Hackberry Holland Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Hackberry Holland, cousin to Billy Bob Holland and hero to James Lee Burke made his first appearance in the Lay Down My Sword and Shield. Lay Down My Sword and Shield is the first book in the Hackberry series and it was originally published in the year 1971. The book has now been released in paperbacks. The Hackberry Holland series talks about the colorful history of Hackberry Holland which has been contrived during the civil rights era. Hack is a Korean War POW and Attorney, who is being pushed by his wife, brother and friends to run for a political seat.

Get notified when James Lee Burke releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Hackberry Holland Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Lay Down My Sword and Shield ( By: James Lee Burke) 1971 Description / Buy
2 Rain Gods ( By: James Lee Burke) 2009 Description / Buy
3 Feast Day of Fools ( By: James Lee Burke) 2011 Description / Buy
4 House of the Rising Sun (By: James Lee Burke) 2015 Description / Buy
5 Another Kind of Eden (By: James Lee Burke) 2021 Description / Buy
6 Every Cloak Rolled in Blood (By: James Lee Burke) 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Billy Bob Holland Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Cimarron Rose ( By: James Lee Burke) 1997 Description / Buy
2 Heartwood ( By: James Lee Burke) 1999 Description / Buy
3 Bitterroot ( By: James Lee Burke) 2001 Description / Buy
4 In the Moon of Red Ponies ( By: James Lee Burke) 2004 Description / Buy

Order of Weldon Holland Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Wayfaring Stranger ( By: James Lee Burke) 2014 Description / Buy
2 The Jealous Kind ( By: James Lee Burke) 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

However, Hackberry prefers to drink, look after his horses and represent his clients in a court of law. While trying to overturn the conviction of an old friend, Hack finds himself at the center of the Texas patronage system and the early beginning of United Farm Workers Movement which is led by a strikingly beautiful woman. The lady speaks to Hack’s heart in a way that no one else does. As he looks for justice for his clients, Hackberry is able to find a new purpose and a new love. By successfully blending compelling characters, graceful prose and engaging plotlines, the author is able to display a shimmering clarity of vision that has made him one of the most loved suspense authors in the world.

Hackberry Holland Awards

Despite the fact that the Hackberry Holland series is yet to be nominated or receive any awards, James Lee Burke has still been acknowledged for his overall effort as an author. In the year 2002, he was awarded the Louisiana Writer Award for his contribution in literary intellectual heritage of Louisiana. In the year 2009, Burke was awarded the Grandmaster Award by Mystery Writers of America.

Hackberry Holland into Movies/TV

The Hackberry Holland series is yet to be adapted into a movie.

Best Hackberry Holland Books

Lay Down My Sword and Shield is one of the best books in the Hackberry Holland series. In this book, James Lee Burke still retains his style of writing, which consists of a rough, tough main character who is plagued his very own demons. Hack is the son of congressman, who from the look of things is also about to follow the tracks of his father. All Hack has to do is live through the meetings with donors, endless cocktail parties and also pretend to be happily married. Any person who made it out of Korean prisons should not have a hard time putting up with a senator and Texas housewives. Instead of having an easy time, Hack ends up drinking too much with the hopes of easing down the pressure exerted on him.

However, the story that the author presents forth is not really Hackberry’s story. Burk uses his honest hero and questing to not only show Hackberry’s personal life journey but also make his own life meaningful in the process.

Rain Gods is also another book in the series that has not only been a huge success but also has received a greater rating. The book is set during the post-Katrina. A number of crime figures from New Orleans are displaced to Texas. These group of people are into everything from murder to crime smuggling to prostitution. The Sherriff, Hackberry Holland receives a strange call from an unknown number informing about a grave that consists of nine women of Asian origin. After working as a lawyer for some time, Hackberry is now works as a sheriff. As Hack works on the case, the ICE and FBI have sent a man known as ‘The Preacher’ to take down anyone who was associated with the Asian mass killing. With that said, Preacher is indeed one of the most fearsome assassin or villain in fiction. All in all, this is truly a great read.

Other Book Series You May Like

If you are a fan of James Lee Burke and his style of writing, then you are most definitely going to like the “Dave Robicheaux” series. The first book in this series, introduces the reader to the main character, Dave Robicheaux who is in the hospital recovering from life threatening injuries. Upon being discharged from the hospital, Dave discovers that his friend’s sister has been found dead on the gulf shore while being encased in a block of ice. What follows is a storyline that is full of suspense and foreshadowing. The Dave Robicheaux series is truly a great read that will have you spinning at the pages.

What Is The Next Book in The Hackberry Holland Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Hackberry Holland Series. The newest book is Every Cloak Rolled in Blood and was released on May, 24th 2022.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *