Inspector Banks Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Inspector Banks is a series of novels written by Peter Robinson. Inspector Banks is also the name of the series’ protagonist.

Order of Inspector Banks Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Gallows View ( By: Peter Robinson) 1987 Description / Buy
2 A Dedicated Man ( By: Peter Robinson) 1988 Description / Buy
3 A Necessary End ( By: Peter Robinson) 1989 Description / Buy
4 The Hanging Valley ( By: Peter Robinson) 1989 Description / Buy
5 Past Reason Hated ( By: Peter Robinson) 1992 Description / Buy
6 Wednesday's Child ( By: Peter Robinson) 1992 Description / Buy
7 Dry Bones That Dream / Final Account ( By: Peter Robinson) 1994 Description / Buy
8 Innocent Graves ( By: Peter Robinson) 1996 Description / Buy
9 Dead Right / Blood at the Root ( By: Peter Robinson) 1997 Description / Buy
10 In a Dry Season ( By: Peter Robinson) 1999 Description / Buy
11 Cold is the Grave ( By: Peter Robinson) 2000 Description / Buy
12 Aftermath ( By: Peter Robinson) 2001 Description / Buy
13 The Summer That Never Was / Close to Home ( By: Peter Robinson) 2002 Description / Buy
14 Playing with Fire (By: Peter Robinson) 2003 Description / Buy
15 Strange Affair ( By: Peter Robinson) 2004 Description / Buy
16 Piece of My Heart ( By: Peter Robinson) 2006 Description / Buy
17 Friend of the Devil ( By: Peter Robinson) 2007 Description / Buy
18 All the Colors of Darkness ( By: Peter Robinson) 2008 Description / Buy
19 Bad Boy ( By: Peter Robinson) 2010 Description / Buy
20 Watching the Dark ( By: Peter Robinson) 2012 Description / Buy
21 Children of the Revolution ( By: Peter Robinson) 2013 Description / Buy
22 Abattoir Blues / In the Dark Places ( By: Peter Robinson) 2014 Description / Buy
23 When the Music's Over ( By: Peter Robinson) 2016 Description / Buy
24 Sleeping in the Ground ( By: Peter Robinson) 2017 Description / Buy
25 Careless Love ( By: Peter Robinson) 2018 Description / Buy
26 Many Rivers to Cross ( By: Peter Robinson) 2019 Description / Buy
27 Not Dark Yet (By: Peter Robinson) 2021 Description / Buy
28 Standing in the Shadows (By: Peter Robinson) 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Inspector Banks Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Going Back (Short Story) ( By: Peter Robinson) 2009 Description / Buy
2 Like a Virgin (Short Story) ( By: Peter Robinson) 2009 Description / Buy
3 The Price of Love: And Other Stories (By: Peter Robinson) 2009 Description / Buy
4 Blue Christmas (Short Story) (By: Peter Robinson) 2009 Description / Buy
5 Walking the Dog (Short Story) (By: Peter Robinson) 2009 Description / Buy
6 Summer Rain (Short Story) (By: Peter Robinson) 2015 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Detective Superintendant Alan Banks first manifested in the literary arena in 1987. The law enforcement officer once lived in London, working with the Metropolitan Police Unsolved Crime Squad.

But then he decided to move to Eastvale, a fictional town in Yorkshire where he would live for the duration of several books with his doting wife and two children. Banks quickly became DCI for the Eastvale police. With his own little office, Banks set about solving crime in Eastvale.

The first book finds Inspector Banks looking into the death of an old woman and trying to figure out if it might be connected to a peeping Tom that is frightening women in Eastvale. The book tackles Banks’ attraction to a young psychologist by the names of Jenny Fuller who, along with Banks’ doting wife, is drawn into the case.

One notable aspect of the inspector Banks series is the fact that Banks grew up in a working-class family and was, thus, taught to nurture a healthy abhorrence for money and wealth. In fact, besides escaping the chaos of the city, inspector Banks also ran away to Eastvale because he did not want to get caught up in the materialism that was rife in the big city.

Inspector Banks might have found an idyllic location within which to raise a respectable family but Eastvale isn’t without its problems. There is more than enough crime to keep Inspector Banks busy.

Banks is written to possess a charming demeanor that not only helps him relate to suspects but also allows him to get answers whenever the need arises. A master at interrogations, the investigator also boasts a unique taste in music.

The Inspector Banks series initially focused solely on the detective aspects of the story, exploring Banks’ approach to solving the crimes that came his way. Overtime and throughout the books, Peter Robinson’s stories took a more dramatic direction, with one particular story in 1999 shocking fans by changing Inspector Banks’ life forever.

Inspector Banks Awards

The Inspector Banks novels are very popular. For his work with this series, Peter Robinson has won awards like the Arthur Ellis Award, the TORGI Talking Book award and the Anthony award, not to mention a Barry Award.

Robinson has also been lucky enough to take an Edgar Award home.

Inspector Banks Books into Movies

The Inspector Banks books were adapted into a television show in 2010. Commissioned by ITV, the first two episodes of the show, adapted from the novel Aftermath, were such a success that even more novels were adapted into a show that was eventually titled DCI Banks.

Stephen Tompkinson was the star of the show, playing the role of Detective Chief Inspector Alan banks. The show was successful enough to take home accolades like the Royal Television society Yorkshire Programme Award.

Best Inspector Banks Books

Peter Robinson has written a lot of Inspector Banks books, with those books most commonly lauded for their quality including the following:

Past Reason Hated: Caroline Hartley was such a beautiful enigma, at least she was alive. Caroline took all her secrets to the grave when she was stabbed in her home. There is a puzzle to be solved; one that Inspector Banks is determined to expose and resolve before a killer makes his move.

This book finds Inspector Banks working at Christmas time, a season were one would expect Eastvale to be peaceful and quiet. However, murder never sleeps, not even in Eastvale. The mystery here isn’t merely the identity of Caroline’s killer but the secrets Caroline herself was hiding.

Dry Bones that Dream: No one understands why anyone would assassinate Kleith. However, that is exactly what happened to the mild mannered accountant. Now it is up to Inspector Banks to figure out who Kleith really was.

The seventh book in the Inspector Banks series starts off with a bang. An accountant is brutally murdered and Inspector Banks wants to know why. His investigation drives him to peel back the layers surrounding the victim’s life, with Banks quickly learning that Kleith Rothwell was anything but ordinary.

Other Book Series You May Like

The “DCI Ryan Mysteries” by L.J. Ross follow Detective Chief Inspector Ryan, a man with a dark past and an even darker future. Ryan tries to not let his demons get in the way of his efforts to solve crimes in North East England. The stories in this series are fast paced and the descriptions are amazing.

Shetland Island” Series by Ann Cleeves. The Shetlands are a stunning yet isolated location with stark landscapes. Jimmy Perez is an inspector charged with bringing criminals, and typically murderers, to justice in and around the Shetland Islands.

What Is The Next Book in The Inspector Banks Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Inspector Banks Series. The newest book is Standing in the Shadows and was released on April, 11th 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *