near extinction.

Author James Oswald has resided in Scotland, England, and Wales, such that he is eligible to play for their respective rugby teams. Before becoming a published author, James Oswald did a number of jobs including Call Center Assistance, Sheep Shit Sampling, and many others. Currently, James Oswald resides in a huge Caravan, within a Dutch Barn with four dogs. During daytime, James Oswald farms Romney Sheep and Highland Cows. At night time, James Oswald can be found putting his creative ideas into writing.

Best Ballad of Sir Benfro Books

Dreamwalker: Linguistically, Dreamwalker is quite straightforward, the plotlines are much similar to those immersed in the fantasy culture, and the prose moves superbly with a benign pace. Author Oswald draws many of the characters in Dreamwalker, from a rather common pool of fantasy characters, whom the readers know extremely well.

Due to these reasons, Ballad of Sir Benfro blends in a fable of an Evil Queen, dragons and a surreptitious inquisition, with a coming of age narrative sheathed around magic and prophecy. In Dreamwalker, the readers will lope easily along common fantasy narrative scenes such as a young hero or heroine defeating evil, or learning discipline through mysterious hard labor.

Alongside all these rites of passages is a narrative where murder, upheaval, megalomania and political shenanigans abound. Dreamwalker is a traditional fantasy novel, where the main characters are children who were born during a prophetic night and in a world that they must save from the brinks of damnation.

The traditional fantasy plotline is interwoven with a tight narrative of men and dragons, enhanced with an Arthurian-esque romance and strongly Celtic mythology. Moonwalker revolves around the first ever male dragon in more than one thousand years. Benfro is a young dragon within a secret community of dragons, which live deep within the forest.

The secret community was once fearless, proud and mighty. When we meet with the dragon community, they are not only afraid of men, but they are also walkers and hidden deep within the forest. Apart from Sir Benfro, author Oswald also introduces the readers to Errol, a human child, born on the same day and time as Benfro. Despite sharing a birthday, Errol and Benfro do not meet for a great course of the narrative.

The Rose Cord: Just like Dreamwalker, the Rose Cord follows the escapades and continual struggles of Benfro and Errol. Despite the fact that the Rose Cord is less eventful than the first installment, it still carves out an intense and great narrative. Moreover, it also introduces the readers to a new set of characters. The Rose Cord begins from where the first installment had left off from.

All the characters in Rose Cord were quite interesting. The readers will get to know what happened to most of these characters and. Author Oswald knows when to switch the point of view and thus does not allow the narrative to slow down or become boring. The descriptions, on the other hand, are also quite amazing. While there are moments, when the descriptions will be a little bit detailed, they make it quite easy to get immersed in the world that author James Oswald creates.

Other Book Series You May Like

Oathtaker is the first installment in the “Oathtaker” book series by author Patricia Reding. When the protagonist, Mara is attracted to the Select’s scent to fight the underworld beasts, brought to earth by the powers of evil, Mara takes an oath to offer protection of her charge. With her attendant magic, a powerful weapon, and the assistance of a spymaster and two ancients, Mara is determined to protect her kingdom from assassins, sent to end Oosa’s rule.

What Is The Next Book in The Ballad Of Sir Benfro Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Ballad Of Sir Benfro Series. The newest book is The Obsidian Throne and was released on October, 20th 2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *