Dune Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Frank Patrick Herbert is a renowned author who was born on 8 October 1920. Herbert was widely known for the novel Dune and its sequel. Despite the fact that Frank Herbert was widely known as a writer, he also worked as a photographer, newspaper journalist, book reviewer, lecturer, ecological consultant and book reviewer.

Order of Dune Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dune 1965 Description / Buy
2 Dune Messiah 1969 Description / Buy
3 Children of Dune 1976 Description / Buy
4 God Emperor of Dune 1981 Description / Buy
5 Heretics of Dune 1984 Description / Buy
6 Chapterhouse: Dune 1985 Description / Buy
7 Hunters of Dune 2006 Description / Buy
8 Sandworms of Dune 2007 Description / Buy
9 Paul of Dune 2008 Description / Buy
10 The Winds of Dune 2009 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Great Schools Of Dune Series By: Brian Herbert, Kevin J. Anderson

# Read Title Published Details
1 Sisterhood of Dune 2011 Description / Buy
2 Mentats of Dune 2014 Description / Buy
3 Navigators of Dune 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Heroes Of Dune Series By: Brian Herbert, Kevin J. Anderson

# Read Title Published Details
1 Paul of Dune 2008 Description / Buy
2 The Winds of Dune 2009 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Dune Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Illustrated Dune 1965 Description / Buy
2 Songs Of Muad'dib 1992 Description / Buy
3 The Road to Dune 2005 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Dune Collections By: Brian Herbert, Kevin J. Anderson

# Read Title Published Details
1 Songs of Muad'dib 1992 Description / Buy
2 The Road to Dune 2005 Description / Buy
3 Tales of Dune 2011 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Frank Herbert’s Dune saga has been set shortly and takes place over millennia. This novel deals with exceedingly complex themes like evolution, human survival, an intersection of politics, power, and religion as well as survival.

Dune is currently the best-selling science fiction novel, and the series is considered to be the landmarks of the science fiction genres. While growing up, Frank Herbert had to run away in the year 1938 and live with an uncle and aunt, in Salem, Oregon, due to a poor home environment. After completing his primary education, Frank Herbert joined Salem High School, where he graduated in the year 1939.

To land his first job at the local Glendale Star, Herbert had to lie about his age. In the year 1940, Herbert returned to Salem, where he worked for another leading local newspaper, the Oregon Statesman newspaper. During World War I, Herbert served in the United States Navy for more than six months as a photographer. Later that year, Herbert was given a medical discharge. In the year 1940, Frank Herbert married one Flora Parkinson in the town of San Pedro, California.

Dune Series Awards

None of the books in the Dune Series Books has been adapted into a screenplay.

Dune Series Books into Movies

Dune was adapted into a feature film in the year 1984 and features Kyle MacLachlan and Virginia Madsen as the lead characters.

Best Dune Series Books

Dune: This is a classical science fiction novel that has both miniseries and classical adaptations. In the distant future, an intergalactic feudal Empire rules the human race. In this instalment, the author, Frank Herbert introduces the readers to Duke Leto, who has just taken control over Arrakis. Arrakis is a desert planet that is popularly known as Dune. The planet Arrakis is the only source of a substance widely known as Spice. The author slowly reveals the importance of Spice as the story progresses.

Previously, Dune used to be the stronghold and also the major source of wealth for one Baron Vladimir, Duke’s sworn enemy. With that said, Dune deals with a lot of politics, intrigues, secret societies, as well as survival on a planet that has never seen a drop of rain and a planet where wealth is counted by the amount of water that one owns.

Dune is one of the best examples of a protagonist’s journey in fiction. A
majority of authors need several books to tell an larger-than-life coming of age narrative.

However, author Frank Herbert has achieved this in only one novel, while in the process creating an interesting and unique setting. Part of Frank Herbert’s genius was his ability to infer so much about the world that he had created than what he showed.

Dune Messiah: Twelve years have passed ever since the events of the first installment. Paul has now been appointed as the leader of the thousands of the planets, while the prophecy that had been made is now underway. An exceedingly treacherous plan to overthrow Paul is now underway, something that he has already overseen.

However, certain people and events are still uncertain. The Jihad, which had been predicted in the first installment, has now been unleashed on the Imperial Galaxy. The war resulted in the death of more than 6 billion people. Paul, on the other hand, has risen to a near-God status. Paul rules through a theocracy, which in turn reveres him as a quasi-god. Paul’s mother, on the other hand, is likened to the Virgin Mary, while his sister is likened as a demonic force of nature. As this happens, the ecological forces of nature have just begun. With that said, the Dune Messiah is another excellent read, which will keep any lover of the series fully entertained.

The author, Frank Herbert has done an excellent job of ensuring the characters are developed fully. Some of the characters are discussed through the thoughts of the other characters and their thoughts as well. Furthermore, some of the characters who were introduced in the previous installment make a comeback in this highly entertaining series.

Other Book Series You May Like

The “Danu” book series is a brilliantly written book series by Melodee Elliot. The Assumption Code is the first installment in the Danu book series. In this installment, Margi Hall an esteemed New York city anchorwoman spends most of her time reporting on the lies and lives of other people.

What Is The Next Book in The Dune Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Dune Series. The newest book is The Winds of Dune and was released on August, 4th 2009.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *