Baron Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Baron is a series of novels written by Catherine Coulter. Coulter has garnered a reputation for writing spicy romance novels set in the Regency Era in England. The Baron books do not really differ that drastically from the other historical romance novels that Coulter has written.

Get notified when Catherine Coulter releases a new book at

Order of Baron Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Wild Baron ( By: Catherine Coulter) 1981 Description / Buy
2 An Honorable Offer / The Offer ( By: Catherine Coulter) 1981 Description / Buy
3 An Intimate Deception / The Deception ( By: Catherine Coulter) 1983 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

First published in the 1980s and revised later on, the books are a trilogy like so many of Coulter’s series. Coulter has admitted to having an affinity for trilogies, primarily because they allow her to keep her beloved characters alive.

Speaking of which, the characters in the Baron series are amongst Coulter’s most popular. Coulter has built a reputation upon her habit of creating very unlikeable characters. It has been argued that Coulter merely represents the times exactly as they were.

The Regency Era wasn’t exactly known for its morality; the men were crude and the women were not nearly as combative in the face of mistreatment. Coulter has never shied away from showing the sexism of England in centuries gone by. And some readers have protested against some of her creative choices.

The Baron series doesn’t stray that far from some of these tropes. However, Coulter actually makes the characters in these books more sympathetic. They have heart and even a sense of honor even if they still display some warped sensibilities.

Coulter shines because of the humor she peppers throughout the books, especially the wit in her dialogue. The books have a firmer connection that many of Coulter’s other Regency Era trilogies which only make brief mentions of previous characters.

Best Baron Books

Coulter’s books often cause contention amongst fans who cannot decide whether or not they are offensive, with some of the best books in the series including the following:

The Wild Baron: Rohan Carrington has garnered a reputation famous even as the scion of a family known for its philandering ways. Rohan always dismissed his brother George for being a prude. As such, he is surprised to learn that George ruined a lady.

Rohan finds the claim very difficult to believe. His brother was a scholar, a serious man with no time for Rohan’s womanizing habits. The woman in question, Susannah, soon makes an appearance and rejects suggestions about her ruination, instead revealing her three-year-old daughter and a whole host of problems.

Susannah and Rohan come together to contend with a series of natural and paranormal complications.

This book is one of Coulter’s most popular because the hero is such an amazing character. Rohan is the son of two feckless and rakish parents. As such, he is pretty much what you might expect, maintaining the reputation and image of his family, at least in public.

In private, Rohan is are more grounded, more than happy to live a modest life. The heroine is strong and determined to overcome her baggage. This book has a lot of complicated twists and turns. And it gets a little silly near the end. The Holy Grail makes an unexpected appearance and so does magic.

The Offer: When her brother-in-law attempted to rape her, Sabrina Eversleigh chose to run away. Her dashing escape would have ended in disaster if not for Phillip Mercerault who rescues her.

Once he nurses her back to health, it doesn’t take Sabrina long to learn that Phillip is hardly the hero she thinks he is, but something dishonorable. Naturally, she turns his proposal for marriage down.

However, she soon finds herself in a situation that forces her to not only make her own marriage proposal to Phillip but to coax him into accepting it by offering a large dowry. Phillip and Sabrina find that they have a long way to go before they can take their relationship to a safe and stable place.

This book follows a heroine who proposes marriage the hero in an attempt to give both of them the freedom they seek.

Other Books Series you May Like

The “Westcott” book series from Mary Balogh follows the Wescotts, a large and convoluted family whose secrets begin to emerge, threatening the lives of their members. Each book explores the life of one of the Wescotts, giving light to their troubles and passions.

“Desperate Duchesses by the Numbers”: These books by Eloisa James are basically an extension of her Desperate Duchesses world. The books feature characters who were children in the James’ previous stories. All grown up and trying to manage their stations during the Regency era, the characters are no better off in matters romance than their predecessors.

What Is The Next Book in The Baron Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Baron Series. The newest book is An Intimate Deception / The Deception and was released on February, 1st 1983.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *