How to Train Your Dragon Books

How to Train Your Dragon are children books authored by British author Cressida Cowell. The novels are set in a fictional Viking world and mainly focus on the experiences of main character Hiccup as he overcomes biggest obstacles on his journey to becoming a hero the hard way. The novels were published by Little, Brown & Company in the United States and by Hodder Children’s Books in the United Kingdom. The first book in the series How to Train Your Dragon was published in 2003, and the last book in the series was issued in 2015. By 2015, the series had sold more than 7 million copies worldwide.

Order of How to Train Your Dragon Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Hiccup the Seasick Viking / How To Be A Viking 1999 Description / Buy
2 How to Train Your Dragon 2003 Description / Buy
3 How to Be a Pirate 2004 Description / Buy
4 How to Speak Dragonese 2005 Description / Buy
5 How to Cheat a Dragon's Curse 2006 Description / Buy
6 How to Twist a Dragon's Tale 2007 Description / Buy
7 A Hero's Guide to Deadly Dragons 2008 Description / Buy
8 How to Ride a Dragon's Storm 2008 Description / Buy
9 How to Break a Dragon's Heart 2009 Description / Buy
10 How to Steal a Dragon's Sword 2011 Description / Buy
11 How to Seize a Dragon's Jewel 2012 Description / Buy
12 How to Betray a Dragon's Hero 2013 Description / Buy
13 The Incomplete Book of Dragons 2014 Description / Buy
14 How to Fight a Dragon’s Fury 2015 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The author, Cressida Cowell also published the supplementary spin off stories a part of How to Train Your Dragon series: The Day of the Dreader a short story was published in 2012 and How to Train Your Viking published in 2006, is claimed to have been scripted by the dragon Toothless and then translated by Cowell. These two titles were released in the United States as part of the May 2014, How to……Your Dragon Special Edition.

A picture book titled Hiccup the Seasick Viking published in 2000 is not a part of this series despite featuring the same character of Hiccup.


How to Train Your Dragon the first novel in How to Train Your Dragon series was featured in Publishers Weekly Starred Review in 2004.


The books in How to Train Your Dragon series have been made into franchise consisting of two films by the same name, animated television series and various short stories produced by DreamWorks Animation. A third film based on the books is due to be released in 2019.


These are two best books in the How to Train Your Dragon series, How to…….Dragon (2003) and How to…… Dragon’s Fury (2015).

How to Train Your Dragon: This is the first book in How to Train Your Dragon series by Cressida Cowell. The story introduces Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III an eccentric Viking genius known throughout the Vikingdom and popularly known as “the Dragon Whisperer,” but it is not always so, flashback to the days when this Hiccup was just a teenager, the son of Chief of the Hairy Hooligans. Can Hiccup find a dragon, tame it and train it without being crushed by it to death? Join the adventure as the Hiccup finds better ways to train his dragon and become a hero in the society.

The first book in How to Train Your Dragon series is quite intriguing, the fantasy world that the main character and his buddies live in is filled with places as incredible and fantastic as they are treacherous. Moreover, also they are full of lots and lots of dragons of every size and shape, from the tiny nano dragons, some which glow to the Monstrous Seadragons the size of mountains that can be found in caves, depths of the ocean to the dark underground tunnels. Dragons in this book are unlike any other dragon you have probably read or watched.

How to Fight a Dragon’s Fury: The 12th and the last novel in How to Train Your Dragon series. The Doomsday of Yule has finally arrived, and the future of the dragon kind now lies in the hands of the young boy with nothing to show, but with everything to fight for. Hiccup goal is clear, but can he possibly end the uprising? Can he reveal his leadership part of himself? Moreover, the most important of all can he save the innocent dragons? The stakes have never been this high as the fate of every Viking in the world is loosely hanging in the balance.

This is one of the best series about Vikings and Dragons you will ever come across. The series is much far better than the popular movie adaptation, for one, the dragons are neither enemies nor friends of the Vikings. The Vikings hold these dragons’ captives and treat them like machines, but the main character can speak the language of the dragon and understand their inner thoughts. If you want to have more in depth information about How to Train Your Dragon that was omitted in the film adaptation, then it is recommended you read this incredible books.

What Is The Next Book in The How To Train Your Dragon Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The How To Train Your Dragon Series. The newest book is How to Fight a Dragon’s Fury and was released on September, 8th 2015.