Emily Brown Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Emily Brown is the lead character in the Emily Brown series of novels by bestselling children’s novelist Cressida Cowell. Cowell wrote the first novel of the Emily Brown series “The Rabbit Belongs to Emily Brown” in 2006. The novels are picture books with illustrations done by Neal Layton.

Get notified when Cressida Cowell releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Emily Brown Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 That Rabbit Belongs To Emily Brown (By: Cressida Cowell) 2006 Description / Buy
2 Emily Brown and the Thing (Short Story) ( By: Cressida Cowell) 2007 Description / Buy
3 Emily Brown and the Elephant Emergency (By: Cressida Cowell) 2009 Description / Buy
4 Cheer Up Your Teddy Bear, Emily Brown! (By: Cressida Cowell) 2011 Description / Buy
5 Emily Brown and Father Christmas (Short Story) (By: Cressida Cowell) 2018 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The picture books are a visual feast of delightful stories following the adventures of Mary Brown the child lead. Most of the stories are about the usual childhood fun themes and a lot not fun themes. From the children being naughty and learning a lesson to being afraid of the dark to an intriguing exploration of their environment, the books are a delight. They come with a witty and warm-hearted tone that sends a poignant message to middle schoolers.

“That Rabbit Belongs to Emily Brown” the first novel in the series introduces Emily Brown and Stanley her floppy rabbit. They have great times together going to outer space, scuba diving among other awesome adventures until the Queens Worker arrives, and demands that Stanley is handed over. The queen is offering a stuffed bear in exchange, but given that Emily will not give in to her demands, she sends her workers to steal Stanley in the night. Emily goes to the Queens castle only to find her beloved Stanley had bleached filled him with stuffing, bleached him pink and sewn up his mouth.

What follows is a most delightful thing as Emily takes her toy home and advises the Queen on how to make her teddy bear the best toy she could ever have. If she slept with the teddy and went on adventures with it, in time it would become her favorite toy. It is not long before the queen sends her a thank you letter with an enclosed picture of her holding her golden bear. “The Rabbit belongs to Emily Brown” is an excellently told story that won the author the Nestlé Children’s Book Prize Gold Award.


The Emily Brown series of novels have made the shortlist for and won several awards and honors over the years. The most significant award won by the series is the Nestlé Children’s Book Prize Gold Award, which “That Rabbit Belongs to Emily Brown” won in 2006. The novel made the long list for the Kate Greenaway Medal and the shortlist for the Booktrust Early Years Awards.

BEST Emily Brown BOOKS:

That Rabbit Belongs to Emily Brown: The award-winning first novel of the series “That Rabbit Belongs to Emily Brown” is one of the most popular novels in the series and is generally considered one of Cowell’s best titles. The portrayal of love, devotion, and the imagination and friendship between Emily and her pet toy makes for a very touching and adorable story.

Emily Brown and the Thing: This is an incredible novel in the series with a witty and original take on one of the most common of childhood themes. When Emily and Stanley stumble on a crying “Thing” outside their house, they set out to find out what makes the thing lack sleep. Despite their best efforts, they are unable to find out what makes sleep evade the “Thing”. It is not until they stumble upon the idea that the “Thing” is scared of the dark that they finally get their breakthrough. The story asserts the importance of talking to children to find out their deepest fears so that they can help them deal with their wild imaginations rather than be terrified of them.

Emily Brown and the Elephant Emergency: This is a story about Emily Brown, Matilda the elephant and Stanley the bunny’s adventures. While the three friends are having the time of their lives, Matilda’s mother who keeps ringing to check up on her constantly interrupts them. She keeps worrying that her daughter is not eating properly, dressing properly among a myriad of other things. It is a poignant reminder to parents that children need to have fun and explore even as they would love them to be safe.


Many fans of the Emily Brown series of novels love the “Blue Kangaroo” series of novels by Emma Chichester Clark. The novels follow the adventures of Lily a middle school child and her Blue Kangaroo in comforting and heartwarming tales of lasting love, loyalty, and sibling rivalry.

Emily Brown fans also love “The Boy” series of novels by Oliver Jeffers. The novels are about a boy that goes on a variety of adventures into outer space, the South Pole, and Mars among many interesting places.

What Is The Next Book in The Emily Brown Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Emily Brown Series. The newest book is Emily Brown and Father Christmas and was released on October, 30th 2018.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *