Guido Brunetti Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Guido Brunetti is the leading character to an international best-seller series written by none other than the winner of the 2000 CWA Macallan Silver Dagger award, Donna Leon.

Order of Guido Brunetti Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Death at La Fenice 1992 Description / Buy
2 Death in a Strange Country 1993 Description / Buy
3 The Anonymous Venetian / Dressed for Death 1994 Description / Buy
4 Venetian Reckoning / Death and Judgment 1995 Description / Buy
5 Acqua Alta / Death in High Water 1996 Description / Buy
6 The Death of Faith / Quietly in Their Sleep 1997 Description / Buy
7 A Noble Radiance 1998 Description / Buy
8 Fatal Remedies 1999 Description / Buy
9 Friends in High Places 2000 Description / Buy
10 A Sea of Troubles 2001 Description / Buy
11 Wilful Behaviour 2002 Description / Buy
12 Uniform Justice 2003 Description / Buy
13 Doctored Evidence 2004 Description / Buy
14 Blood from a Stone 2005 Description / Buy
15 Through a Glass, Darkly 2006 Description / Buy
16 Suffer the Little Children 2007 Description / Buy
17 The Girl of His Dreams 2008 Description / Buy
18 About Face 2009 Description / Buy
19 A Question of Belief 2010 Description / Buy
20 Drawing Conclusions 2011 Description / Buy
21 Beastly Things 2012 Description / Buy
22 The Golden Egg 2013 Description / Buy
23 By its Cover 2014 Description / Buy
24 Falling in Love 2015 Description / Buy
25 The Waters of Eternal Youth 2016 Description / Buy
26 Earthly Remains 2017 Description / Buy
27 The Temptation of Forgiveness 2018 Description / Buy
28 Unto Us a Son Is Given 2019 Description / Buy
29 Trace Elements 2020 Description / Buy
30 Transient Desires 2021 Description / Buy
31 Give Unto Others 2022 Description / Buy
32 So Shall You Reap 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Guido Brunetti Non-Fiction

# Read Title Published Details
1 Brunetti's Cookbook 2009 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Born and raised in New Jersey, Leon is currently residing in a Switzerland hamlet after moving from Venice where she has lived for an upward of 30 years.

Before foraying into writing fully, Leon was a literature lecturer at the University of Maryland in Italy (where she worked from 1981 to 1999). She would thereafter drop teaching to become a full time writer, churning out a number of best-sellers that would make her one of the world’s greatest writers at the time of writing this.

Her Commissario Brunetti novels form some of her greatest works, having earned her international recognition. Although the author only wrote the books in English, their popularity has pushed some of the books into being translated to foreign languages, with an exception to Italian at her request.

The entire series is centered on a police commissioner going by the name of Guido Brunetti, whose role is to confront crime in and around the crime stricken town of Venice.

Each case comes as an opportunity for Leon to unearth another sordid underside of the society if NOT another facet of the Venetian life.

Brunetti has to report to a vain, self-serving buffoon that is Vice Questore Patta. On the ground, he has Sergente Vianello and the well-connected Signorina Elettra, all of which work together to assist him with research.

Guido Brunetti Awards

The ninth book in the series, “Friends in High places”, happens to be one of the most successful books in the collection, having snugged the Crime Writers’ Association dagger award in 2000.

Guido Brunetti Books Turned Into Movies/TV

The series also boasts being adapted by a German television that created 22 episodes off it for broadcast.

Best Guido Brunetti Books

Friends In High Places: The ninth book in the series happens to be one of the most popular in the bunch. The book starts with Commissario Guido Brunetti being paid a visit by a youthful bureaucrat on a mission to investigate the reason that might have led to one of the buildings in his department failing to be officially approved earlier on in the year.

As with anyone, the first thing that comes to his mind is to try and think of someone whom he’s sure might pressurize the relevant government department. But after ringing at Guido’s office, totally scared, his body is later found dead from what appears like he was pushed off a scaffolding.

This comes as a dead giveaway that there’s something much bigger than the fate of the bureaucrat’s apartment behind the death, and the only person who can join the puzzle pieces together and find something tangible to apprehend the real culprits is none other than Guido himself.

Death at La Venice: Death at La Venice is the first book in the collection. Written in 1992, the book is set in the city of Venice, a beautiful city bereft of any kind of criminal activities. But that’s a little too comfortable for Maestro Helmut Wellauer, a well-known conductor whose end comes one night and with a shocking surprise.

For Guido, it’s always been his call, as a police vice commissario and acclaimed detective genius, to trace down every suspect and bring them to justice. Will he manage this time?

As he attempts to string together every piece of evidence presented to him, he’s hit by dreadful pictures of depravity and need for revenge that leaves him in a quandary—should he do what he deems necessary however unlawful it is or follow his guts and do what he knows is right?

He’s torn between doing what the law requires of him or what he thinks needs to be done.

Apart from the little crimes, Venice is also characterized by decay, magic and mystery. Not forgetting the occasional evils that often times threatens to piss on all the little effort the vice Commissario has been putting in to get the city where it is.

Guido has proven that he’s a genius, and one with admirable abilities that sends chills to every perpetrator of crime in Venice. He has a lot to prove to himself and to the denizens of Venice who apparently have strong faith in him and his ability to save the land from the looming danger.

Death at La Venice is one of the most favored books in the series. Replete with drama and shocking revelations, the book summons deep emotions within the reader that makes them empathize with the main character at every turn, as they try to rack their brains hard in an attempt to suss out the best plan of action for him, only for the author to prove he’s the master of the story.


To those who read Donna Leon’s book and are looking for other well-written and character driven almost similar police novels, here’s a list of books to try:

“The Didius Falco” series by Lindsay Davis is another good one. This series tells a detective story of M.Didius Falco, an iconoclastic young republican sent to rescue the niece of a senator. The book is set in the 70 A.D, in imperial Rome.

What Is The Next Book in The Guido Brunetti Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Guido Brunetti Series. The newest book is So Shall You Reap and was released on March, 14th 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *