Historia Universal Asimov Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Historia Universal Asimov is a series of book written by all-time sci-fi author Isaac Asimov. From 1965 to the mid-seventies, Asimov combined a literary creation of fiction with some historical disclosure via several books that include the most important historical and civilization periods.

Order of Historia Universal Asimov Non-Fiction Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Greeks ( By: Isaac Asimov) 1965 Description / Buy
2 Roman Republic ( By: Isaac Asimov) 1966 Description / Buy
3 The Egyptians ( By: Isaac Asimov) 1967 Description / Buy
4 The Roman Empire ( By: Isaac Asimov) 1967 Description / Buy
5 The Dark Ages ( By: Isaac Asimov) 1968 Description / Buy
6 The Near East ( By: Isaac Asimov) 1968 Description / Buy
7 The Shaping of England ( By: Isaac Asimov) 1969 Description / Buy
8 The Shaping of North America from Earliest Times to 1763 ( By: Isaac Asimov) 1969 Description / Buy
9 Constantinople ( By: Isaac Asimov) 1970 Description / Buy
10 The Land of Canaan ( By: Isaac Asimov) 1971 Description / Buy
11 The Birth Of The United States, 1763-1816 (By: Isaac Asimov) 1973 Description / Buy
12 Our Federal Union ( By: Isaac Asimov) 1975 Description / Buy
13 The Golden Door ( By: Isaac Asimov) 1977 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

For example, the Greek, Roman and Egyptian civilization going through the middle ages, to the discovery of New World and the formation of United States. Through this, the author manages to attract the public to the knowledge and the understanding of history through a pleasant and straightforward narration. It is mainly military and political history.

This series of works has been common and formally known as the Universal History Asimov and is comprised of 14 books with detailed maps and chronology included in every single title.


Isaac Asimov books have won and other been nominated for various awards. During his lifetime, Asimov won more than a dozen annual awards for his works of sci-fi and also won half dozen lifetime awards. Additionally, Asimov received over ten honorary doctorate degrees from various universities.

Building Blocks of the Universe first published in 1957, won Thomas Alva Edison Foundation Award in 1957 for the best science fiction book for young adults. In 1963, Asimov won a special Hugo Award for his essays that were considered as “adding science to sci-fi” published in Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction. In 1973, The Gods Themselves won Locus Award and Hugo Awards for the best novel category respectively.

In 2000, Asimov was featured on a postal stamp in Israel and 2015; he was selected as one of the members of New York State Writers Hall of Fame. In 2016, Robbie, the authors first positronic robot book first published in 1940 by Super Science Stories was a top pick for the Best Short Story.


Several of Isaac Asimov books have been adapted into movies. For instance, robot series has been adapted into film several times. I, Robot was adapted into a 2004 film starring Will Smith but based on a different script titled Hardwired. Additionally, one of Asimov’s short stories The Bicentennial Man was improved into a novel The Positronic Man by Robert Silverberg and Asimov and was later adapted into a 1999 film Bicentennial Man featuring Robin Williams.


These are two best books in Historia Universal Asimov series by Isaac Asimov, Constantinople: The Forgotten Empire and The Dark Ages.

Constantinople: The Forgotten Empire: This book narrates the life of the Roman Empire, now known as Byzantine right from the time of Constantine and Diocletian to the final fall of Constantinople in 1453 and a slight epilogue beyond.

Each chapter starts with a line drawing and also each section begins with a small drawing the size of stamps and maps of Mediterranean and the surroundings show the various fortunes of the empire and its geographical extent. This is a great introductory history, as the author writes with clarity and sympathy and a keen awareness of how the victor’s craft history and rarely without an ax to grind.

In his writing, the author manages to relate various situations such as the ongoing on the church and the tensions that exist with Rome and within the empire and the enduring problems of Filioque, Monothelitism, and Monophysitism.

The Dark Ages: Again Isaac Asimov accomplishes his surveying on a thousand of years from the last century of a known Western Roman Empire to the rise of the “dark” as the middle Ages transforms from the breakaway of that empire and towards a whole new civilization. The author narrates a detailed discussion of the economic and social conditions during this period. Asimov manages to craft a comprehensive analysis beyond those of state and church including the use of horses in soil tillage and the invention of the moldboard plow.


If you love Historia Universal Asimov series, you will love these other two book series. “Second Foundation Trilogy” by Gregory Benford published 1987 to 1999.

You will also find the “Rama” series by Arthur Clarke a great match. Each novel in the series is a whole story with a beginning and an ending, but each plot of each novel heavily relies on the previous book in the series.

What Is The Next Book in The Historia Universal Asimov Non-fiction Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Historia Universal Asimov Non-fiction Series. The newest book is The Golden Door and was released on January, 1st 1977.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *