Curtain World / Futuristic World of Harmony Books

Curtain World is a series of futuristic/paranormal novels written by Jayne Castle. Castle is a renowned author that has been writing fiction for decades. Born in Cobb, California, Jayne had it rough as a budding author trying to make it in the publishing industry.

Order of Futuristic World of St. Helen's Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Amaryllis 1996 Description / Buy
2 Zinnia 1997 Description / Buy
3 Orchid 1998 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Futuristic World of Harmony: Rainshadow Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Canyons of Night 2011 Description / Buy
2 The Lost Night 2012 Description / Buy
3 Deception Cove 2013 Description / Buy
4 The Hot Zone 2014 Description / Buy
5 Siren's Call 2015 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Futuristic World of Harmony: Ghost Hunters Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Charmed 1999 Description / Buy
2 Bridal Jitters (Short Story) 1999 Description / Buy
3 After Dark 2000 Description / Buy
4 Harmony 2000 Description / Buy
5 After Glow 2004 Description / Buy
6 No Going Back 2004 Description / Buy
7 Ghost Hunter 2006 Description / Buy
8 Silver Master 2007 Description / Buy
9 Dark Light 2008 Description / Buy
10 Obsidian Prey 2009 Description / Buy
11 Illusion Town 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

A student of the University of California from where she graduated with a degree in History, Jayne spent six years writing and submitting stories and only getting rejections in return. It wasn’t until Jayne blended the paranormal and romance genres that she gained traction as an author. Jayne Castle has written numerous romance and historical novels under various pseudonyms over the years.

Though, it is her Curtain World series that she is most commonly known for. The books revolve around an event that happens later in the 21st century. A curtain of energy suddenly manifests near earth and makes interstellar travel a possibility.

Humanity wastes little time in taking advantage of the curtain. Thousands pack their belongings and quickly begin exploring the cosmos. They encounter numerous worlds along the way, with Harmony being one of the most popular.

Because Harmony is so conducive to human life, it attracts the interest of many a colonist looking to settle down and create a brand new society. Unlike the colonialists of old, the settlers on Harmony have the advantage of Earth’s technological advancements. So they are able to furnish their lives with all the luxuries they could possibly want, this making for a world of prosperity and peace.

Life on Harmony is only lucrative and attractive because its people are able to use the curtain to carry out trade with Earth and other colonies. As such, when the curtain suddenly disappears, the results are disastrous.

Harmony transforms overnight. Without access to Earth’s resources, the people of Harmony are blown back to the dark ages, living a primitive existence where only the fittest survive. The Curtain World series details the exploits of those men and women still living on Harmony as they attempt to survive in the wake of a regressing civilization.

There are three series in the Curtain World Universe, namely: Futurist World of St. Helen’s, Ghost Hunter and Rainshadow. Both rainshadow and Ghost Hunter are categorized under the Futuristic World of Harmony title.

Regardless of which Harmony/Curtain World series you choose to follow, most of the books set in this universe have elements of romance. You are also likely to encounter casts of characters with extraordinary abilities.

The different books cover different periods in the Curtain World Universe. While the world of Harmony initially falls into chaos following the collapse of the energy curtain, over the centuries, a new civilization comes to life. Its inhabitants must strive to maintain order even while investigating the signs of alien life all over the planet.

Best Curtain World/ Futuristic World of Harmony Books

There are few authors in the publishing arena capable of blending romance and the paranormal like Jayne Castle, with some of the best books in her Curtain World series including:

The Lost Night: Rachel Blake isn’t ordinary. Not only does she know martial arts but she has the unique ability to sniff out psychic criminals. Rachel thought she had found peace when she joined her dust bunny companion on Rainshadow Island.

However, she soon realizes that her life running a bookstore and café wasn’t meant to be when the descendant of a notorious pirate shows up and starts investigating some suspicious occurrences.

There is someone on Rainshadow Island with darkness in their heart, and Rachel realizes that her talents might be necessary to stop him. However, she doesn’t know if she can keep her desires in check long enough to do what must be done.

Deception Cove: The most dangerous thing on Rainshadow is the Preserve, dense woods hiding secrets from centuries past.

Neither Alice North nor Drake Sebastian expected their paths to cross. Alice has a special gift, an ability that allows her to disappear and to make other things disappear as well. The gift comes in handy for her magic acts.

Alice doesn’t know that Drake Sebastian, who is day-blind as a result of a lab accident, can see her when she disappears. The business mogul needs Alice to find two highly dangerous old world crystals. Before Alice can help Drake with his problem, though, she must first agree to a marriage of convenience.

Other Book Series You May Like

The “Ghostwalker” series tells the story of a group of men and women who underwent experiments that turned them into extraordinary individuals with psychic abilities. They operate in teams and are periodically deployed to carry out special missions.

You may also like the “Leopard People” Series by Christine Feehan. These books tell the story of a species of part-human, part-leopard people from Borneo who must integrate into Western Civilization even which dealing with issues of love and sex

What Is The Next Book in The Futuristic World Of St. Helen's Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Futuristic World Of St. Helen's Series. The newest book is Orchid and was released on May, 1st 1998.