Hannah Swensen Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Just like her protagonist, Hannah Swensen, Joanne Fluke was brought up in a remarkably small town in Minnesota, an expanse where the winters were fierce, and the neighbors were very friendly. According to Joanne Fluke, the mosquito is not the State bird of Minnesota and the region is home to more than 1,000 lakes. While working as an author, Joanne has also worked as a psychologist, a public school teacher, a detective’s assistant, a pharmaceutical secretary and a musician. Joanne Fluke has also worked as a short order cook, a party planner, a caterer, a production assistant and a computer consultant. Currently, Fluke resides in South Carolina with her kids, her husband, and their three dogs.

Order of Hannah Swensen Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder 2000 Description / Buy
2 Strawberry Shortcake Murder 2001 Description / Buy
3 Blueberry Muffin Murder 2001 Description / Buy
4 Lemon Meringue Pie Murder 2003 Description / Buy
5 Fudge Cupcake Murder 2004 Description / Buy
6 Sugar Cookie Murder 2004 Description / Buy
7 Peach Cobbler Murder 2005 Description / Buy
8 Cherry Cheesecake Murder 2006 Description / Buy
9 Key Lime Pie Murder 2007 Description / Buy
10 Candy Cane Murder 2007 Description / Buy
11 Candy for Christmas (Short Story) 2008 Description / Buy
12 Carrot Cake Murder 2008 Description / Buy
13 Cream Puff Murder 2008 Description / Buy
14 Plum Pudding Murder 2009 Description / Buy
15 Apple Turnover Murder 2010 Description / Buy
16 Gingerbread Cookie Murder 2010 Description / Buy
17 Devil's Food Cake Murder 2011 Description / Buy
18 Cinnamon Roll Murder 2012 Description / Buy
19 Red Velvet Cupcake Murder 2013 Description / Buy
20 Blackberry Pie Murder 2014 Description / Buy
21 Double Fudge Brownie Murder 2015 Description / Buy
22 Wedding Cake Murder 2016 Description / Buy
23 Christmas Caramel Murder 2016 Description / Buy
24 Banana Cream Pie Murder 2017 Description / Buy
25 Raspberry Danish Murder 2019 Description / Buy
26 Christmas Cake Murder 2019 Description / Buy
27 Chocolate Cream Pie Murder 2019 Description / Buy
28 Coconut Layer Cake Murder 2020 Description / Buy
29 Christmas Cupcake Murder 2020 Description / Buy
30 Triple Chocolate Cheesecake Murder 2021 Description / Buy
31 Christmas Dessert Murder 2021 Description / Buy
32 Caramel Pecan Roll Murder 2022 Description / Buy
33 Pink Lemonade Cake Murder 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Hannah Swensen Awards

None of the books in the Hannah Swensen book series have been adapted for screenplay.

Hannah Swensen Books into Movies

Five of the books in the Hannah Swensen book series have been adapted for screenplay by Hallmark Movies and Mystery. The latest movie based on the series aired on 26 March 2016.

Best Hannah Swensen Books

The Chocolate Chip Murder: The independent-minded, Hannah Swensen makes her first appearance in the Chocolate Chip Murder, a cleverly plotted cozy that is full of delicious cooking recipes and appealing characters. Returning after the sudden death of her father, to Lake Eden, her hometown, Hannah sets up her shop, the Cookie Jar. It does not take long before the Cookie Jar becomes a place where the town’s gossip percolates along with Hannah’s exceedingly strong coffee. One fine morning, Hannah Swenson finds out that a delivery truck driver had been shot dead right behind her coffee shop. The county deputy sheriff, Bill happens to be Hannah’s brother, thus he recruits Hannah to assist him with the case.

As the case continues, a number of suspects emerge, however, due to Hannah’s catering of the local events and her café business, she is splendidly placed to hear everything, hear much but investigate a little. Numerous motives emerge ranging from extortion abound to blackmail as well as the descriptions of shopping and clothing. Cat lovers are going to love the fact that Hannah finally found her cat. The author also stretches the imagination of the readers, especially when Bill, the deputy sheriff leaves much of the investigation to Hannah and also when the local Sherriff’s fail to locate the second body at the same location where the first body had been found. However, these are just minor lapses, in a story that is full of red herrings and plot twists.

Strawberry Shortcake Murder: Following Fluke’s successful debut, the Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder, the author brings back the amateur investigator and baker-owner, Hannah for another exceedingly adventure. In this installment, Hannah is presented with the opportunity of being the head judge during the Hartland Flour Dessert Bake-off, which is normally held yearly. Hannah Swensen sees this as a perfect opportunity to market her business, the Cookie Jar. However, before the event begins, one of the judges who serves as a high school coach is found dead, with his face down in one of Hannah’s strawberry cakes. The main suspect in this murder investigation is the coach’s abused wife, Danielle. Determined to prove to everyone about Daniele’s innocence, Hannah chooses to ignore the warnings of the supervisor of detectives, Mike Kingston of not getting involved in the case. Tempting descriptions of mouthwatering recipes, meals served in the local establishments, and the warm family characters are some of the things that you should expect in this novel.

While all the other characters in the novel tend to be somehow stereotypical, Hannah is not only down to earth but also believable and just seem to function correctly without her daily dose of morning coffee. Hannah also goes to the extent of justifying her love for chocolate as a natural need for endorphins. She deals with a needy sister and a matchmaking mother with humor and understanding. Apart from all these the author has also added all the ingredients of a cleverly crafted mystery together with the realistic portrayal of a small town.

Other Book Series That You May Like

If you are a fan of the Hannah Swensen book series then you are going to love “A Tea Shop Mystery” by Laura Childs. The first novel in the Tea Shop Mystery series is Pokoe Most Poison, which introduces the reader to the protagonist, Theodesia Browning. Theodesia has just been invited by one Doreen Briggs, who is one of the most prominent hostesses to a Rat Tea. During such an event, all the hosts are dressed in rodent costumes and white gloves. They not only offer fine tea but also finger sandwiches.

What Is The Next Book in The Hannah Swensen Series?

The next book in the The Hannah Swensen Series by Joanne Fluke is Pink Lemonade Cake Murder and will be released on July, 25th 2023.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *